Healing Meters Are Funny

Here’s the healing for Naxx 1, Day 1 on Wednesday.  This chart makes me giggle.  Y’know why?

The priest on top is Disc and the priest on the bottom is Holy.   I’m not really sure why that’s so-I haven’t sat down and picked away the WWS yet-but I think the main problem is that Ron and I are too strong a pair to fit in a third healer.  Carry a weak third healer for gear?  Sure.  Keep 3 geared healers occupied?  No.  I will say that our saving of the chained FB folks on night two was GREAT though.  We lost the tank at one point, but that was the melee’s mistake in being too close.  We saved all three from FB, but Atropus bit it after another hit from the boss.

Thankfully for the sanity of the healing team (though not the DPS), we’re going to be two healing it starting next week.   Ron’s mentioned rotating people out-which is great, in theory.  Naxx 1 still progresses further than Naxx 2.   There’s other healers who can use KT/Sapph drops.  It’s just a matter of juggling who signs up when, and making sure that we keep everyones strengths and weakness in mind.  Oh, and of course I prefer to raid with Zoja and Kilya prefers to raid with Manoishi, effectively tying two of our healers to a tank and a DPS that are a smidge harder to move around. 

See: previous entries touching upon my “mental inventory”!

And maybe I don’t WANT to surrender my disc priest! 

Naxx25 should be…interesting.  I think I’ll take nominal healing lead for that, since with 6 healers we’ll need actual coordination.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on March 3, 2009 - 1:12 pm

    There’s one of three things going on here: Either Mr Holy isn’t using CoH and PoM often enough, he’s too slow on the whack part (which is what I’m thinking since he has practically 50% overheal), or his gear is just crap. We’ll leave out the “he’s just a schmo” theory. Also, he needs to dispell magic and cure disease more often, having a goose egg in the decurse column is unacceptable for a priest.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on March 3, 2009 - 3:04 pm

    Day 1, Pictured: http://wowwebstats.com/lyv6uxvbdh3ye
    Day 2: http://wowwebstats.com/ygho24xnlupmk

    One run I had over 200 dispels and the priest had uh…13, I think. “Because paladins beat me to it anyway.”

    THAT holy priest didn’t say that, though.

    Ron beat the crap out of me dispelling this week-shame on me!

    I don’t know enough about holy priests to puzzle out what ours are doing…

  3. #3 by Esdras on March 4, 2009 - 5:31 am

    Agree with Dueg a bit.

    Its the player more than the spec, i topped healing meters as disc and holy back when disc was not even as good as it is now, i even beat a shaman in 25 man raid before.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on March 4, 2009 - 8:46 am

    Ron (Preamus) is an AMAZING priest. This is why I look at the fact that I’M below him and just laugh. If I’m half as good as he is at 80 I’ll be pleased.

  5. #5 by Holy Dueg! on March 4, 2009 - 9:47 am

    Your holy priest isn’t switching up targets enough. There’s absolutely no excuse for the disc priest to have a higher focus than the holy priest on the second night. It kind of looks like your disc priest went raid heals and holy was MT healer (I’m assuming Atropus from these numbers). You can see improvement, but no self respecting Holy priest should be satisfied that a paladin is beating them on the healing charts for a full raid. That’s not a knock at paladins, but raid healing tends to up our numbers.

    From what I’m seeing on the charts, they’re using Prayer of Healing way too much and Prayer of Mending too little. PoH only works on your own group and isn’t “smart” like CoH. It should be used situationally and with care because it’s a huge mana sink and often enough more than half gets wasted (which is why the overheal is through the roof). PoM should be getting tossed pretty regularly during large pulls and boss fights. It’s one of our best baseline heals, end of story.

    Finally, I’m sorry, but thinking that you shouldn’t cast a spell just because the paladin is faster is a bullshit excuse for not doing your job. Our disease cure ticks 4 times over 20s, so even if you don’t hit the initial cure, having it up on the target can cure a reapply of disease. And if you’re late on dispel, it won’t let you cast it, so it’s not like you’re wasting mana or a global cd. Sorry about the novel, but dumb priests make Dueg mad. /rant off

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on March 4, 2009 - 10:45 am

    Atropus and Zoja were our tanks for that run. “MT” was situational.

    Both of our holy priests seem to focus on MT heals. In the presence of a HOLY PALLY and a DISC PRIEST this seems, quite frankly, stupid. But yes, Preamus probably did swap to raid healing-he’s an adaptable soul. So have I. I’m not sure what Lil’s history is, but Tkon is another “old school” raider like me and I think he’s still healing like he’s in MC.

    The cleansing thing is a minor annoyance by comparison. Wrong and/or ineffecient heal choice seems to be the rule of the day. I don’t think that using msotly GHeal in the back of 4H is really good, for instance, judging by the 4 wipes we had.

    Not that I’m perfect. I caused a wipe on Anub on Monday. I am so used to having other healers on the tank with me that I kept up using FoL even during Swarm, when I should have swapped to HL. Ron was OOR helping Lil with the OT, Atropus. But it took all of ONE time for me to go “O snap, dur!” and change.

    I’m almost not looking forward to our first guild Naxx25. 2 holy pallys, 1 disc priest, and 2 holy priests who pretend to be disc priests…thank god for our two trees?

  1. Dr StrangeDueg or: How I Learned to Stop Failing and Love the Win Sauce « Holy Dueg!

Leave a Reply

