Bringing Back the Bubbles: The Disc Priest Journey from 80 Onwards

I was perusing through my search terms today (you people are fucking disturbing) and along with many many searches about how fucking STUPID Rhyo is, there were a LOT of searches for leveling disc priests.

So, hi.  First off, leveling disc priests is awesome. I leveled Lyrandre entirely disc, but I started her off in BC.  Things are so different now that I don’t dare touch the lower level stuff, but I can talk a wee bit about going from 80 on up.

Step One: Spec smite heal.
Step Two: Bubble thyself.
Step Three: Holy Fire!
Step Four: SMITE ALL THE THINGS.
Step Five: Pop wings for the pretty graphic/if you actually need mana.

If I managed to pull multiple mobs then I’ll toss around SWP and DP. Penance doesn’t really get used for questing unless I feel like seeing the pretty graphic, but it’s handy in case something actually manages to hurt you.

I can pull for quite awhile without drinking, but I’m also in ICC gear, so make of that what you will. So far I can quest and dungeon heal effectively with the same spec (my second spec currently sits empty).  I’m well-nigh indestructable questing because I do a pretty good job of healing myself with smite. I just have to make sure I don’t let people die in dungeons while smiting. >.>

And now, to actually comment on anything past level 81 for these posts, I’m going to have to go level my priest…

, , ,

  1. #1 by Cynwise on July 26, 2011 - 9:20 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who pops wings just for the graphic. I’m all LOOK AT ME WIIIINNGGSSS.

    Tank is all, lissen, we’re running between packs of trash, stop popping CDs.

    Me: WIIIIIIINGGGGS

    Tank: /facepalm

  2. #2 by ILikeBubbles on July 26, 2011 - 9:24 am

    “Oops, I didn’t mean to do that. Wrong button!”

    I SO DID.

    WIIIIIIIINGS.

  3. #3 by Ruana on July 26, 2011 - 10:44 am

    Right, you, me, Achloryn, tonight in randoms? Jeudi needs some leveling up. Though we’re SUPPOSED to do Firelands tonight, but we’re short 2 healers and need 7 more DPS, so it may not go.

  4. #4 by Lujanera on July 26, 2011 - 10:45 am

    This has been roughly my experience while leveling a second disc priest. Smite spec pretty much allows you to dps full time without ever stopping to heal. With heirlooms and smart use of Power Infusion, expect to be top dps in most dungeons. Also, bubbles make it possible to tank, though threat may be weak.

  5. #5 by Cynwise on July 26, 2011 - 10:46 am

    I have no problems with this.

    I should play my priest more. (AFTER THE WARRIOR AND THE DK, CYN *slap*)

    (wiiiiinngs)

  6. #6 by ILikeBubbles on July 26, 2011 - 4:30 pm

    @Ruana Perhaps!

    …I should tick the DPS box and just smite. Who needs shadow?

  7. #7 by Mittenz on July 26, 2011 - 8:48 pm

    Heh heh. I’m 85, decent raiding gear on my priest, and every heroic (not the zuls) I challenge myself to see how much dps I can do with smiting without letting people die ;) It certainly helps make up for low dps from pugees in a lot of cases!

  8. #8 by Matty on July 26, 2011 - 9:40 pm

    Oh, I was thinking the same thing today looking through the “key word” searches. Can only imagine when doing a search for some of the key words some of these humans use, and then coming across my blog what they must think. Probably disappointed that they had to postpone certain, um…urges.

    Another dandy post, by the way.

  9. #9 by Aeliel on July 27, 2011 - 8:30 am

    I leveled a disc priest after Cataclysm and yeah, SMITE ALL THE THINGS is pretty much it. Works even before level 31 when you get Atonement, but even afterwards it’s pretty much unstoppable. I’ve only grabbed a shadow dual-spec for my priest now, because I wanted to the Hyjal dailies and things take absolute ages to die with smitespec. :(

  10. #10 by Hoho on July 28, 2011 - 2:24 am

    “And now, to actually comment on anything past level 81 for these posts, I’m going to have to go level my priest…”

    Good luck with that. With every level you gain, unless you upgrade your gear, your mana regen, haste and critt will pretty much get halved :)

  11. #11 by Melfina the Blue on July 28, 2011 - 9:51 pm

    Wings rock! I miss them in disc (now that I have a nonsmite spec). I may have spent too much time in shadowspec running around in the gnome costume going “Dunananana Dunananana(attempt at batman theme) GNOMEBAT!”

    Try it, it’s awesome! And may make your guildies disavow any knowledge of your existance when trade chat starts asking “WTF?”

  12. #12 by Gina @ healbot.net on August 1, 2011 - 5:19 am

    Yay get that disco up to 85!

    I recently respec’d to a pvp 2s only spec. WIthout atonement and without wings. /cry
    Oh wings how I miss thee!

  13. #13 by Nzete on August 3, 2011 - 7:15 pm

    81 is fine 82 requires some thought in mana and cooldowns. 83 is not fine. (This from leveling holy in chain guild dungeon groups at launch. The people who didn’t take time off from work had to go at 83, so I went to questing in Deepholm – ahead of the pvp nightmare that was the intro zones for the first months).

  14. #14 by Nzete on August 3, 2011 - 7:16 pm

    Addendum: in ICC gear. The first upgrades were in Deepholm.

  15. #15 by Amenha on August 8, 2011 - 5:07 pm

    I just hit 85 leveling as Holy/Disc, using Disc for questing and PvP and Holy for dungeons.

    When soloing, I found that penance worked well as a damage spell and that–compared to leveling as shadow–it takes a little longer to down things but I was significantly more difficult to kill. I barely ever used Archangel.

    Reflective shield was nice but skippable, pain suppression and focused will were must-haves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

