Riding the Line: Helping vs Being the Know-it-All

Not touching the PW:Barrier thing.  Nope.  Not going there.

I’m an Angry Healer as well as a Cranky Tank.  As a tank, I expect you to listen to the shit I tell you.  If I say “This boss charges randomly,” and you then turn around after a wipe and go “HE KEPT ATTACKING ME, YOU SUCK AT TANKING YOU CAN’T KEEP AGGRO” then I’m going to be…well…cranky.  And yes I’ve had that happen.  With guildies.  …

But I’ve been a healer far longer than I’ve been a tank, and thus, seem to be even more demanding.  I respect the healer that makes the most of their class.  In the very least, I expect you to pick up when to use what heals-in a fight with more moving, quicker heals are better than longer heals, etc.  If I see you not making the necessary adjustments, I might well open my mouth and say something.  If it’s a class I’m passingly familiar with (o hai there, fellow pallys/priests), I might well dare to make more specific suggestions like, “Hey, this fight involves some stupid amount of moving around, did you try your Little Heal? You seem to die in the middle of casting your Big Heal from standing in the Ouchy Spot.” 

I’m trying to help.  The problem is that it’s often not taken that way, especially by the priests. I can’t blame them-they haven’t seen me go a-priestin’, so they just see a meddling paladin.  They get irritated that I’m being a “know it all”, and I get irritated that we’ve now wiped 3 times on a fight because someone can’t get out of their GHeal spamming habit.   I don’t tend to annoy shammys and druids, because I don’t know enough to speak up-but with priests, I seem to know just enough to get me in trouble.

 And hey, maybe Im wrong.  That’s cool.  Sit there and tell me why your way is actually better than my suggestion and we’ll both be the better for it.  I don’t want to be a bitch.  I just want to help you.  Helping you learn to be flexible helps us all.  

…unfortunately I can’t seem to figure out how to do that. 

I’ll uh, let you guys know when I do, mmkay?

, ,

  1. #1 by Darraxus on March 12, 2009 - 9:14 am

    I guess on a related note, while leveling my resto druid I ran into a pretty good pally tank. Unfortunately he was using a low damage spell power blade. I let him know that Paladins used regular tanking weapons now and pointed him to the Ragemane’s Flipper quest for a nice upgrade. He was very thankful and invited me on several more instances when I was on.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on March 12, 2009 - 10:04 am

    I feel sorry for tankadins, to be honest-3.0 turned everything on its ear. 3.0 turned me from tankadin back to healadin because I no longer had a tanking weapon, suddenly wasn’t at def cap, and was too annoyed to fix it when we had more than enough tanks. :P

    I think my main issue is personality clash. He used to be a raid leader, and is an older, (ex?)-military guy. Not sure how I ever thought he’d take suggestions from me gracefully.

    Though I refer to him grumpily as a Failpriest, he’s not exactly awful-but he’s not a great priest, either. I just wish he’d do something other than primarily cast GHeal on the tank…

  3. #3 by Kestrel on March 12, 2009 - 10:45 am

    It’s pretty cool that Holy Priests can now cast 2x FH for more healing, in less time, than one GH. (Of course, if the GH crits, all bets are off.) ;)

  4. #4 by Holy Dueg! on March 12, 2009 - 11:22 am

    what we do when we have issues with momos not doing their job is the guild leader calls out in vent “why did we wipe?” or “this shouldn’t be so difficult, where are we screwing up?” Usually whoever messed up will let everyone know what they did and will gracefully accept people saying “well try this instead.” If they don’t say anything, you can bet that if someone saw the problem, they’ll let the raid know who did what. That’s when you let the person know your suggestion. If they still get all defensive, at least the guild can see that they’re the cause of the problem, not you, and act accordingly.

  5. #5 by pugnaciouspriest on March 12, 2009 - 9:06 pm

    I guess if a healer tried to tell you how to tank you would feel the same. Its a natural defence mechanism, and protecting our own little unique snowflakeness.
    From a pysch point, they need to be able to ‘respect’ / acknowledge that you can be an authority on the subject. Bring your healer out.. boast a little.. yeah I used to solo heal archi.. ( ok not that extreme.) but maybe drop – Yeah I rolled a heally priest first ect ect..
    Quote other sources of information, hey I hear matticus has this discussion on the mana per heal ratio for greater heals for such nd such.. but do it out of raid like in forums to encourage discussion. If its a post about healers then everyone would eexpect them to read it. Using your other information source means they can’t blame you for the opinion, so are less likely to take it personal.

  6. #6 by pugnaciouspriest on March 12, 2009 - 9:06 pm

    I guess if a healer tried to tell you how to tank you would feel the same. Its a natural defence mechanism, and protecting our own little unique snowflakeness.
    From a pysch point, they need to be able to ‘respect’ / acknowledge that you can be an authority on the subject. Bring your healer out.. boast a little.. yeah I used to solo heal archi.. ( ok not that extreme.) but maybe drop – Yeah I rolled a heally priest first ect ect..
    Quote other sources of information, hey I hear matticus has this discussion on the mana per heal ratio for greater heals for such nd such.. but do it out of raid like in forums to encourage discussion. If its a post about healers then everyone would eexpect them to read it. Using your other information source means they can’t blame you for the opinion, so are less likely to take it personal.

  7. #7 by pugnaciouspriest on March 12, 2009 - 9:07 pm

    ^^ opps double comment.. stupid internets.. pls delete the double :P

Leave a Reply

