The Brutally Honest GM Hat

I keep forgetting to upload the pictures for my Steve Wonder strat, so here, have a rambling post about GMy things rattling around my head:

/dons hat

The hardest part about being a GM is the whole SETTING AN EXAMPLE thing, guys.  I don’t always want to behave–sometimes I want to be snarky and bitter.  Why?

Becuase I don’t like everyone in my guild.  By ‘don’t like’ I mean actively dislike/want to reach through the internet and punch in the FACE some people in my guild.  It is, however, the nature of running a guild that is more just a social club.

I like raiding, and sometimes to raid I have to include people I don’t like.  Sure, I could ask them to leave, but there’s something really awkward about going “Hey, I think you’re kind of a cuntcanoe.  Can you please leave?”  Besides, someone else will always go “Hey I like that person.  If you don’t like them then I’ll leave too!” and next thing I know the guild is made up of only me, Ori, and Fuzzbutt.

That would kind of suck, so I put up with people I don’t like.  It’s like work, only I don’t get paid, but I get to have more fun and ride around on a dragon, so whatever.  I’ll put up with a lot if I get to ride around on a dragon.

Actually I take that back, no one in the guild irritates me as much as my co-worker.  Oh my god, guys.  I want /ignore IRL.

Anyway.  It’s not as if I just decide not to like someone and that’s it.  Let’s take my new shiny co-author for a moment.  I used to like James!  :) Then…then I did not like James.  :( Then James stopped doing whatever it was he was doing that rubbed me the wrong way (seriously I don’t even really remember what it was anymore) and ta-da, I like James again. :) 

It’s just a shame that some people are perpetual buttnuggets.

Sometimes, on a bad day, my temper gets the better of me and I explode in a fit of rage.  On a better bad day it only explodes in officer chat. 

That’s okay, though!  I’m really GM becuase 1) I love making new joke ranks and demoting people to them  2) I like changing the tabard! and 3) no one else wants the job. 3) gkicking vocal Star Wars fans is fun.

I’m sure it’s the same for officers, too–it’s a fine line to walk.

Fine lines can dig into the feet, but falling off hurts more.

, ,

  1. #1 by Mishaweha on April 19, 2011 - 9:51 am

    I agree. My guild always seems to have a few groups of people in it that DON’T LIKE THAT GUY. As apparently I seem like a nice officer type, I often get to hear about who they don’t like. And yet people will still raid with each other even if they don’t like them, because, you know, raiding. So I guess it all works out in the end. We’re like a family, with those siblings/cousins who CAN’T STAND EACH OTHER, just not to their face.

  2. #2 by Ttrinity on April 19, 2011 - 9:59 am

    LOL you describe my day often as GM as well. Most days the hat is fine, other days, it is TOO tight for my big-ass head. Other times…meh. I look terrible in hats anyway.

    Herding cats…yep that is what it is.

    Why is there NOT a smoking-knoggin lounge for GMs to drink coffee and do 5 mans? Hmmm.

  3. #3 by Mystic on April 19, 2011 - 10:07 am

    I have nothing whatsoever constructive to say (if only more commenters would prepend their comments with this statement…), I will, however, be stealing the word “cuntcanoe” for my own use.

  4. #4 by Upyursh on April 19, 2011 - 10:16 am

    Hmm interesting that as GM of Bizarro on Khaz’goroth I dont deal with this really. Sure there are people who do things on particular nights that gives me the shits but I also make it clear to them that it’s shitting me. But I guess I’m not the kind of person who lets these things bother me after the moment /shrugs I’m also not the kind of person to rage, in fact it is well known that I have rages twice since being an officer and then gm, both in raids at people who were not pulling there weight, but I’d still call both of them (who are still in guild) mates.

    Upy

  5. #5 by Myssidia on April 19, 2011 - 10:18 am

    Eh. I’m at that point in my wow experience where I’d rather just fester in a dead guild than make new friends again. So if that ever happened, unless I’d been one of the ones kicked, you’d have me around too. =]

  6. #6 by Fannon on April 19, 2011 - 10:27 am

    …wait, I’m confused… you mean you don’t like Star Wars?

  7. #7 by repgrind on April 19, 2011 - 10:37 am

    If I wasn’t already raiding in TWO guilds on TWO different servers …. I’d come have fun harrassing you, because I think we’d get along really well.

  8. #8 by elfindale on April 19, 2011 - 10:44 am

    I am not a GM, but I can totally relate to this. And it’s why I will probably never be a GM. Well, that and the fact that I am not always the best at making decisions.

  9. #9 by Kotakh on April 19, 2011 - 10:57 am

    You dont need to be snarky and bitter. Just whisper me and i’ll be snarky and bitter for you…not that people would see a difference in my attitude of course…and chances are you want to be snarky toward me often enough…

    *wanders back to The Corner*

  10. #10 by parnopaeus on April 19, 2011 - 12:25 pm

    It seems like there’s a critical mass for guilds — when you get to a certain size, you have to have asshats that you hate, and if you kick that one asshat, you drop below critical mass because of all the people going ZOMG U KICKT MAH FREND.

    I wonder if that critical mass is the same for all guilds, or if it varies by GM.

  11. #11 by Forreststump on April 19, 2011 - 1:40 pm

    In the end, the sum of this post comes back to one word:

    cuntcanoe

  12. #12 by Alas on April 19, 2011 - 4:40 pm

    I recall that fine line. It is a bitch to walk. In my current situation I don’t have to walk it. Yet. And that’s the rub. How long until I do have to walk it again? This is me, nodding with sympathy and hoping it doesn’t ruin the game for you.

  13. #13 by Jen on April 20, 2011 - 6:58 am

    Ever since certain people joined the guild, I’m so happy I’m not GM. (Then again, if I were GM, they wouldn’t be in the guild.) They just rub me the wrong way so, so much… I’m at the “maybe if I ignore them they’ll go away” phase. And occasionally at the “yelling ‘fucking stop yelling’” on Vent phase. (I do realize yelling about yelling is a bit weird, but ugh.)

  14. #14 by Ron on April 20, 2011 - 4:02 pm

    Turning guild chat off = problem solved :). Not really an option for the GM, I suppose, but it’s how I maintained my sanity in my umteenth comeback attempt. Sad thing is I truly enjoyed some people, but others… grrrr. If keystrokes = air I’d be offended by the waste

  15. #15 by Achloryn on April 22, 2011 - 6:18 am

    Example? Wat dis example joo speak of?
    Seriously though… feeling your pain. rargh.

  16. #16 by YayItsJake on April 22, 2011 - 11:49 am

    hahahahaha “cuntcanoe”, i’m gonna start using that.

  17. #17 by Artania on April 22, 2011 - 3:48 pm

    “Fine lines can dig into the feet, but falling off hurts more. ”

    I love that line. Can I use it? I’m a GM too and I feel your pain. Being in the center of everyone’s drama can really tax your patience and sanity (mostly sanity, if I have any left *looks around* nope, all gone). Nothing I love more (insert sarcasm here) then people who love to force their leadership ideas on me and get pissed when I don’t jump to their whims. They need to invent a way to have a giant cartoon boxing glove pop out of people’s monitors and bonk them on the nose when they deserve it. My two cents.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

