Dealing With Personal Weaknesses

Everyone has weaknesses in the way they play. I have a myriad of them, but after many years of raiding, I’ve learned how to best counter myself.

I am a creature of habit. Reflexes are my way of forming mental filters and handling complex fights. Once I figure out the rhythm of a fight, I can devote my full attention to doing my best. It’s not unlike learning to drive–at first it’s all OMG THERE’S SO MANY THINGS TO REMEMBER but it becomes second nature before long. I must master the individual layers before I can excel at the whole.

This means that when things change too much I’m the derpiest of derps.  I’m used to working like this, and it’s one reason why I seldom pugged raids  even when I had the time. The constants of a guild raid week in and week out were better for me. I’m self-aware enough to not court failure more than I must. I struggled massively with my guild’s Rags attempts because I only raid every other week, and with two different raid leaders, the strat would literally be different every single time I went. I’ve never felt so unsure of myself as when I was failing left and right on Rags. Thankfully that’s not a situation that comes up much, and after I’ve done a fight the same way a few times, I’m okay. I just need my crutches in place.

There’s a reason I was only in a “top 5 on the server” guild in Vanilla. In 40 mans, who really notices 1 of 7 holy paladins dying? NO ONE.

Suffer from left/right confusion? I know of many people who rely on post-it notes to not only remind them which way is which, but of other assignments as well. I sketch things out on paper on my desk sometimes (ex: THIS SON, dumbface) as a visual reminder.

I couldn’t get through life as a responsible adult without post-it notes.

What are your personal weaknesses, and how do you cope?  Are you a perpetual keyboard turner that remains extra aware of stuff on the floor? Did you used to be a paladin tank who had to install an ad-on to yell when you didn’t have RF up?

Share your failures!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by achloryn on December 19, 2011 - 3:30 pm

    I have always been a keyboard turner. Ever since I started playing. When i’m raiding, I keyboard turn. Always have. I can keyboard turn in pvp to an extent, but in a pve environment it’s never really clicked properly for me. So, i’ve developed an unnatural affection for strafing. I wlll almost always strafe out of the way of whatever I need to because it’s quicker than turning and moving.

  2. #2 by ILikeBubbles on December 19, 2011 - 3:43 pm

    KB turn, FOREVER!

    The only time I couldn’t cope by strafing was tanking Murmur. :(

  3. #3 by Demeternoth on December 19, 2011 - 4:03 pm

    Erm I’m only commenting to say SNOW ON YOUR BLOG. I LOVES IT.

  4. #4 by Jen on December 19, 2011 - 4:49 pm

    I’m a keyboard turner… so I rolled a healer. Not having to face your target, oh yeah! (Confession: I lied on my guild application.)

    I’m also a creature of habit and it takes me a while to learn a fight. I had endless arguments with my previous RL since I wasn’t using Tree of Life enough… but it took me a couple of nights on a boss to learn *when* to use it. I’m one of those people who keep cooldowns “just in case” if I can’t find a proper spot to use them… oops?

  5. #5 by indigodragyn on December 19, 2011 - 4:58 pm

    Keyboard turner! o/

    And it really is SUCH a reason to heal. XD

  6. #6 by Karegina on December 19, 2011 - 6:56 pm

    Yeah, I’m such a keyboard turner. My husband has tried and tried to get me to turn ‘the right way’ but I always go back to keyboard turning. I’m one of those people you see turn to the right, then turn to the left and THEN go forward. Dork! That’s me!

  7. #7 by Brian on December 19, 2011 - 10:38 pm

    I usually pick up fight mechanics fairly quickly, and I rarely screw them up once I figure them out…until it comes to having to work harder than usual on healing or DPS output. That’s when I can sometimes get tunnel vision. This was particularly bad healing WOTLK ICC hard modes, as high output requirements combined with wack-a-mole style healing meant I’d be staring at Vuhdo spamming rejuv on everyone when it wore off and *BAM*, I’d blow up the raid on Heroic Sindragosa…again. Kitty DPS is the same problem. When the fight has a tight enrage timer, I can get so focused on timing everything exactly right for max output that I don’t notice I forgot to move for generic dance ability #11.

    The solution for me seems to be just trying to take as zen an attitude as I can towards the fight and not get so wrapped up in what I’m doing that I forget what ELSE I’m supposed to be doing. The actual DPS/healing output when I’m NOT 10,000% focused on DPSing or healing doesn’t seem to drop hardly at all, and I stay alive a lot longer.

  8. #8 by Leit on December 20, 2011 - 3:13 am

    When a character becomes a regular part of our raiding team I tend not to play that character outside of raids. At all. No RDF, no RF, no farming… I tend to play anything *but* that character regardless of what upgrades may be available or how many bosses we actually have down.

  9. #9 by Birgitta on December 20, 2011 - 6:33 am

    It takes me time to learn. I learn by reading, doing, reading again (and watching fight while being dead).
    And I sort of need to learn them one by one. Oh joy when raid leader says “Read up on tacts (4 bosses)”.
    And slow reactions, GTFO saves my life. To get in to my head to strife would be great (can’t do that with mouse).

    Everyone tells me I’m better than I think (and I start to figure it might be true), but I am the healer with the lowest HPS, I am one of those dying – often.
    Living in a small guild who just have started raiding I now wait for them to get a better healer.

  10. #10 by Celendus on December 20, 2011 - 3:53 pm

    “Gotta taunt soon, gotta taunt soon, FUCK taunted early!”

  11. #11 by Aoladari on December 20, 2011 - 5:09 pm

    I keyboard turn with my right hand while I hit ability keys with my left. If I’m on my healer I move my left hand to my arrow keys to turn and my right hand on my mouse to click the green bars that need filling.

  12. #12 by secrets on Dalaran on December 20, 2011 - 8:00 pm

    I got annoyed at my guild and decided that I’d be able to cope with raiding in Dragon Soul without reading any strats, watching any videos, or doing any LFR runs. Sure, I died to the button boss the first time, but I was one of eight that did (out of 10). I’m sure they don’t know that I haven’t read up on any fights, just as I’m sure they know who else in the main raid team never reads up. And I’m picking things up quicker than most of those. And I’m catching the most or nearly the most small swirlys on our blackhorn attempts (we’ve only got to phase 2 a few times).

  13. #13 by Matty on December 21, 2011 - 1:44 pm

    Giving a shit what other players think, especially after another LFR experience last night. As in life, only care about those opinions who care about you. Let’s just say being unjustly accused of something made me scramble for the name of my goblin lawyer.

  14. #14 by Ekinara on December 22, 2011 - 8:23 am

    I over complicate things in my own head, A simple fight becomes a mess of tiny (mostly pointless) adjustments and what if style question to me. So basically i confuse myself and often when I get confused it spreads to others.
    I am also guilty of relentlessly HATING video strats because I never learn from them, the journal is actually more useful to me because i know what everything is I just need to put it into place.

  15. #15 by theerivs on December 28, 2011 - 11:01 am

    I have none, I’m perfect.

    Don’t forget your fondness for getting lost in a room. :P

  16. #16 by Thys on December 30, 2011 - 4:03 pm

    While it’s not technically a flaw but more of a disorder, I panic alot. Since I have social anxiety disorder, I fret alot about what my fellow guildies will think of my performance. Which leads to such memorable moments as when I, as a caster, got cleaved by Magtheridon. Or faceplanted a wall when trying to avoid AoE. Or fell off edges. :D Good times.

  1. training

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

