The Brotherhood Ventures Into Naxx25

First off, I’d have to say: we did amazingly well, considering it was our first go as a group.  It was a mostly guild run, with a few friends pulled in.  I don’t think we had an actual “pug” in the lot.  We had 6 healers, which was all of ours were there for a holy priest and a tree.  Meaning half of them were paladins.  I think ouroutsiders were a ret pally, a boomkin, and a very excellent BM hunter.  Spider and Plague wings went down, as did Patchwerk.

Oh, Patchwerk.

That was where we met Multiple Wipesville.  Mach put me in charge of healing assignments (asshole!), and that’s where I came to regret it the most.

So we had 3 tanks: Macharious teh Uber Pally, Zoja my pet warrior, and Zlord teh Other Warrior At The End of the Alphabet.  We had Mach MT and the Z’s OT-which, in hindsight, wasn’t the best idea.  Zlord’s been unlucky and not even been on full clears of 10 yet, so he’s not as geared as the other two, so having him OT was…bad.  Like, OMG SPLAT bad.  Yet he couldn’t dish out the required threat MTing.  It an attempt to compensate for Z’s gear and even out damage spikes, I put our resident tree druid on him to assist Yarp teh holy pally.  In hindsight, Kyr would have been the better choice, but that’s hindsight for you.  I’m pretty sure that Kyr has higher crit and better gear than Yarp (though Yarp kicks ass), and in theory wouldnt’ have run into the mana issues that Yarp (and I) did. 

Yeah.  Mana issues.  See, Divine Plea?  Kind of bad to use on that fight without Wings.  But anyway.  Ron and I, Team Awesome, were on Zoja.  We were…slightly less than awesome.

We saw a lot of this:

Zlord has died.
Zoja has died.

….  /facepalm

We finally took him down (3/4 tries?), but did we do it by keeping the OTs up?

Fuck no!

We did it with battle rezzes, so it looked more like this:

Zlord has died.
Zoja has died.
Zlord has died.
Zoja has died.
Manoshi has died.
Bionicpally has died.
Manruler has died.

Sorry, melee deeps!

Much musing and tweaking (and tank swapping?) will be done on that fight next week, I’m sure.  And maybe less dying.  Less dying would be cool.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on March 12, 2009 - 1:48 pm

    4 wipes is really not bad for a new to 25 crowd. He escalates a LOT in difficulty from 10 to 25. And hey, doesn’t matter how pretty the kill was, just that it was a kill.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on March 12, 2009 - 1:52 pm

    I think we have an edge because several of us have pugged Naxx25 and have not only seen the content, but have gear from it. It makes up for silly little things like the druid who did less DPS than the tank.

  3. #3 by kyrilean on March 13, 2009 - 7:12 am

    3-4 wipes was actually surprising to me, because I wasn’t sure we could do it. My first time attempting this fight was an hour and a half wipe fest (with quick rezzes, buffs, and re-pulls)! We did it in 30 min?

    As for gear, yes according to Be Imba, I think I’m the most geared in the guild right now. According to InventoryOnPar, I was second. I think the first was a mage? With the buffs, my Holy Crit ended up being 42.44% or something. I’m a crit whore! :)

    Anyway, Yarp does need more gear. He isn’t badly geared, but compared to the two of us he’s behind. I was happy to see him get some items.

    I wasn’t paying attention, but somehow I ended up with mad buffs because I could swear I saw a 20+k Holy Light! I’ve never had higher than 18.5k. I need to check the WWS report when I get home.

    That said, the meters made me laugh as I was lowest, but then again Zlord was often not taking damage so I was spamming lots of FoL on various people.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 7:51 am

    Kyr, I’ve seen some crazy shit on meters, so I pretty much ignore where people are on them unless I see something else off. I’d never seen Yarp heal, so while I trust Mach’s saying that he’s good (and he is), I used healing assignments to kind of feel him out. Then lol’d when he spanked me on meters.

    I originally had you on Mach because I trusted you to shore up Lilishaka, but since your crit kicks the ever living shit out of mine, I’ll put you on Zlord next time. Then Yarp can heal Mach. Unless Yarp, despite the gear disparity is still set up better for HL spam… aaaaah!

    I’m definitely not set up for HL spam of that magnitude, especially not in a situation like that where I’m afraid to use Divine Plea! …clearly I need to get over that fear.

  5. #5 by kyrilean on March 13, 2009 - 10:37 am

    Yeah the nerf to Divine Plea really sucks and makes me a lot more wary about using it on fights like Patch, so I resorted to potting first. One thing I do on that fight is /focus my fellow healer to watch their mana. Ultimately forces me to make the decision when to use DP.

Leave a Reply

