You can GO GO GO straight to fucking hell.

I made a mistake last night. Our second 10 man folded due to a last minute cancellation, and the new priest wanted to run heroics, so I thought I would offer to go with. I needed a few more VP for another piece of  gear, anyway.  So. Another guildie who is also new to the guild was tagging along as well, which would put us at a healer and 2 DPS. Eeeenh.  Surely I can tank a Zulroic with 2 pugs and not want to shank people!

No.  Absolutely not.

I have not run the 5 man ZA and ZG much at all.  In fact, I’d say I’ve MAYBE done them each twice, and none of that was terribly recent. I tanked one of them once, but I don’t even remember which one it WAS, so my familiarity is…lacking.

And I’m not a very confident tank. I function fine as a raid tank for my guild, where I know the people and I know the fights. Throw me into an instance that I don’t know very well–where, in fact, I have old memories of tanking it when it was a raid layered over everything–and I slow down a bit, and flail a bit more.

I was, apparently, not fast enough for the pug hunter. Now, I was already head scratching at this hunter because he kept tossing down frost traps. Not the ice cube making trap of helpful CCness.  Not the fire trap of more damageness.  Not even the snake trap of LOLSNAKESness.  No, no he was throwing the frost trap down…on trash that did NOT contain scouts…for no apparent reason. Now, I got my hunter to 85 and then proceeded to not do much with her, but I don’t recall that suddenly becoming useful.

And then he started the GO GO GO nonsense.  I paused and told him, politely, that I was not a tank that liked to be rushed. He then proceeded to ANGRILY AND IN CAPS yell at me when I did not move the next boss fast enough (see: lack of familiarity with fights). I became less polite at this point, telling him to chill or to go back to enjoying long ass DPS queues because no one likes to tank for assholes. Later on in the instance, after a pull went…less than well, he told me he sucked and left.

…thanks!

I’m now back to never tanking for a heroic group containing any pugs at all.  I’ll go sit in my long ass DPS queue.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Karegina on October 14, 2011 - 11:45 am

    Ugh. I hate that. People can be such assholes!

    This one time, we were taking a newish priest through the troll heroics and we got a pug DK (there were 4 guildies in the run). Because the priest didn’t really know WTF he was doing, my husband (the tank) ended up dying a lot. However, despite that, we almost made a timed run. (We were like 1 minute off.)

    So, we go through the last two bosses and as we were disbanding, the DK (who had topped the charts) said something like “Healer and Tank, you two suck. L2Play.” and dropped group. What’s the point of saying things like that? It wasn’t constructive in the slightest!!

  2. #2 by theerivs on October 14, 2011 - 12:00 pm

    Your a great tank, don’t know anyone one else who can tank, and still find time to lay on the ground as much as you do.

  3. #3 by Jack on October 14, 2011 - 11:00 pm

    As a career dps with a healer alt, this makes me sad — because I like tanks who don’t rush, I hate the GOGOGOGOGOers no matter what role they are, and I hate seeing cool players chased out of the random pool by folks I’d rather not group with either. Not that I mean OMG YOU MUST QUEUE BECAUSE SANE PEOPLE NEED YOU, it just makes me sad is all.

    Still. If I had a good group of non-pugs to run with all the time, I’m sure I’d take refuge with them too.

  4. #4 by ILikeBubbles on October 15, 2011 - 12:52 am

    @Jack – The strange thing is, I will happily tank lowbie instances all day. There’s something about heroics, though, man…

  5. #5 by Azuriel on October 15, 2011 - 3:00 am

    Assuming the hunter was Survival:

    Point of No Escape Rank 2
    Increases the ranged critical strike chance of all of your attacks on targets affected by your Ice Trap and Freezing Trap by 6%.

    Lock and Load Rank 2
    You have a 100% chance when you trap a target with Freezing Trap or Ice Trap to cause your next 2 Arcane Shot or Explosive Shot abilities to cost no focus and trigger no cooldown. Effect lasts for 12 sec.

    While the GOGOGO language isn’t especially useful, clearly this hunter knew what he was doing and was likely blowing everyone away on the DPS meters for bothering with Ice Traps on trash. Part of the tragedy of the situation is that none of you probably should have been grouped together – he’s probably done ZA/ZG a hundred times, and it’s always better to run a full guild group if you are (re)learning things for the first time. It is easy to say he should chill out or otherwise conform to polite society… but that still is a two-way street. It’s kind of like getting stuck with a new employee at the fast food place when you’re already late for something; both circumstances make it worse.

  6. #6 by Kadomi on October 15, 2011 - 6:31 pm

    And that’s how I stopped tanking for strangers. I saw one GOGOGO too many. In fact, I am making the painful switch from tank main to healer main, simply because I find it a lot easier to heal strangers than to tank for them.

  7. #7 by Gorbag on October 15, 2011 - 9:08 pm

    Tanking punishes inexperience more harshly, and more publicly, than any other role in the game. You either develop a thick skin, take your lumps, and develop the experience or you give up on it. Experience is the residue of failure, and failing regularly in front of jerks who don’t have the good manners to politely ignore your flailing isn’t fun at all. Guild groups are fantastic for failing repeatedly, because if your guild is a good one, they will continue to love you no matter how terrible you are. All tanks go through what you are experiencing, and the ones saying tanking is easy are either trying to show off or suffer from amnesia. Stick with it, it gets better, and you will get better. And when you become an iron wall, impervious to pain, an unkillable tanking MACHINE, you will laugh at the GOGOGO morons for their blissful, mindless ignorance. Go forth, and conquer! Their meek little dps frames need you to protect them :)

  8. #8 by Megacode on October 16, 2011 - 10:45 am

    This is exactly why there is a lack of tanks in 5 man heroics. I am a career healer and understand the frustrations there are with the gogogoers. I just let them die. I plan to start a Prot Pally alt and will just kick those type of players right off the bat. DPS in randoms are a dime a dozen.

  9. #9 by Leit on October 17, 2011 - 2:19 am

    It’s easier to heal random strangers than to tank for one reason and one reason alone… you can let the unpleasant ones die without risking losing the entire party. Unless of course it’s the tank being insufferable.

  10. #10 by Nzete on October 17, 2011 - 5:35 pm

    I have recently gotten brave enough to do H SFK for the tailoring cloth drops with only a single guild dps for company – on my fully 378 geared holy priest. Pugs can be really, really nasty business.

  11. #11 by andrew on October 18, 2011 - 12:14 am

    While I don’t condone the unfriendly pugee’s behaviour, I do think there is more that you could have done.

    You mention only doing the Zulroics once or twice previously (and not recently) and give the impression you only had a fair idea of what to expect – but you don’t mention taking any steps to refresh yourself with the fights before you queued.

    Like it or not tanks do have a certain responsibility to be aware of what to expect of a boss.

    Looking back on my time as a pugging tank, there are times where if I had done more research on the fights before I started queueing, things would have gone a lot smoother for all five people in my group.

  12. #12 by Leit on October 18, 2011 - 2:32 am

    Andrew, if you’re going to say that the tank has a responsibility to do everything they can to ensure a smooth run, then you’re going to have to extend that to DPS as well. That also means co-operating with the group in a useful fashion.

    If you’re going to assume the old-fashioned “tank will carry us” mentality, you’re also going to have to assume that DPS should sit down, shut up, and not disagree with the damn tank ever.

  13. #13 by Abulurd on October 18, 2011 - 12:58 pm

    Try working in customer service for a while, then pugging. After just a couple of months in a cs department, I could pretty much completely tune puggers out. Unless of course I was feeling malicious and then I’d start flaming them back >:)

  14. #14 by andrew on October 18, 2011 - 8:16 pm

    @Leit, as you say it is important that tank, heals and dps all cooperate with each other in a useful fashion. But how can a tank or any other member of the party do their required part if they are not up to speed on the fights?

    I never suggested tanks need to be prepared to carry the group on their shoulders but a 5-minute alt+tab to wowpedia never hurt anyone.

    If I attempted to tank a heroic without doing the proper preparation I would not be so surprised at someone calling me out on it.

  15. #15 by Leit on October 19, 2011 - 2:41 am

    But if you DPS’d a heroic without “proper preparation”, it’d be lost in the general background noise of just about everyone doing the same thing. The standards are not the same, and that’s kind of ridiculous given how hard the instance designers have been working at making DPS players more mechanically vital.

  16. #16 by Matojo on November 3, 2011 - 1:50 pm

    FUCK THE HATERS with a rusty pike I tell ya what.

  17. #17 by zerobugs.org on April 19, 2013 - 12:38 pm

    This amazing blog, “You can GO GO GO straight to fucking hell.
    | I Like Bubbles” demonstrates that you truly fully understand what precisely you’re communicating about! I personally fully agree with your blog. Many thanks -Carla

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

