Musings on Upcoming Mana Regen Changes

Via WoW Insider:

Base regen (which is an equation that factors in both Intellect and Spirit) will be nerfed by about 40%. This means the mana you would regen while just standing around doing nothing will be quite a bit lower than it currently is. However, in exchange, regen-while-casting talents such as Meditation, Intensity, Spirit Tapand many others, whille be buffed so your in-combat mana regen shouldn’t be harmed very much. It’ll essentially prevent you from trying to wiggle in and out of the 5 second rule for big regen ticks, while not terribly bothering your mana regen while you’re actually doing things.

From a purely holy paladin and disc priest perspective, I’m not batting my eyelashes yet.  As I said before, we’re the chain-casters of the healing crows.  We never relied on the 5sr to begin with.  As long as our casting mana regen remains relatively unchanged, we should be okay. 

As always, it could tip the boat for some healers border-line in skill, but…eh.  Adaptation is fun, kids!

I might reconsider some of my int gems, but probably not.  It’s still a pretty glorious stat.  The only thing I worry about was touched on here.   With the Divine Plea nerf so negligible, will they beat us with the nerf bat again?  Or will it actually matter that much more in Ulduar?

/ponders

The one thing that does trip me out is where it was said (Keeva’s my source here, can’t read the damn blue posts), “The goal is to have mana last about the same for all healers. ”  Wait, what?  For all my years as a paladin, we’ve been the mana-for-eternity gang.  That was, like, our schtick.  You want to make us ALL last the SAME LENGTH now?  Or are they doing their “When we mean healers, we mean the healers not paladins” thing again? 

Since paladins don’t rely on any of those abilities for mana regeneration, we lowered the healing penalty of Divine Plea to -50%. We are also likely to make Spiritual Attunement provide less mana for non-tanking paladins. We are not touching Illumination for the moment. Nor are we lowering the effects of Replenishment (though as I have suggested, it would be our likely next target if we aren’t happy with the results of these changes).

Nerf Illumination again and I’ll hurt you.  Although you might make the HL spammers cry, and for that I’ll laugh, if only because I met a few too many “OMG THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO HEAL” ones.  But seriously, no, don’t go there. 

SA?  I don’t get too much mana back from that anyway.  Holy pallys don’t get heals from other healers, silly!  You’ll just be hurting the ret pallys!

Must.  Level.  My.  Priest.

Later today: Healer friend Dailies, Sholazar Edition.  Yes, I got off my lazy ass and prepped.  At 6 am this morning.  PROOF THAT I LOVE YOU GUYS.

, ,

  1. #1 by Sientina on February 19, 2009 - 11:54 am

    “Although you might make the HL spammers cry, and for that I’ll laugh, if only because I met a few too many “OMG THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO HEAL” ones. ”

    I agree :P

    And we must think alike because I have a list of healer friendly dailys, typed up and everything. :)

  2. #2 by Holy Dueg on February 19, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    As far as disc goes, I think you’re gonna be fine for a little bit since it seems Blizz is a-ok with Disc priests having gobs of mana coming out the yin-yang at the moment. If they do decide to take a swipe at that, you’ll prolly see them looking closely at either rapture or mental strength, but not both… I think.

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on February 19, 2009 - 1:49 pm

    Mental Strength is just an int boost-I don’t know why they’d play with that. Rapture, maybe. Though they just fixed Rapture so that it was returning mana properly (ie, more so than before) so I don’t know.

    Right now, having Ron (Preamus, disc priest) and myself in a raid healing is hilarious, becuase you can pretty much chain pull into eternity. Which is just as well because we can’t seem to pull only one pat, ever.

  4. #4 by Holy Dueg on February 19, 2009 - 2:49 pm

    That’s why they would nerf mental strength, since Rapture gives you returns depending on you mana total, those two talents have super awesome fun happy synergy together. If I had to bet money though, they would prolly nerf rapture first. Most likely a moot point though since they don’t seem to be interested in nerfing either.

  5. #5 by Light on February 19, 2009 - 3:15 pm

    I’m kind of scared how this nerf is going to work for my druid. I always, always run out of mana during boss fights in Naxx. The holy paladin I’m teamed with, never ever. So long as they don’t nerf my innervate things will be fine.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on February 19, 2009 - 3:54 pm

    The changes to spirit regen will, indeed, affect Innervate…if I recall Keeva’s post correctly (I linked it in there). She didn’t seem terribly worried about it, though.

    I think healers all over will be tightening up, though. Which is not nessicarily a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

