Screw DST.

Browing my feed this morning, I came across this tidbit:

The blues have been very open lately about the direction that Blizz is taking and the goals that they’re trying to achieve. Three, in particular, come to mind when considering patch 3.1 and its effect on tanks and healers in particular:

  1. Bring the player, not the class.
  2. Healing should be more interactive and interesting.
  3. The tanks need to be on par in order to satisfy #1, in terms of performance and stats, yet they do not want to further homogenize the classes.

Obviously, Blizzard has not finished making the 3.1 changes, but we can already see the ways in which they are tackling these goals. …

How are you feeling so far about the direction Blizzard is taking your main character? Even if it isn’t perfect yet, are you excited about what you think your class will look like, or are you worried about your favorite spec/role?

Sorry, I’m not seeing how they’re making paladin healing more interesting.  In fact, it seems that the one ability that I’ve got to spread around and soften AoEdamage with?  Yeah, they’re making it so I can’t use that on more than one person anymore.   So if interesting means harder then yeah, I guess they’re giving holy paladins some loving.  I either toss around the big heal, or the little heal.  I can put beacon on the tank.  I can…oh.  Wait.  That’s pretty much all I do.   I can still put a mite more thought into things by anticipating incoming damage (“Hey, these mobs whirlwind.  I’ll Sacred Shield the rogue and the shammy because they always eat floor around here otherwise.”/ “Hey Vortex, let’s make everyone shiny!”) and pray they leave me that little toy, after all.

So for the record, I’m bored senseless with pally healing, because it’s not that different from when I was a wee baby pally.  Little heal little heal little heal OH SHIT big heal big heal big heal little heal little heal little heal…zzzzzz.

Speaking of being a wee baby pally, interesting tidbit:

Ambrosine was “born” in early January of ’05-I don’t remember the exact date, but she was spotted on the 5th at level 14.  She hit 60 in Feb of ’06.  Yes, I’m a damned slow leveler.  By March 25th she was in a guild called Unified, wiping repeatedly in MC and BWL.  So by that date this month, I’ll have been raiding for 3 years almost exclusively as a holy pally.  Oi!

Incidentally, this also means that I’ve been playing for a year longer than my boyfriend.  This amuses me for some reason. 

Even if they break disc priests, I’ll stick with my Lyr because at least Penance looks neat.   I’ll take what I can get.

/cranky healer

, , ,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on March 9, 2009 - 9:22 am

    The problem is that they don’t want it to be whack a mole, healer on automatic style healing. But if they complicate it too much then they’re going to turn off people who might switch to dps in the end, creating even more of a vaccuum in the healer area. I know I’ll never dump holy or disc for shadow spec, but at the same time, I do feel nervous about anything involving huge sweeping changes to play style. And it looks like that might be what’s going on.

  2. #2 by Light on March 9, 2009 - 9:24 am

    I don’t see how they can make healing less spammy and interesting unless they stop spike damage and the OMG healz nao!!!! of DPS standing in things they shouldn’t.

    WTB new look for my tree please. His wilted brown leaf look is very depressing. Lifebloom nerf makes him cry.

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on March 9, 2009 - 9:32 am

    I’d WELCOME a complication to the holy paladin healing style, because it’s entirely too simplistic at the moment.

    And yes, tree needs a new look. There’s a reason my druid is kitty.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on March 9, 2009 - 1:35 pm

    I was happy with pally healing pre-wrath. I was happy with pally healing post 3.0 even more so with added tools. I’m not exactly happy with some of the attempts to make all healer types good at all roles. Where’s the fun in that?

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on March 9, 2009 - 2:06 pm

    Well so far, all the healing classes seem pretty well and distinct to me. But they need to do some tweaking under the “Bring the Player” banner.

    And just because everything can do X, doesn’t mean they’ll all do X equally well…

  6. #6 by Light on March 9, 2009 - 2:45 pm

    They’re making druids less of a HoT healer and more of a direct healer by forcing us to use nourish. I don’t like this normalization of healers.

    Yeah we don’t do flash healing well, but why do we have to be forced to now? It’ll just make you want to bring a priest or a paladin. Is that what they wanted?

    If they are going to do that then I think they should give paladins a real AOE heal.

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on March 9, 2009 - 3:20 pm

    I keep begging for one, Light, and they just say GET BACK IN YOUR CORNER, BISH.

Leave a Reply

