Brief Thought on Mana Regen, +2h Naxx Adventures

So I was doing my morning perusing of blogs when in what I can SEE of WoW Insider I catch this quote from Matt:  “We know Resto Shaman mana regeneration is the new standard that all healing classes are going to reach.”

Now, I’ll admit that holy pally and disc priest regen is, right now, insane.  Hell, I had to drink well before Ron did last night in Naxx.  But for years now the pally schtick has been our never ending mana bar.  Holy paladins, while a very CAPABLE healing class, still have a rattlingly empty tool box compared to the others.  Our ability to cast what spells we DID have into infinity was one of our more cherished tools.  I’d be a little upset if they knocked us down to the same level as everyone else for mana regen.  If I have to cast 6 spells to heal a raid up where someone else can cast one or two, then I’d better have the damn mana for it. 

But I’m an exceptionally cranky, bitter paladin.  So let’s move on!

Last night was our first attempt at two healing Naxx.  Yes, our first, because for some reason everyone was terrified of the idea.  Let me tell you, it was great to not be BORED!  And I smacked Ron back to the bottom of the healing meters.  Because, you know, top/bottom of the healing matters totally matters with two of us, amirite??!?!

I have to say that it went very well, despite the beginning we had.  We were down two good DPS-my favorite DPS DK EVAR had a work thing (hai Rivyn) and the rogue had a last minute job interview.  Our hunter went /afk and never came back, and he’s our top DPS.  Oh, and we were short a DPS to begin with.  We ended up snagging the pug rogue we took last week (good guy!  Stealing process begins: now!), an adorable yet completely noobish critchicken from in guild, and an undergeared hunter alt of a guildie because we were apparently that desperate. 

And by “completely noobish” critchicken I mean she didn’t know where to look to see her debuffs for the Four Horsemen.  But she’s adorable and sweet and she gave us the crit buff so we luffed her and handed her purples.  She only blew herself up on Thadd, bless her feathery heart.   She did make the jump, which is something some of our normal raiders can’t do.  I don’t know what RON’S excuse for blowing up on Thad was though.  Zomg, epic fail preest!

Anyway.  So despite a pug and some scrub DPS, it was a good run.  We’ll see how Sapph and KT go on Monday, and how Maly goes tonight.

Yes, there will be a holy pally and a disc priest two healing Maly.   Let us test your “bring the player not the class” bit, Blizzard!  LET US TEST IT.

…but yes, we do have a third healer on standby.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Myssidia on March 5, 2009 - 3:14 pm

    >_> Me and a hol(l)y pally two healed Sarth, which shouldn’t be all that much raid wide damage, but between fail tanks who can’t move out of firewalls and voidzones and grab add aggro and dps who can’t move out of said enivronmental hazards, I ended up doing way too much raid healing and actually had to pop my shadowfiend!

  2. #2 by Light on March 5, 2009 - 3:54 pm

    My first experience with raiding ever was the second healer in Naxx. I think our guild overestimates my abilities, but the other was a holy paladin who is uber and we did great.

    Now I fear for both of us, since we’re the only two healer mains in a very small guild. No ret pally, no survival hunter, no spriest. No replenish. :(

  3. #3 by Ana on March 5, 2009 - 4:34 pm

    Wait this is 10man Naxx right? I swear I am not trying to sound sarcastic or anything but from the start when we were all scrubs we’ve only had two healers. It has made for some interesting maneuvering on 4H when we weren’t geared yet but really I guess we assumed that’s what everyone did. I am going to go give our healers a hug.

  4. #4 by Light on March 5, 2009 - 4:37 pm

    @Ana, 10 man Naxx is supposed to be started with 3 healers… something I never knew going in either.

  5. #5 by Esdras on March 6, 2009 - 5:27 am

    I think thats why naxx was so easy.

    Healers had silly manna so only needed 2 of them which meant extra dps which meant easier fights.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on March 6, 2009 - 8:31 am

    I remember the times when holy priests seemed to be perpetually OOM, screaming for innervates over vent…

  7. #7 by acedanger on March 6, 2009 - 8:41 am

    The last time I’d ever attempted to heal anything, I was level 61 running ramparts.

    Last night, I healed Naxx 10, only my second time ever (in Naxx). The first time, it was me and another holy pally (PvP specced, no BoL). That did not go well.

    Last night we ran with a holy priest, resto shaman and a holy pally (me). I had a lot more fun since it was a lot less frustrating for me.

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on March 6, 2009 - 9:14 am

    @acedanger: Two holy paladins healing Naxx can be a wee bit tricky. There’s just enough aoe damage situations to make things dicey.

    As you venture into Naxx more often, the relief from having three healers share the load turns into boredem. Having been clearing it for a few weeks now, I prefer to two heal it, else I just stand around looking pretty. :D But at first, oh yes, three are great.

Leave a Reply

