A Few Thoughts On Tyrande

1) Cankles?  I mean, really?  Cankles?

2) ….high heels?  I have this raging hatred of high heels in fantasy becuse they are moronic and impractical. The world has gone to shit, Deathwing is on the rampage, and Tyrande is in high heels. Whyyyyyyy? I don’t expect her to be in full battle regalia all the time, but soem practicality is still in order, don’t you think?

3) What’s with the claw-nails? She’s a priest, not a feral druid, unless Malfurion likes clawing during sex–and I don’t know, he might. Kinky ass druids.

4) It’s not a mini-skirt and her stomach isn’t exposed. She manages to have pretty clothing without looking like a whore!  Yaaaay!

5) …the more I stare at her feet, the more I think someone’s drawn too many trolls or something. Is it just me, or does the second toe look as big/bigger than the, well, big toe?

6) WHERE IS HER RIGHT HIP/THIGH?

Seriously though: the nit picky things are mostly drowned out by the fact that she is even GETTING a new model and IS WEARING MORE THAN A SCRAP OF FABRIC.

Why yes, I have lowered my expectations in general.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Clockwork on September 28, 2011 - 10:24 am

    Is it just me or are her ears a different color from the rest of her.

  2. #2 by Pewter (@mentalshaman) on September 28, 2011 - 10:25 am

    1) What are cankles? Her ankles look fine to me

    2) agreed

    3) Most/all night elves have toes like that, not sure about those claws though xD

    Otherwise completely agreed – also fancy headdress/hairstyle when world is falling apart? check.

  3. #3 by Rades (@_Rades) on September 28, 2011 - 10:32 am

    Is this her new modern-day appearance? If this is her Well of Eternity look, being dressed a little impractical / overly gaudy WOULD fit in with the decadent culture back then.

    In any case, I like the detail in this new look, but something seems weird to me with her skirt/dress/thing. I think it’s the combination of her broad shoulders (which are fine) with the short “skirt” – it gives her an “attack of the 50 foot woman” look, where she’s grown super big and blown out of her outfit. To me, anyway.

  4. #4 by Vidyala on September 28, 2011 - 10:46 am

    I thought she had blue hair. I guess now she has…green hair? Okay. In general, I don’t hate it! The claw fingers are weird. I might’ve preferred a longer dress so she doesn’t look like “attack of the 50 foot woman,” haha, BUT it could have been a lot worse, I suppose. High heels – but no midriff – I will take it.

  5. #5 by Rades (@_Rades) on September 28, 2011 - 10:48 am

    Another thought – if this IS her past appearance, being overly decorative (FINGER CLAWS) would fit in very well in how every female would have dressed in homage of Azshara. She’s sporting finger claws in her datamined image, after all!

  6. #6 by Bronte on September 28, 2011 - 10:54 am

    It has occurred to me today that you sir, may have too much time on your hands!

  7. #7 by ILikeBubbles on September 28, 2011 - 10:57 am

    @Rades – I hadn’t thought of the WoE aspect. I guess we’ll see! I still think finger-clws are strange, but then, I think exceptionally long nails out in meat space are bizarre. I like to be able to DO things with my hands. I don’t get the attack fo the 50 foot woman impression, myself. Attack fo the Gorilla Armed Woman, maybe…

  8. #8 by Gneisha (@BloodyGneisha) on September 28, 2011 - 11:18 am

    I’m pretty sure this is her Well of Eternity look. Azshara has the same long talons going on (yikes!). I wish they’d fix the huge hands on Night Elf female models, but overall I think she looks great. And I would TOTALLY wear that dress and those shoes.

    Interestingly, did anyone notice the crescent moon shaped thing above her brows resembles the one seen in the Ysera model previews from one of the dungeons (Well of Eternity, I think)? If I didn’t know this was Tyrande, and that Ysera already has a nice elf model in-game, I’d almost guess this is her.

  9. #9 by Lique on September 28, 2011 - 1:41 pm

    Are they going to replace the Tyrande in Darnassus with this? Cause I really like the one that already exists. I would be sad. :(

  10. #10 by Alfimi on September 28, 2011 - 1:52 pm

    Her ears appear to be the same colour as her current model in game (I went to check — and apparently she gained a ghost owl companion in 4.2! Cuz I’d never seen Dori’thur prior to then.) But I guess her hair turned blue in her old age?

    All the night elves in Ye Ol’ Ages Past seem to have a claws thing going on, not so much currently otherwise. Definitely something funky happening with that toe, however, eeesh.

    Still, roll on the new models! I wonder if this is a hint of what sort of updates we might see for racial models in the future.

  11. #11 by theerivs on September 28, 2011 - 4:23 pm

    Does she got man hands, or is it just me?

  12. #12 by Awryt on September 28, 2011 - 7:02 pm

    Having your second toe longer than your big toe is supposed to be tied to higher intelligence IRL. Maybe there is a tie in?

    I kind of like the heels although her ankles do seem thick, it may just be the angle.

    The clawlike nails are scary and should really be trimmed and filed before she hurts someone.

  13. #13 by Ary on September 30, 2011 - 4:20 pm

    The hip? It’s the way Night Elves stand, leaning on one leg, so the left sticks out more.

    I love heels, I’m excited they gave them to a char. And I think the ankles look fine, besides she is wearing leg guard things that cover them, which are bulky.

    I freaked when I saw the dress, sooo pretty! And I don’t mind the claws. They are supposed to have fangs anyways, it fits together. :D

    haha Idk.

  14. #14 by Matty on October 1, 2011 - 10:23 am

    Look up ‘cankles’ and “Hilary Clinton.”

  15. #15 by Lia on October 2, 2011 - 2:21 pm

    If only the rest of the female leaders in WoW didn’t look so stripperiffic all the time (I’m looking at you, dragon ladies). And you know… raid each other’s closets. I’m thrilled Tyrande doesn’t look like she borrowed one of Sylvanas’ leather bikinis. Then again, she already loaned two to Alexstrasza and Ysera, how many bikinis does one undead elf need?

    This has a generally priestess-y feel to it, and honestly a shorter skirt would allow for more range of motion in a battle, since it’s not skintight but looks loose and flowy. Not that she’s running anywhere in those shoes, but still. Slight improvement.

  16. #16 by Pugnacious Priest on October 21, 2011 - 8:10 am

    i also noticed that her 2nd toe is bigger then her big toe, and yes those anklets look strange. should have been fitted better

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

