Officers, Burnout, and Different Mindsets

I don’t seem to burn out the way other people do.  That’s not to say I don’t burn out-see this entire blog?  How it’s about a holy pally AND a disc priest?  Yeah, that’s because I’m bored as hell with my plate-encased lady of the light.  She’ll remain around-and yes, she’ll remain holy with ret as her dual spec, and yes, I’ll probably heal some raids with her-but after four years I crave a different set of buttons to push.

But I seem to tackle guild-related things differently.   Being tired of my paladin does not dim my drive to help the guild.  I’m a very people-oriented person.  I’m also often mindful of how my actions-or the actions of others-ripple across the guild as a whole.

Take, for instance, the posting of raids.  Lately they haven’t been posted on time.  Now, I know there’s an OS every week.  Josh knows there’s an OS every week.  A large number of us, in fact, know there’s one every week.  But not everyone does, so it’s important that it gets posted.  Not posting them on time leads to things like last night, where because Tkon didn’t see our OS, he pugged one, and we came up short healers.   Not only did OS+1 not happen, but OS PERIOD didn’t happen.  Annoying, when we do have people who need gear from there.

When Josh doesn’t put up raids, he’s not thinking of it the way I do.  He’s just like “Oh, they know the routine, I’ll put it up after this mission in Dawn of War II.  It’ll be fine.”  Which turns into two days later and no raid, but that’s not my point.  My point is that, that’s the end of his thinking.

Me?  Oh, sometimes I wish I could stop my mind there.  No, I go: “The raids posted late!  This means that people can’t make plans.  This means that people won’t see it.   It means they might not show up and the raid might not happen.  I don’t need shit from this raid anymore but I know others do-it’s important!  And what if a recruit sees a late posted raid with few sign ups?  They ask me about it!  This doesn’t look as good, and it makes my job of recruiting harder!  Posting raids isn’t hard-why the hell don’t they do it?!”  And thus, when raids repeatedly get posted late and I /rage at Josh, he stares at be blankly not understanding why, exactly, this is all so upsetting.  Don’t people KNOW theres’ an OS raid on Thursdays, anyway?  He doesn’t keep the mental inventory of people that I do-he’s not thinking of X the new recruit, Y who’ll pug ANYTHING he’s not sure we’re doing as a guild, and Z who needs to arrange things with his wife.

Of course, someone has to think that way.  I just need to watch my reactions, and carefully explain to Josh why it is exactly that his girlfriend seems to be going stark raving mad over a minor detail.  And I did, if you’re wondering-explain, that is, the stark raving mad bit is a slight exaggeration.  Wise man that he is, he gave my more organized self the ability to post raids.

Problem solved: he recognzied his weakness and my strength, and now things get done without anyone wanting to kill each other.  Josh isn’t a bad officer.  He’s a great tank and a great raid leader (and a great boyfriend!)-he’s just not as organized as I am, nor does he have the time to take care of little  details like I do. 

The current issues with the guild will, I hope, be as easily solved.  Josh is burning out and needs to step back.  Steve is also burning out, and stressed for RL reasons, and needs to step back temporarily.  But that’s the benefit to multiple officers-I’m still here and ready.  Warla’s here, and Cinnia, Zeren, Sidearm.  We’re not going to do without two of our best tanks-but we can shoulder some of the guild details for a bit.  I am not good at leading raids, but I can put one together so that things start on time.   I just have to remember that they’re not going to draw all the connections that I do, and explain why I think that situation X needs to be addressed before I get too frustrated with what I see as slacking.   Differences are a strength, not a weakness, unless you allow them to drive you apart.

And I’ll end this with an amusing side note : wordpress’s spell check doesn’t recognize blog as a word.

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on February 27, 2009 - 11:11 am

    Our guilld has a slightly different style when it comes to raids. We have scheduled raid nights and everyone who’s a raider is expected to show up for the night. If you’re not going to be there, then it’s your responsibility to post on the forums saying you’re gonna be late or absent. Of course, 9 times out of 10 people who are absent don’t post, but then we get to ridicule them publicly, so that’s always fun. The point is, when all the responsibility is on officers, it can exacerbate burn out, but by giving individuals in the guild their own, it helps to promote initiative and let’s you truly see who cares.

  2. #2 by Elleiras on February 27, 2009 - 11:40 am

    Oh my …

    I think you just described me and Keaton. To a T. Your point about a “mental inventory” is a good one, too. I had some notes written on the subject (really, just a trim from another blogpost that was getting too ranty), so the entire post struck a chord with me.

    I’d love to see you take on Gevlon. ;)

  3. #3 by kyrilean on February 27, 2009 - 12:46 pm

    Without consistency no member will trust an officer.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on February 27, 2009 - 2:07 pm

    @KyKy: We trust Josh to lead raids and tank. Just not to post raids on time. Haha.

    @DuegNotDoug: We prefer sign ups just because of the way we juggle the two Naxx10 runs. We move people between the two as availability changes and to prevent the Good Naxx vs Scrub Naxx divide forming, etc. The “show up or post” method worked for my first raiding guild, but that was a very different flavor raiding enviornment.

    @Ellerias: There are days when I feel _really_ sorry for Josh after I try to explain my mental lists and leaps of logic to him. XD

  1. My Mental Inventory « Fel Fire

Leave a Reply

