This, That, and The Other Thing

Somehow I ended up doing…very little last night, aside from playing with my shaman.  Grocery shopping will do that to you, apparently.  So Healer Friendly Dailies: Solazar will pop up either later today, or tomorrow, unless I can work some Google magic.

I often peruse other blogs for ideas-today’s topics seem to be dual specs, Ulduar (V0L7R-0N?  /facepalm), and “omg, liek, im a girl and i play wow”. 

Dual specs?  Here’s the entire gist of my thoughts: Sweet, I can do quests without it SUCKING.  Will it fix the tank/healer shortage?  Not really.  It will not magically give those who do not wish to tank/heal the desire to, nor will it give them the skills.  It will, however, give those of us who do constantly flop between roles a nice break.  I, personally, would LOVE to be able to swap between roles more, but let’s face it: as long as your main is a healer, and they’re used to you healing, and you’re willing at all to heal, you’re going to be healing.  That time when my main was my hunter?  I’d transferred my paladin off server.  It caused a total shit storm, by the way.  There’s more to the story than that, of course, but consider that part and parcel of my reluctance to give up healing no matter how unexciting and at times frustrating I find my paladin. 

Ulduar: I don’t care until it’s staring me in the face.  Maybe I’ll try to get on the PTRs and give you an opinion of the fights from a paladin’s perspective, but until then?  Meh.  Maybe this instance was what the Paladin t7 was prepping us for, though.  Fear Voltron! You want someone more meaningful musing on this, go here and give hugs to Lance for me.

Gender and Gaming: This is something of a dead horse, says the female raider/blogger.  Some people will treat some other people different based on their gender.  Some people will not.  Some women will be showered with free things in WoW because they are female, some will find themselves maligned.  Some, like me, won’t really give a shit. 

That’s not to say it doesn’t sometimes crop up in interesting ways.  Take, for instance…a guildie of mine.  She’s female IRL, and doesn’t want it generally known.  Why? Hell if I know.  It’s not as if she’s the only one (HI!), as there’s…uh…five of us amongst the raiding core, and more in the guild in general. 

On the other hand, I can kind of understand, because back in Ye Olde Days (40 mans) things were….more interesting.  For one thing, almost every woman in the guild played a healer, which seems to be less the case now.  We had the Token Female Slut, who would flirt shamelessly, act like a ditsy idiot, couldn’t write worth a damn, and was caught cybering at least once.  Oh, and she was married.  I was at times ashamed to be tied to her even by something as tenuous as gender.  And don’t forget the Backstabber!  We had one of those, too!   It was a veritable Stereotype Party in my old raiding guild some days, complete with a few pathetic, socially inept young males who fawned over and fell in love with everything with boobs that was nice to them.  Granted, out of a guild of 50+ people, this was a small percentage, but still…

At one point, I could name off five guys in WoW who claimed to be in love with me.  When I was no more than my normal, nice self.  Oh, and I was engaged at the time and they all knew that.  BLARGH.  It was not as entertaining as it sounds, trust me.  So…my dear guildmate…I can understand why you want to keep your little secret.

But what happened during Ye Olde 40 Man Days seems vastly different than what I encounter today.  Or maybe they’re more afraid of my current 6’10 boyfriend with a bunch of guns, I don’t know.   All I know is that when, say, someone acts like a dick towards me…I assume it’s because they’ve got sand where the sun doesn’t shine for some reason, not because, oh my gawd, I’m a girl.  Nor do I think that Steve promoted me as a Token Female Officer, either.  I am recruitment officer because I’m charming and witty, of course.  I win people to the Brotherhood of Oblivion banner with cutely bumbling persistence! 

But really, who the hell cares these days?  The guy playing the hunter is just as likely to suck as the girl.  I know FEMALE TANKS.  Holy shit!  I’ve been one!  It doesn’t fucking matter, guys!

It all boils down to: some people are idiots, and have really funny excuses as to why they are so.

There’ll always be some people who think girls are special snowflakes, or idiots, or whatever…and some of them us fuck it I am my OWN gender us ARE…but y’know what?  They’re not the majority.  /ignore is your friend. 

And now that I’ve rambled a LOT on a topic I supposedly don’t care about…

….random macro is not so random!

,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg on February 18, 2009 - 11:01 am

    ZOMGZ, A GIRL WITH BOOBZ ON TEH INTERWEBZ?!? I LUV YOUZ! PIX PLZ! KTHXBAI!

  2. #2 by Shadowtycho on February 18, 2009 - 11:57 am

    I think a lot of people get caught up in gender, especially people that haven’t quite joined us in the real world and still go to high school, because they have very few things that they can define themselves with online. Its the same thing as you see everywhere on the internet, guys that faun over girls because they pay attention to them and women that are overly flirtatious, just have less inhibitions just because they are online. It probably stems back to the fact that a lot of people not being able to treat a person online like they would a person on the street.

    normal person + complete anonymity = total fuckwad
    (Gabriell’s Greater internet fuckwad theory)

    We are all beautiful and unique snowflakes, just like everybody else.

  3. #3 by Holy Dueg on February 18, 2009 - 1:04 pm

    A problem also is a lot of people seem to think that it’s the woman’s fault that it’s all going on. Trust me when I say that often enough it’s just as much the guy acting like a testosterone driven mongaloid and thinking with his.. erm… “holy light” that produces these situations. So don’t pity the guy and think the woman is evil when it really takes two to tango.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on February 18, 2009 - 1:46 pm

    Interestingly enough, most of the drama that suckled ME in involved 1) teenage guys and/or 2) other women.

    I could expound on that further, but I think I’d just dig myself into a hole. I have, howevever, declared myself not only my own gender but my own species at various points in time. :P

    Stupid Gabriell’s theory.

  5. #5 by Brent on February 18, 2009 - 4:06 pm

    /pat

    For a topic you don’t care about, you sure care a lot :-)

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on February 18, 2009 - 9:28 pm

    I know!

    That, or I can babble endlessly about just about anything.

Leave a Reply

