Amber’s Weekend Adventures

“I want another tank.  But not necessarily one with great gear.  I want a humble tank.”
“You want a tank whose loyalty you can buy with epics?  Gotcha.”
-gist of a conversation between my GM and myself

It’s funny…we lost our beartank because he claimed beartanks were broken and went Boomkin.  Yet I did 25 man Naxx with a bear MT just fine.  Bwuh?  I mean I appreciate having a pet Critchickn, but tanks are always a twitchier thing to recruit a tank as opposed to a DPS.

Stupid Randy, making me work harder.

Anyway: be proud of me, folks.  I prepared for today’s post over the weekend!  It’ll be a mixture of observations and sillyness.  Though that’s nothing new, I suppose.

So let’s say you’re a disc priest.  You find yourself in a situation with lots of mobs, but you have limitless mana and you’re not likely to die.  What’s the first thing that pops into your mind to do?

Why yes, I was endlessly amused. 

Dear Blizzard,

Priests are not for eating, no matter how deliciously cute my draenei is.

I also wandered around on my warrior over the weekend.  She was minding her own business, picking flowers instead of getting to whatever quest objective was next on her list, when she came across this…curious sight.

Let’s see.  There’s a path…leading from the Wolvar huts…to this little empty place…filled…with poop.

So despite the fact that bathrooms for the playable races don’t exist, the Wolvar get a potty place?  I don’t know about you, but my dog preferred to do crazy things like shit on trees (you know that bush with poop on it in Nagrand?  My dog totally would have done that). 

At least they’re neater than the ogres, who just shit all over the place, willy nilly.  But seriously, WTF?  I tried really hard to catch Lyestra mid-shrug, but my SS timing was off.  All well. 

Uh, aren't you forgetting something?

Thursday night, post OS, I was doofing around when I saw a Naxx25 looking for just a DPS and a healer.  Sweet.  I whispered, got it, and was pleased to walk into Happy Pug Land: it wasn’t a fully pugged Naxx, but a mostly-guild run just filled out by a couple of random people.  Potential for not fail!

Indeed we did really well, clearing two wings + Patch, and only wiping on Patch once.  No loot, and it was all part of  Naxx Heroic that I’d done (once) before, but it was fun.  When they said they’d reconvene on Sunday to finish, I was more than happy to reappear like a good little pug.

I have to say, I love this bunch of people.  On Sunday went went and tackled Military wing and the rest of Abom-wiped a couple of times on Thadd, but I honestly don’t think they’d killed him before.  I know the Sapph kill (1 shot!) was a first time for them.  They practically threw loot at me this time (their loot system was very fair, despite one pug leaving in a huff because tier pieces weren’t separate from other loot and he wasn’t allowed to win both, o noes).  We didn’t down KT (third phase = OMG WTF BBQ?!?!?!?!!!!!!), but I doubt it’ll take them long.  They were fun and didn’t mind my jumping in and teasing with all the rest.  They said they’d be more than happy to have me back some time and I think I will save my Naxx25 raid ID for them until we do our own.  

So kudos to <Celestial Darkness> and gratz on the progress!

Now if only I could find a tank recruit.  And some more DPS….where the hell are the hunters, even?  I mean seriously?  One of the reasons I was willing to flop my main back from my hunter to my pally was because there were no hunter slots!  Ever!  Anywhere!  Now we’d be happy to have one and there aren’t any?!  CRUEL WORLD, I HATE YOU.

Even if they all rerolled DK, I don’t know where THEY are either.  We have two.  One DPS, one tank. 

Yet I’ve recruited a whole bunch of healers-you know, those things you can’t find?

Whyyyyy?!

/boggle

, , ,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on February 23, 2009 - 11:14 am

    And now, back by popular request, bad Dueg poetry:

    *places black turleneck*

    Amber’s weekend, full of Naxx,
    Got herself some purple slacks,
    But her Nelf just can’t recoup,
    From finding all that wolvar poop.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on February 23, 2009 - 1:47 pm

    /facepalm

    …and why do I get all this parenting stuff in my related post links?!

    I mean I know that being a guild officer is kind of like parenting, but seriously?

    Was it the poop mention? I dun get it.

  3. #3 by Myssidia on February 23, 2009 - 1:53 pm

    I dare you to find a spell *more* win than Holy Nova.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on February 23, 2009 - 1:57 pm

    I think we’ll just start calling you mom…

    Gratz on the pug! I’m jealous as hell! We still can’t get Thad down. We still have about 4 people that die from not switching sides on time which lowers our dps to unacceptable levels. Could be a gear check. Definitely a skill check. Most probably an intelligence check. Queue epic fail!

    (FYI: Not to keep hopes up, but you can always pray. Got DPS. Got heals. Willing to switch to tanking, but you’d have to be dead desperate!)

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on February 23, 2009 - 3:24 pm

    KyKy-did ya SEE the convo at top? That’s seriously about how it went. We’re not “desperate” as much as “willing to help”, though.

    Steve taught me to tank when I originally transferred. If for some reason you got the hankering to try, you’d be hard pressed to find a better enviornment to do it in!

    But the heals would be nice, too. And the deeps. Whatev!

    @Myssidia – Why does it have to be so cool and yet so useless? XD

  6. #6 by kyrilean on February 25, 2009 - 11:17 am

    LMAO! As for hankering? Not so much. As for buying my services with epics? ROFLMAO!

    I research gear as to where it drops, then I try to go after it, but I can never remember who drops what or what I REALLY need. It’s more the mentality that “OOH there’s an upgrade. Hope I get it…Hey is that a copper on the ground over there?! Woohoo! What were we talking about?”

    I can never do upgrade posts because I can never remember the name of the item, what boss dropped it, or what I really got as a bonus out of it. Ahhh, apathy! :)

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on February 25, 2009 - 11:21 am

    Ky-ah, then you are familiar with my gearing methods as well!

    I never do gear posts either. :P Some of that involves math, and MATH IS SCARY.

Leave a Reply

