Priest Changes and Paladin Hopes

Hey look, a bandwagon!  Let’s talk about priest changes.

* Divine Spirit – this spell is now a core ability available to all priests.
Good.  Since it gets overwritten so much anyway these days, having it be a talent was sort of silly.  While Imp DS will likely remain a Disc talent, I’m sure it’ll free up a point or two to spend elsewhere.

* Discipline has access to a new talent, Power Word: Barrier. (Think of it as Power Word: Shield for your whole group).
Fuck.  Yeah.  I’ve been jokingly saying “Give me an AoE Bubble!” for awhile now, but if they actually do it?  Oooh, that’ll be fun.  Who needs CoH when we can prevent the damage to begin with?

* Several area of effect (AOE) heal spells have been improved: Prayer of Healing can be cast on any groups in your raid party. Holy Nova’s mana cost has been reduced. Circle of Healing now heals for more.
Good.   They’ve made my AoE heal better, stopped a bit of holy priest QQ, and now I’ll be able to cast more Holy Novas and kill more maggots.   Maybe now our resident FailPriest will fail a little less, because he’ll have one of his crutches back. 

“Amber, are you still angry about that one holy priest?”

Yes.  But that’s for another post.

* Penance – this spell can now be targeted on the priest.
I can laser myself!  Woo! 

So.  What does this all mean?  It means that priests are even more awesome.  Let me tell you, this cements my eventual main swap unless Blizzard does some really unexpected, fantastic changes to paladins.

Part of me hopes they do, because they need it.  How can I not have hopes for my first class?

The holy paladin population in the game has dropped, like a rock.  Every single other healer in the game has some sort of multi-target heal, or a HoT, if not both.  Although we can manage without either, it’s a struggle, and there aren’t nearly enough people willing to stick it out.  If I had been on my own, rather than leveling with my boyfriend with a raiding guild expecting an 80 pally, I probably would have dropped the ball myself.  And I’m a skilled healadin-what about those who need a little brushing up?  Just respecced?  I think we chased away a lot of people who could have matured into good little buffbots had they not run into the wall that was AoE damage happy heroics at first.  A giant wall.  With spikes on it.  And broken glass.

While I’m sure you know paladins who got through that just fine, blah blah blah, if I’m complaining I must suck, blah blah, lrn2play, blah, there’s plenty that didn’t.  You know how I know?

Look around.  How many holy paladins do you see?

My guild has two.  Two.  And one resto shaman, and one resto druid, and one disc priest…and every other healer we have is a holy priest.

Incidentally, one of the strongest AoE healers in the game.

Do I need to draw the obvious conclusion here?  The healers that were best able to cope with the Northrend instances were the ones to ‘survive’.

I’m glad they’re making priests more awesome.  We need more healers, period.  But I really, really hope that they do something to the others as well.  Give us all something as glorious-and entertaining!-as PW: Barrier.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Myssidia on February 5, 2009 - 7:00 pm

    I’d be lying if I said I didn’t do the same kind of post, feel free not to read if you don’t want to, but I’ll put my idea of what the AoE bubble should be here. Because I don’t want you to have to dig for such a wonderful gem, and I’m just that nice.

    “Discipline has access to a new talent, Power Word: Barrier. (Think of it as Power Word: Shield for your whole group).
    SRSLY?! I would like it better if the spell… say… worked with the raid as a whole instead of just the priest’s group. Or like the new Prayer of Healing change (which I will get to) you can target groups. I was thinking something along the lines of what the Death Knight’s Anti-Magic Zone was, but physical damage instead of magical damage prevention. I think it just makes me happy imagining a huge glowing golden bubble and all my friends cowering underneath it. I’d probably macro “YOU SHALL NOT PASS” to it. Cuz I’m a dork.”

    <3 I’m also thinking of adding a (TM) with a link to your blog anytime I say “PEWPEW heal”

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on February 6, 2009 - 9:16 am

    Roffle. If you did that, I’d be in perpetual gigglefits.

    Is it SAD that one of the first things I was wondering, when they mentioned the self-target Pennance, was how were they going to change the graphic? Not “How useful is that going to be in raid/soloing situations?” but “How are you going to shoot yourself with a laser?”

Leave a Reply

