Cho’gall: Heal All The Things

My only active healing character at the moment is my 61 shaman, so I consulted with one of my healers for the details on this fight.  The way she put things was entirely too amusing, so have a delightful copy-pasta post! AKA, part of my grand scheme to make my guildies write all my blog posts for me.

I mean, um, guest posting.  It’s guest posting.  See, I even linked to her blog.

For this fight we drop down to two heals while the other lucky soul gets to go DPS.  I suggest wrist guards for the two healers so that they don’t give into the urge to commit suicide mid-fight, although Jen argues that you don’t even have time to think of that.

Overview:

It starts out all “lalala this isn’t so bad” for a few seconds and then with worships and fire patches, you get on your toes a little bit more.
 By the time the first add comes up, there’s shit flying everywhere and your Cho tank is OMGWHEREISYOURHEALTH and you have to run and snipe off heals and then your ranged are all spread out and my chain heal says FUCK YOU ALL and then they group up nice and properly again and you top them off and breathe for a split second before the next add. 
And then you rinse and repeat until phase two, and that’s just sniping off heals at ALL THE BARS and remembering to use CDs and blow everything and someone just kill him pleeeeeease.
/nod

Positioning:

I try to stay with the tank, and then when you kite across, I usually stay in the middle-ish so I can reach ranged as well.
AoE heals like rain are nice for when we’re all grouped, but it’s more mana intensive so use reactively.

Phase One:

Phase one is all about mana conservation and triage.

Phase Two:

Phase two is just heal the fuck out everyone you can. I try to save all cooldowns (except the mana regen ones) for phase two.

Remember, let the DPS who stand in bad the most die first. Priorities, people!

And a final note on tank healing:

Ooh, Cho’gall tank (when you guys swap and one runs off with the add) gets squishy. I don’t know what the mechanic is, but you want to be careful to keep your Cho tank healed up, occasionally resorting to OHFUCKHEALFASTER tourrettes.
Because that totally increases your haste rating.  /nod

And that is how you heal Cho’gall.

, ,

  1. #1 by Zane/Channi on June 6, 2011 - 11:49 am

    Very informative! I’ll be tanking him later this week so every bit of information helps!

    Granted I’ll be tanking him in normal mode, not heroic, but I’m sure it will be a pain for us all as first timers anyway.

    Ps – you should get your guest posters to give you MS Paint graphics for the strat guides! ^_~

  2. #2 by Mortigan the Lock on June 6, 2011 - 11:50 am

    As a Warlock, if I give you Dark Intent (for Haste) AND my Soul Stone (1 Get Out Of Death Free card, basically), exactly how much extra Heal-Me does that get me? 1 Stands-In-Bad for free? 2 Stands-In-Bad for free? You know, cause it’s important to know just how much crap I can get away with and still be healed… and not be the object of “I’m going to teach this guy a lesson.”

  3. #3 by SilentAlias on June 6, 2011 - 11:59 am

    Sounds about right. I would also recommend adding a phase 2 caveat: When beamed, redirect your healing buttons to your push-to-talk button and yell something along the lines of “INTRRUPTTHESTUPIDEYESTALKOMGWTFBBQ” (just to stay in tune with some of the other… exclamations that Pots’n’Kettles uses), because your healing done is reduced by 75%. The worst is using something like a Lay on Hands, or finishing off a cast of Divine Light (I’m only familiar with the paladin buttons, so forgive the one-sidedness) just to have them do…. squat. This is also where Paladin rebuke and Shaman wind shear become useful spells, since relying on the DPS to do what you want while you’re healing is… damn near unreasonable (those spells also come in handy for interrupting worshipers in Phase 1, but if it comes to you having to do that, you need to tell your raid leader to take a good look at just how incompetent the DPS must be).

    Oh and Cleanse (and equivalent) is an important button as soon as the grid shows a green or whatever border around the bars, but that should only happen once per attempt per person, and generally not all at the same time.

  4. #4 by gunny on June 6, 2011 - 12:00 pm

    “I don’t know what the mechanic is, but you want to be careful to keep your Cho tank healed up, occasionally resorting to OHFUCKHEALFASTER tourrettes.”

    that’s when the worshippers aren’t taken care of. cho’gall get get a stacking buff called Twisted Devotion, when increases his damage by 10% per stack…3 worshippers not taken care of, Cho’gall is hitting for 30% more than usual, tank pops CDs, and healer prays!

  5. #5 by SilentAlias on June 6, 2011 - 12:10 pm

    “…tank pops CDs, and healer prays!”

    If the healer is a priest, then literally.

  6. #6 by Krikket on June 6, 2011 - 12:26 pm

    @Mortigan: Don’t give your soulstone to anyone! It’s a battle rez now!

  7. #7 by indigodragyn on June 6, 2011 - 1:26 pm

    @Mortigan: It’s not so much about teaching anyone a lesson so much as it’s “I’m cranky at you for sucking up mana earlier so now you drop lower on my priority list.” Everyone’s getting heals as much as possible, but I try to prioritize my co-healer and the tanks. Also, if you stood in enough bad and have instacasts, I can’t heal you anyway. ^^

  8. #8 by repgrind on June 7, 2011 - 1:28 pm

    Twisted Devotion stacks are bad but so is Flame’s Orders. Put the two together and it’s like OMG, HoSac, WINGS, LoH, plzplzplz give me a Surge of Light proc NAO!! Oh damn, the tank’s dead.

    It is supremely important that worshippers get broken out ASAP. Back when we were first learning the fight and our dps were slacking on that … there were times where even with CDs blown I’d hit a tank with LoH and then he’d die a second later before I could even get another heal off … because of the Twisted Devotion + Flame’s Orders.

  9. #9 by Nzete on June 8, 2011 - 9:53 am

    If the dps suck at the worship bit, scream (ie fear) them and then scream (in vent) at them. Flames orders = heal the tank. Shadows orders = multiple prayer of mending, prayer of healing, and circle of healing. Yell at people if they still haven’t figured out how to use the lightwell (although I mostly have my raid trained). Phase 2 cast sequence: PoH, PoM, PoH, CoH, repeat. Add dispels as needed (glyphed for a heal, yes) and face away from the raid so that you don’t puke on anyone when you hit 50% corruption. Pray for conqueror drops.

    (Priest point of view in tens).

  10. #10 by Celendus on June 8, 2011 - 7:01 pm

    If your tanks are eating pavement, make sure that they use a 20% cooldown every time they take over Cho’gall (for the duration, they have +20% damage taken debuffs) and their Mirror of Broken Images trinket whenever Cho’s got the fire buff. Try to save other cooldowns for P2, but you can probably use them up until the second big add spawns and have them again for P2..

  11. #11 by theanorak on June 9, 2011 - 8:40 am

    I am raiding for the first time in six weeks tonight, and as we have some wonky availability it seems likely I will be the 3rd healer in a team with two holy paladins (I’m one). And holy is my offspec.

    Oh, crikey…

  12. #12 by Temnyi on June 11, 2011 - 9:07 am

    /latetotheparty

    Don’t worry, theanorak, holy paladins really shine here, as you hopefully saw. To toot my own horn, I was once two-healing it with a druid who DC’d off the bat, I solo healed the first 40% until he got back, and then kept neck and neck with him on throughput. (Shut it, Amber, I’m allowed to brag about that)

    For the things to watch out for, obviously, there’s worship stacks buffing Cho’gall’s damage, there’s shadow empowerment, and there’s flame’s orders. The first is avoidable, but you can usually deal with 1-3. 4+ and you’re considering using cooldowns when nobody’s standing in bad. With shadow empowerment, it’s really just a bunch of AoE damage. If the tank in question has an avoidance boosting trinket or cooldown, like DK’s dancing rune weapon, this is one of the best times to use it, because the shadow nova only happens if the tank’s hit. Flame’s Orders is a lot of single target damage. It’s like the alot is a rogue trying to gank the tank.

    For me, the time I’m always most nervous is the add switch. It doesn’t seem to matter who the offtank is, when the add comes off and the maintank runs off to play by the stairs, the offtank with Cho’gall’s health seems to drop like a brick. As a paladin I leave bacon of light on the main tank for the 60 yard range, and mostly keep with the offtank. Shadow Empowerment was originally scary, but once we got worships under control it’s the easiest of the boss’s abilities to deal with. Phase 2 can still be a little nerve-wracking, but somehow, the worst thing is always the add transition.

  1. Class feedback, 4.3 and other wibbling « Mysterious Buttons

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

