On Failing Less While Healing KT

Or, Amber States the Obvious
As usual, this will be mostly holy-pally flavored, with some disc priest ponderings mixed in.  But the UI tips work for anyone!

The key to being a success healing the Kel’Thuzad fight is a simple one:

Use Holy Shock.  And more than that: use it at the right time.

If HS is something you use a lot of, learn to hold off, and watch for the FB cast.  I’m normally assigned to the tank/off tank, but one eye is always on my chat log.  As soon as I see the alert, off goes HS.  I leave the topping off heals to other healers, but that instant heal is priceless. 

I was lucky enough to be healing our first couple of KT deaths with a disc priest and a resto druid.  While a Flash (of Light OR Heal, for my priesty friends) is quick enough to save FB’d folks, the instant nature of HS and Penance are too good to ignore.  Use ’em and abuse ’em, and it should help reduce deaths from lag and other unfortunate mishaps.   Squishies, don’t forget your bubbles.

Another important key is: know who the fuck to heal, ASAP!

In 10 mans it’s a sight easier-after all, it’s a much smaller group to look through.  But most UIs will let you do custom highlighting, and this is really what you need to suceed.  For more on this, check out Penance Priest.  I use X-perl, which does allow you to use custom highlighting…but uh, I can’t get it to work.  I’ll play with it some more, but in the meantime, DBM throws marks up on the affected members and I can see those on my raid frames just fine.  Looking for the skull is easier than looking for, say, Sidearm the Nubcake Critchicken.

, , ,

  1. #1 by kyrilean on February 25, 2009 - 1:40 pm

    I look for the icon on the X-Perl bar that looks like the ice shards from the Hodir daily. That’s my cue to Holy Shock the target.

    Instant heals are absolutely necessary. Anything to get the target more than 4% of their health back. Remember the iceblock does 104% damage maximum. We usually have druids cast some sort of HoT on the target while priests and pallies do the insta-casts.

  2. #2 by Holy Dueg! on February 25, 2009 - 2:29 pm

    Yup, as a holy priest, I’m expected to have either PoM or CoH up and ready to cast on anyone ice blocked and in range of me. A note on DBM: If you have it installed and type /range, a little box called range check pops up and tells you who’s within 10 yards of you. For KT, you want that box to be empty in order to avoid chain ice blocks or ‘asplody hugs from overly affectionate disc priests.

  3. #3 by Myssidia on February 25, 2009 - 4:28 pm

    Well… Sadly I haven’t experienced KT yet because my guild refuses to go to Naxx on the weekdays when I can actually raid, but… this is nice to know for when I get there =] PoM – Penance to the rescue

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on February 26, 2009 - 10:00 am

    Yeah, I love the range box. I just need to teach our mage to love the range boss. But it’s weird to tell those sort of things to your boyfriend’s former boss. XD But less weird than telling it to your boyfriend’s current boss?

    But the range box won’t save me from Ron’s hugs, Dueg, if he’s going after me on purpose!

    Damn jealous priests.

    I’ve yet to figure out a good way to effectively save the melee from chained FBs…

  5. #5 by Elleiras on February 26, 2009 - 10:49 am

    The first time I attempted to two-heal Kel’thuzad on 10-man, I let my partner — a holy priest — die. Twice. >.>

    (Sorry, Dave!)

    So I started saving my Nature’s Swiftness cooldown — just for him. If anyone else got iceblocked, I’d just Riptide > Lesser Healing Wave, knowing that I could count on Dave to throw some heals at them, too. But if Dave got blocked, he’d get the instant-cast Nature’s Swiftness > Healing Wave.

    No angels = happy shaman. :D

Leave a Reply

