In Which I Ramble About Alts

In between derping my way through CiV 4 and watching My Little Pony, I’ve been levelings alts again.  I think I’m one of the few people in guild who has a shit ton of alts and yet only one 85. What is this shiny thing over h–

The Fate Of Wrath’s Max Level Toons

Ambrosine–my first character and the toon who has always hit level cap and always been a main at some point–is likely abandoned for good. I already have a tank, and while I’ve thought about healing on her, I vendored all her healing gear in a fit of rage. Bwuh. As she is she doubles up on a niche that my DK already fills.

Lyrandre also languishes away. I’m not thrilled with what I’ve heard about disc healing right now and I remain stubbornly anti-holy. This may change. We’ll see.  It feels weird to not have a max level healer.  :\ I also miss my original space goat dearly, but…priesting.  Priesting.  My bubbles, Blizzard, what have you done?

Jamethera, my vanilla-born hunter, will yet again make it to level cap.  She dinged 84 last night and I might have gotten some sort of handle on this focus thing. I’m keeping her BM and enjoying my collection of spirit beasts and my shale spider!

The Many, Many, Baby Alts

I abandoned my second hunter (Seraphyna, Earthen Ring)  in a fit of boredem, but picked up my rogue (Brydget, ER). The addition of BoA gear snagged from said hunter and my druid has made her life easier, and she’s a whopping…level 11 now. Her future is uncertain as far as leveling goes, but she will perhaps live on as an RP toon anyway.

Aedeminar, my druid, is…still level 72 and still…staying at 72.  But that’s mostly because I’m distracted by Icestone, my level 65 shaman.  When I’m not leveling Jam I’m often on Ice, melting my way through levels chain healing 5 mans. Fuck questing in Outland. One rare occasions the queue pops as DPS and I lightning bolt things. If Lyr doesn’t make it to 85 to heal things, Icestone possibly will, although I might have to rethink her silly name.

I hopped on my mage (58, Azgalor), got into one dungeon, had it go terribly, and haven’t touched her since.  Sorry Brigid. I have “issues” leveling pure DPS that isn’t hunter, it seems.

Also it amuses me to level Icestone while Midsummer is going on.

, ,

  1. #1 by koalabear21 on June 23, 2011 - 12:09 pm

    Bubble priesting isn’t just spamming bubbles but in all honesty I had no problem with mine. The better your gear is the easier it is to heal. I guess that can be said for any of the healers, but yeah. As long as you are enchanted and reforged you will be fine with healing.

    I took my baby priest (now my co-raiding toon) and gave her a few crafted epics, enchanted her gear and had very little problems healing heroics. As long as you don’t ding 85 and expect to heal in a raid you’ll be fine.

  2. #2 by ambient on June 23, 2011 - 2:20 pm

    I too am very sad about what they did to Disc! I was prepared for changes (since the old style obviously wouldn’t survive into the new healing paradigm), and since I was never a bubble spammer, I figured my existing versatility would serve me well. When the Shattering came I was excited to try out all the unique mechanics they’d built into the tree. And I was fine until a couple weeks post-Shattering when I rolled into my first (well-organized, guild) heroic and couldn’t keep a damn person alive. (Didn’t really heal along the way, I level as shadow.) Bubbles healed for NOTHING, which was a slap in the face given how expensive they were, and if I was going to be relying so much on holy spells like Renew and PoH, I wanted to BE a freaking holy priest.

    So I went holy. This from me, who lived/breathed/personified Disc, hates failangels almost as much as you, and literally answers to “Bubbles” in guild. Well, now my guild just loves me for lightwells and speed bubbles. (OMFG SPEED BUBBLES. Seriously that shit is awesome, I may love them more than my old bubbles.) I’ve come to really enjoy the rhythms of holy, and in comparison disc feels gimmicky. From the outside, it seems that in Cata disc priests are underpowered (struggling even in appropriate-level content) until they get raid gear, and by the end of the raid tier they’re already scaling too quickly with stats (*same issue as back in Wrath*). I’m not confident Blizz is going to be able to find the sweet spot, but without bubbles it doesn’t feel like my spec anymore. I don’t want to be OP, I just want to cast bubbles, WHY CAN’T YOU MAKE THIS WORK?! Those early dungeons were so unpleasant and scarring, I don’t know if I’ll ever go back.

  3. #3 by velidra on June 23, 2011 - 2:49 pm

    Eh. I feel disc is in a good place atm >.> I think a LOT of people got greatly turned of the state of it at the release of cata, hell I almost forsaked it permanently for holy. Even now I keep a holy spec floating around for those times when its needed.

    Ignoring the fail that PW:S was on release, its now a brilliant tool, cast reasonable often in both tank and raid healing. Disc can raid heal. RAID HEALING DISC PRIESTS. :|

    Granted I was a crazy person who healed heroics pre PW:S buff/heroics nerf (god I probably sound elitist saying that) and didn’t fair to badly (granted I had healed in the beta, but not disc healing, so I knew roughly what to expect) (I probably say granted to often).

  4. #4 by Jacob on June 23, 2011 - 5:14 pm

    I just gave up on my priest when cata hit and rolled on with my dk tank/hpala.
    Levelled it up a couple of weeks ago as holy and it was fine.
    Tried disc the other day and it’s fine now, can’t spam PWS ofc but with the +crit on weakened soul, +24% healing grace and Inner Focus bonus crit/cd reduce from GH it’s pretty fun getting 50k+ GH crits with DA :)

  5. #5 by Lique on June 27, 2011 - 9:18 am

    I’ve started picking up disc just for Cata even though I’ve been a holy priest for ages. Speed bubbles are amazing as holy, but there are times that all you want to do is blanket the raid with a bubble. It’s especially nice for the last phase of Elemental Monstrosity whatevers.

  6. #6 by theerivs on June 27, 2011 - 3:45 pm

    So which class are you actually good at?

  7. #7 by Arkaneena on July 7, 2011 - 9:37 am

    Hi I am just leveling a priest to max level, and I know you are fairly proficient at priesting, can you please recommend or write a guide for priests about to hit cap and where they should go from there? If there is somewhere else I should go please let me know. So many bloggers have left that my old bloglist is mostly dead now.
    Thanks,
    Ark

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

