Raiding 101: How To Not Utterly Fail

-Download a Threat Meter.  Watch It.
Yes, even you healers.  It will warn you when your mage is about to tank again.  DPS, it will keep your tanks from killing you (if you use it correctly, anyway).  Tanks, it will let you know when you need mysteriously lose your taunt button.

-Download a Boss Mod.  Pay Attention To It.
You can’t rely on someone to call out everything on vent, and vent lags.  Failing that, learn to PAY ATTENTION in general.  Holy shit!  Someone is pinging their map on Maexxna?  I wonder why?  Oh look someone died.  I wonder how that happened?

-Repair Before The Raid
“Hold on guys, my helm is broken,” is not something I want to hear three bosses into a raid.

Gem Your Gear
-Seriously, people.  I mean even I get kind of lazy about enchants (there’s just nothing great for chest most of the time), but gem your shit.  A little bit of research never killed anyone.  Google: it is your friend.

Don’t Stand In Shit That Hurts
-Because your healers will rez you, then kill you again otherwise.

Enchant Your Gear
-Because everyone knows the quickest way to get an upgrade is to finally get around to enchanting something (true story: I finally enchant my chest, and…get…a replacement that night).

Know Where Your Debuffs Are Shown
-…seriously, people.  “I didn’t know my polarity changed!”  Also kind of related to the Boss Mod edict.  If you’re too distracted to pay full attention to debuffs, they’ll usually yell at you.

Healers: Heal People
-If they’ve gotten a Frost Blast on KB, they need heals.
Addendum: Heal the Correct People
-If there’s AOE damage, don’t all focus on the tank, now.

Use Your Shit
-…you have buttons.  Probably more than one or two.  Learn how to make the most of them.  Again, research never killed anybody outside of a few college students.  And that may have actually been drinking related.

Learn Strats
-Google is your friend.  Preferably look up stuff before you get to the boss.  If you fail to do that, don’t read 4chan while the RL is explaining.

Buffs: Love them
-Your Master o’ Fish Feasts might not be there.  So have some tasty treats of your own.  For progression content, I’d better see some damn pot buffs.  Also, pots are useful for those of you who can’t heal yourselves or…use mana.  Naturally holy pallys don’t use their mana bar, ever, so we’re exempt.

If You Can Get Rid of a Debuff, Do It
-Can you decurse?  Cleanse posion, magic, or disease?  Then do it.  Yes, you, mister DPS.  Yes, you, miss healer.  I don’t CARE if someone else can do it too, or faster, or better, or what have you.  Just do it.  ‘Cause you know what?  That other person probably is waiting for YOU to do it, and that sort of shit leads to wipes.

Happy raiding!

…I may or may not have seen every single one of these occur.  Some of them even recently.  And not in pugs.

, ,

  1. #1 by Khaeli on March 10, 2009 - 3:59 pm

    I’d like to add: bring consumables. You can’t assume that the moonkin who always has the fishfeasts will always be there. And I know it’s totally last year’s expansion to do so, but bring mana potions if you know you’re likely to go OOM.

    On a totally unrelated note: why is WordPress telling me that a possibly related post to this one is “Pregnant CSI star worried about breaking the news to boss”

  2. #2 by kyrilean on March 11, 2009 - 7:22 am

    @ Khaeli – I like the fact it’s linking “My Boss Says I Have an Attitude Problem”. It’s making it too easy to tease Amber! :)

    And the consumable thing is just making me laugh @ Amber!!! :) (incoming /gkick)

    @ Amber – “Hold on guys, my helm is broken.” – Do you screenshot everything or just have a photographic memory? LOL!!!

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on March 11, 2009 - 9:10 am

    @Khaeli – I get a lot of “related” posts that are also parenting stuff, which confuses the ever living daylights out of me. /shrug!

    @Kyr – No, I just remember going OMG FAIL!

  4. #4 by Holy Dueg! on March 11, 2009 - 9:52 am

    I’d add one mroe for healers:

    Don’t just heal. Sometimes you might need to dps or dispel. Don’t get tunnel visioned and think that just because you’re a healer you can only heal and not do any other jobs.

  5. #5 by Myssidia on March 11, 2009 - 1:17 pm

    Also a good idea not to listen to dance music while raiding. Despite the smooth sounds of Lady GaGa’s voice, while trying not to let the tank die, it makes your heartrate go up and can cause a panic attack. Not that I’ve ever done that. Ever. <_<

  6. #6 by Saithir on March 11, 2009 - 6:17 pm

    You’ve missed the “don’t stand near any of the dragon’s ends” rule. :)

  1. Not Hardcore But Not Failtastic « I Like Bubbles

Leave a Reply

