Bubbles vs Maly

Last night, the Brotherhood of Oblivion collected some of its finest players and ventured forth into new territory.  Well, new to those of us who didn’t think that Maly pugs sounded like a good idea.   That was a lot of us.

“Holy paladins can have a hard time on Maly,” some said, and I can see why.  Certainly I wouldn’t want to take two holy paladins in there and try to heal it when we’re starting out.

But a holy paladin and a disc priest?  Sure!  Because two “single target healers” in an aoe damage intensive fight when we’re just starting out is a brilliant idea.

On paper, no.  But I r gud healr, and Ron is amazing (he’s my Olgas of disc priests-remind me to explain that later).   He respecced and reglyphed slightly to give his Renew a bit more oomph-while normally a very meh spell for disc priests, in this case it was damned useful.  We coordinated who’d prioritize what, as well.   

It was fine!  We’d brought two tanks for one reason or another (GM tankadin and RL prot warrior-neither one really wanting to miss our first stab at this), and after the first attempt Mach tossed on his healing gear.  So I suppose, technically, we were 2.5 healing it, but it was still TWO paladins and a disc priest.  :P  We made some great progress on only a couple of attempts until we reached the cockblock that is phase three.

There were some UI failures.  X-perl doesn’t seem to want to show that many “pets” (drakes), and some people didn’t have their pet boxes even showing.   My prospective future in-laws cost us some time by choosing then as a good time to call (/facepalm).   Their cable modem died and it’s always Josh to the rescue! 

But anyway.  I was content with our progress, for the most part.   I think I might have to either autofollow Josh, since I fail at navigating 3D space, or let someone else heal.  Certainly, some more Aces High will be in order.

I enjoy glass chewing though, as long as progress is made.  Leftover insanity from my days as a “hard core” raider, I suppose.

,

  1. #1 by Tart on March 6, 2009 - 10:33 am

    Yeah, our first few tries at Maly were a disaster as well. The auto follow helps tremendously. And all I do for healing on the drakes is set my UI to only show my pet. If you just keep your drake targeted and build up about 3 or 4 combo points of the renewish ability (button 3) and then press the group heal it seems to work really well for keeping everyone alive so long as they are all grouped up together. You tend to lose too much on the AoE heal if you are targeting everyone’s drakes and trying to heal them that way. (Plus not seeing everyone’s pet health helps my OCD-trying-to-fill-bars compulsion)

    But grats on getting to phase 3! Especially with no real AoE heals for that vortex. :)

  2. #2 by dorgol on March 6, 2009 - 10:39 am

    I also do the “target self and spam 3 3 3 4” while watching for the “omg he’s targeting me not gonna die press 5 press 5 press 5” moments.

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on March 6, 2009 - 10:51 am

    @Tart: Who needs AoE heals when we have bubbles? /tosses Sacred Shield around

    I’ll have to try the targeting-self bit. It would help me to ignore x-perl’s dumb, too.

  4. #4 by Pixiedark on March 19, 2009 - 2:58 pm

    This may be a bit late, but here’s hoping it might help with future runs. It works wonders in 10 man as well only we still shielded ourselves. http://openswitch.org/2009/02/22/downing-malygos-with-macros/ I actually added a /target (raid leader) prior to the follow just to find them a bit easier.

  5. #5 by Pixiedark on March 19, 2009 - 3:05 pm

    I just realized I don’t think it says anything about the shield in the link, but you have so much healing going on with the macros and everyone is so close that you don’t actually even need to use the shield (5) button on your drake.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on March 19, 2009 - 3:33 pm

    @Pixiedark I’ll take a peek at it before Maly tonight. :D

Leave a Reply

