Smote

I’ve been doing my best to level Lyrandre with something resembling haste, which has lead to me being terribly bored of smiting.

I mean sure, it’s entertaining at first–but by the time you hit 83/84, suddenly your mana bar seems to have sprung a leak, and holy fire/smite/smite/smite turns into holy fire/smite/smite/smite/smite/holy fire/smite/SW:D/fuck I misjudged, smite.

This is where you’d say Amber, isn’t Lyr dual specced?

Yes, yes she is.  Disc and nothing.

…what do you mean I should use that second spec for shadow?  Pffft. 

I’ve hit 84 and the dreaded Twilight Highlands, which means that I will be a paper armored smear on the ground several times from here on out. Woe.

My pugging experiences have been mostly good, until I got one of Those Tanks the other day. He was in partial casting gear (BARE tank, I’m guessing moonkin otherwise) and at one point–after I nearly died on the first trash pull–I made him aware that hey, untanked caster mobs tend to eat the healer.

He said that was fine. He was invincible!

No really, he said that he didn’t care if I died because he was invincible.

By the time I hit 85 the rust should be completely, brutally knocked off my healing skills…

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ken (@3BeersKen) on August 22, 2011 - 9:54 am

    So, how long did he last on the next pull without heals?

  2. #2 by Eride on August 22, 2011 - 12:06 pm

    Gotta love those pug tanks. I love the ones that run so fast, like it’s wrath and we’re all in epics, then they go along and yell “HEALS!”. Yeah, I am back at the last fight still drinking, (the hard stuff). That also appears to be the tank who’s wearing cloth caster gear and standing in his DPS spec.

  3. #3 by Kay on August 22, 2011 - 12:11 pm

    And people wonder why healers drink so much…

  4. #4 by achloryn on August 22, 2011 - 5:04 pm

    I’m so glad i’m not one of those tanks. I go fast, when I know the healer can handle it. I usually can tell within 2 pulls lol.

  5. #5 by Lique on August 22, 2011 - 6:11 pm

    Shadow sucked ass at level 83/84 as well. Stick with discipline.

  6. #6 by Gorbag on August 22, 2011 - 10:20 pm

    I’ve been healing on my holy cow alt (Tauren paladin), and THOSE tanks are in every other random. I usually say something polite early in the run, like “please don’t run ahead so far, I can’t heal you outside 40 yards.” if they continue with the douchebaggery I get more direct – “stay in LOS. Because I’m a beast, I can keep you alive in your shitty “tank” gear, but I’m not chasing you all over the instance. Tank what you pull.” I’ve had a couple of tanks respond to that by charging into the next 3 packs and dying in seconds, then comes “WTF! heal, bitch – it’s your job!” I’m not normally a combative person or a griefer

  7. #7 by Gorbag on August 22, 2011 - 10:23 pm

    Hmm didn’t mean to end that – anyway, when it gets to that point I blow all my asshole CDs and light ‘em up. Verbal PvP :)

  8. #8 by Sryii on August 25, 2011 - 1:30 pm

    “No really, he said that he didn’t care if I died because he was invincible.”

    That is the point that you stop healing and let him die and start healing the rogue/dk/pally/enhshaman/hunter pet and let them tank. No really, I got a drooling moron in a dungeon and left him dead while healing the hunters turtle pet with problems. The drooling moron tank aparently didn’t know how to walk back into the dungeon and we couldn’t kick him (I think I’m up to a 4 hour CD on my ability to kick even though I do it rarely). Lying on the floor was the most impressive thing he did in there.

  9. #9 by Nzete on August 26, 2011 - 9:33 am

    Add dps warrior to that list… they are trying to tank everything anyways. I only lived through the 83-85 stretch on my priest because my job was to regen enough mana to heal the damage that my warlock hubby took and his lifetaps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

