Disc Priest Myths Busted

-Disc priests will never top healing meters.
As posted previously: WRONG!
At the same time, these were strange circumstances, and a disc priest at the bottom of the meters is not necessarily Doing it Wrong.

-Disc priests can’t raid heal.
Yeah see the above pic?  Ron (Preamus) beat the tar out of me on healing because he was raid healing.  We’ve duo healed Naxx and Maly (er, mostly) so far, and due to a priests wider variety of tools, he typically takes on raid healing for me.  We only lost one person on Sapph, and that was due to a weird deep breath bug (plz to not be killing the huntar standing behind the ice block, kthx).  Naturally we’re both healing the raid, but he can beat the hell out of my haste+FoL spam.  Now, a disc priest may not like raid healing.  Nor are they as good as most other classes.  But if you have a holy pally and a disc priest, or two disc priests, show up to your raid?  Go for it!  We’re proof that with our “take what you’ve got and run with it” approach is capable of content clears.  It might take us a little bit longer, but we’ll get there and have fun in the process.

That said, Ron is a FANTASTIC disc priest.  I’m ecstatic that he joined us and looking forward to him teaching me How To Not Fail At Disc.  Four levels to go!

,

  1. #1 by Light on March 10, 2009 - 11:23 am

    Disc priests intrigue me, I’m glad to know they aren’t horrible at raid healing.

    Once I get my priest to 80 I will have to make his second spec disc. I really have no interest in holy.

  2. #2 by kyrilean on March 10, 2009 - 12:09 pm

    In BC I was almost always at the top or right near the top of the heal meters with the lowest overheals. Once Wrath hit, I found myself beat by druids and most priests and with the most overheals. Granted the overheals now are because of JoL, but still not sure why the entire flip.

  3. #3 by Morticis on March 10, 2009 - 1:38 pm

    I don’t know why people hate on Disc Priests so much. When I run five mans I want a disc priest. When I do my 10/25 man raids I do my best to grab a disc priest because I would much rather have the damage absorbed by shields.

    I have an 80 DK tank who owes many a save to Disc priest’s and a 74 priest who I will more than likely run a Disc/Shadow spec (I’ve run her on shadow since level 1).

    I find the best way to spread the awesomeness of Disc is to not tell people that the priest is Disc. Most don’t even notice penance going off and I have to tell them they were just healed by a disc priest.

  4. #4 by Holy Dueg! on March 10, 2009 - 2:04 pm

    All this proves is that priests are the most awesome classes of all time and forever. Sorry everyone else. Well, not really.

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on March 10, 2009 - 2:15 pm

    @Dueg – what can I say? I’m a convert, after all.

    @Morticis – Often I’ll be asked if I’m holy only to reply “I’m a healer.” People who are hating on disc priests are probably in the same little world as the people who think tankadins still need spellpower.

    @Kyr – I’ve found that it varies wildly on the situation. I’ve been on the bottom with the most OH. I’ve been on the top with the least. It all depends on what I’m doing, and who I’m healing with. Ron and I have gotten DESTROYED on the meters by a good resto druid, for example. /shrug

    Meters are silly!

    @Light – They’re surprisingly flexible. It’s not terribly mana effecient for them, true, but it’s great to know you CAN do it if you HAVE to.

  6. #6 by dorgol on March 10, 2009 - 3:00 pm

    My Raid experience has been somewhat depressing: I’m the only Holy Paladin in a raid with a Resto Shammy, several Priests, and at least one Resto Druid. To make things worse – I’m playing the game on an old laptop and pulling a massive 7 FPS (thus my reactions are naturally slow).

    So I just try not to look at the meters.

    Oh, and I died on Saph behind an Ice Block… because the punk dragon dropped another Ice Block on one of the other guys behind the same Ice Block.

  7. #7 by kyrilean on March 11, 2009 - 12:06 pm

    @ Dueg – “If you only knew the power of the Dark Side.”

    @ Amber – Instructor Rasuvimaboomermabob…whatever…Beacon + Holy Light spam ftw!!!

    @ Dorgol – fyi, until Blizzard decides to fix it, you can run all the way to the edge on top of the grating and avoid the blast, whether behind an ice block or not. :) If you’re tank does this I suggest he moves as close to the door as he can so Saph’s already turned away from raid though…it can get ugly otherwise.

  8. #8 by nigiri on July 30, 2009 - 6:56 pm

    Remember that just because a Disc priest tends not to top the healing meters, that doesn’t mean they are not as useful for healing raids as other classes. In fact the last VoA 10 man run I did, there were two Disc priests in the group. We may not heal as much, but no one mitigates as much damage as we do. That means that a Disc priest keeps the raid members from taking damage as much or more than they actually physically heal.

    It’s not a matter of taking a Disc priest if you have no other choice, it’s a matter of understanding they are healing by way of not letting raid members take damage. Especially now that Druids and Warriors can gain rage while shielded.

  9. #9 by Christel on August 2, 2013 - 11:28 pm

    I really question exactly why you labeled this posting, “Disc
    Priest Myths Busted | I Like Bubbles”. In
    any event . I personally appreciated it!Many thanks,
    Abdul

Leave a Reply

