Welcome the Nerf Bat Overlords

I can smell the QQ from here, already–but I, for one, welcome our nerf bat weilding overlords.

While other people cry TOO SOON, EXECUTUS, I cry OH THANK GOD.

You see, SiB has been a little…stuck. It’s embarassing, really, becuase we chewed through T11 at a steady pace. In fact I’ve felt that we’re the perfect example of the middle ground guild–we don’t raid a lot (6 hours a week), but we make steady progress when we do. We see content when it’s still “relevent” and “as intended” even if we never really get to doing hard modes.

We were the common denominator, and well, we just weren’t…getting anywhere. It wasn’t like we suddenly sucked or anything, I just started having vanilla era flashbacks to boss progression.  When I was breifly talking about the nerf with Fuzz, my raid leader, we decided that we were just relieved. Our e-peens were not threatened. They’ve been too trampled by lack of progression to feel threatened further.

As I nudged Twitter I heard similar mutterings from other groups.  Yeah, this nerf pre-patch is weird but…well, they were stuck, too.

If you’re looking for why Blizzard is doing this, I honestly think that is why. When your AVERAGE guild–not your “hard core” raiders, not your stacks of fail panackes, but your AVERAGE GUILD–isn’t getting anywhere, even when they are slowly accruing more gear, that’s when you nerf. Considering the burnout trains many people are holding tickets to right now, high levels of raiding frustration are not what you want if your goal is to retain players.

Bring it, Blizz. Just uh, not in my direction, okay?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Grokknar (@grokknar) on September 13, 2011 - 10:10 am

    100% agree. 1 group in my guild is working on Ragnaros normal. Yes, normal. My group has managed a Beth kill… once, most likely because we pugged in a ridiculously OP resto druid. If a steady progression of nerfs start hitting this content it’ll actually mean we get somewhere in our 6 hours a week.

  2. #2 by Zaralynda on September 13, 2011 - 10:10 am

    Yes.

  3. #3 by Thromean on September 13, 2011 - 11:18 am

    Agreed. Shannox is on farm but one normal Beth kill and one Rhyo kill in 4 weeks… a bit disheartening. I, too, welcome the wielders of the holy nerfbat.

  4. #4 by K. on September 13, 2011 - 3:01 pm

    *crossing fingers that they nerf Alys’s fire tornadoes*

  5. #5 by Clockwork on September 13, 2011 - 3:07 pm

    My guild is in the same boat; we’re a “family” guild of 10 friends all of whom know each other IRL and we run the gamut in ages from 22-67…so our skill levels are broad and we’d rather play together than go the Gevlon route and just kick anyone who doesn’t perform. Dunno about others but I genuinely enjoy our company.

    Anyways back to the topic at hand; we’ve pretty much got Shannox on farm and we spent 3 weeks banging our head against Beth til we got her down, now have killed her twice in a row. Got close on Rhyolith and that’s really the story of our progression…so I don’t mind the nerf bat incoming this quickly though it does sort of make me feel like Blizz is sort of bailing on Cata….they’ve cut out a full patch and in less than a year they’ll be looking for another $50 :\

    There’s been a lot of bloggosphere talk about the change from output to dance and such but…I dunno, my guild cleared normal (10 man) ICC and the last few tiers of content have felt much more punishing than that on normal (10).

  6. #6 by Melfina the Blue on September 13, 2011 - 3:08 pm

    So many deaths to the firey spinning things! SO MANY!

    (I may have spent too much time wiping to Alys lately)

    I kinda feel the timing’s personally not good because I’m trialing with a guild next week, and my awesome bubbling skills might be confused with the nerf. Or not. I dunno. But I do think it’s a good time in general. I would handle it differently, I think, do something like the ICC buff and have the achieves show if you clicked off the buff or not.

  7. #7 by Aoladari on September 13, 2011 - 4:14 pm

    100% agreed.

  8. #8 by Mittenz on September 13, 2011 - 7:22 pm

    We just want one more week to kill rag normal before the nerfs. We’re so close! TOOO SOOOON

  9. #9 by Leit on September 14, 2011 - 3:17 am

    Guild I’m with is only just hitting their stride now. We were stuck at Alys for weeks, but week before last we got her down followed quickly by a Majordomo kill. We’ve only actually pulled Rag once so far, this week, and are still trying to work out the Sons transition.

    It would’ve been nice to get a week or two to at least try pre-nerf, but I guess it’s our problem – we run with a 2-night raiding schedule and haven’t really pushed progression. Trying to get a second group running as well, which usually gets 2-3 bosses down.

  10. #10 by DEADPOOL on September 14, 2011 - 7:33 am

    Whack it with the bat, and whack it hard. /relieved

  11. #11 by Demeternoth (@Demeternoth) on September 14, 2011 - 7:38 am

    I’m not even playing and I welcome the nerf bat overlords. (I was in Grokknar’s team so I’m feeling this vicariously through him).

  12. #12 by Grokknar (@grokknar) on September 14, 2011 - 8:24 am

    It would be nice (though I’m not holding my breath) if they phase in the nerfs as you would meet the encounters. So the first round takes the bat to Shannox, Beth and Rhyo. A week or two later they hit Alys and Bale, then after that MD and Rag. Then move through the HC’s doing the same. That way you give people nearing the end the most time (Mittenz for instance) but allow groups like mine to start moving through the zone.

  13. #13 by Gorbag on September 15, 2011 - 9:31 am

    I’ve thought about this a good bit now, and the conclusion I’ve come to is that it’s smart to nerf earlier than 4.3, so progress can be made while the content is still current. I’m a bit disappointed my group didn’t get farther before the nerf, but I’ll be happy to see more dead bosses.

  14. #14 by Linda Pelfrey on September 16, 2011 - 5:13 pm

    The nerds are a good thing. (Although probably should just nerf normal.)

    But I am not sure they are going to be effective.

    This will help Guilds who are 5/7, 6/7. But a vocal minority in them will be so epeen upset that I am not sure it is much of a net increase in player happiness.

    What about the much larger number of people who were in LK raiding guilds that are no longer raiding? Will 20% health make up for having to learn flaming dogs, spiders, ropes and feathers in or with PUGs? in most case, I am guessing not. These people will read all the “only a complete moron is not 7/7HM and these nerds are joke” posts, try the raids, and fail because there are not that many people willing to persist these days outside of the serious raiding guilds. And the current mechanics can take some persistence.

    For most players, the question will then come down to whether you play Rift while waiting for TOR to ship.

  15. #15 by George on September 17, 2011 - 5:42 pm

    I think this is absolutely a good model for nerfs, and I think that it should maybe even be implemented sooner and more gradually (though preferably in optional form so that people can always see the “real” fight if they feel ready). The worst case of burnout I’ve ever seen happened in a guild that couldn’t get progressed because of one undergeared healer. Sure, we were partly to blame- she was still struggling in Heroics and probably shouldn’t have been there- but she was a) an IRL friend of our other core raiders and b) one of only three healers in the guild (and we tended to hit enrage timers if the third one was healing instead of DPSing). If there’d been a way for us to adjust the difficulty to let the rest of the team pick up her slack, we could have made progress fast enough to retain raiders without replacing her (causing probably guild-breaking drama) or delaying the start of our progression runs while she geared (which would have made people leave anyway, for the same reasons).

  1. “WoW Evolved” or “The Problem with Overtuning Content” « Are We New At This?
  2. How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love The Nerfs « Manalicious
  3. The Daily Quest: Too soon, Executus | WoW Cata News
  4. The Daily Quest: Too soon, Executus
  5. Episode 35 – Nerf News and Reactions « Blessing of Frost
  6. rift guide

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

