Raid Composition, Or: Amber Is Bitter

Source: WI.  Bold comments are mine.

Ghostcrawler has outlined the way in which healing teams will be chosen and organized for Ulduar in both 10 and 25-man raids, and it’s very encouraging.

In 10-man Ulduar, GC expects that we’ll want to bring three healers, and claims that they “intend for you to be able to take any 3 healers.” This means that even smaller guilds with only enough players to form a 10-man group will be able to work with the healers they have unless it’s 3 paladins, rather than feeling the need to recruit specific classes.

In 25-man Ulduar, Ghostcrawler mentions that there will be “more pressure to have every player in the role that most emphasizes their strengths” and that we’ll “want a mix of healers.”

This sounds like a fairly flexible plan, allowing for groups to recruit different healing classes, and allow healers to spec into different roles, such as group healing vs. single target unless you’re a paladin. It also suggests that Blizzard is not planning at this time to homogenize the healing classes any further, unlike the tanking classes.  Fuck you, paladins, you shall always be AoE damage’s bitch.  Lrn2stackhaste.

, ,

  1. #1 by kyrilean on March 13, 2009 - 7:01 am

    What are you worried about? You’ll ding 80 on Lyr by the time the patch comes out anyway. LOL!

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 7:53 am

    Doesn’t mean she’ll be raiding yet, though! I r needs gear!

    And I’m bitter just because, damn it.

  3. #3 by Bellwether on March 13, 2009 - 8:34 am

    I know you’re irritated, but that last red line in bold made me laugh.

    That being said, I’m sorry. :[

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 9:19 am

    I do strive to be entertaining even in my wrath. ;)

  5. #5 by dorgol on March 13, 2009 - 9:20 am

    And at the same time I’m considering dropping the Holy Light Glyph in 3.1. I’m the ONLY Holy Paladin on my 25 man raids… so I’m SURROUNDED by AoE healers. That Glyph gives me nothing but overheal.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 9:33 am

    It’s almost always OH for me, too, but it’s just about all I’ve got, so…it stays, unless something else real tempting comes along.

    That 8 yard radius is so…

    …utterly useless…

  7. #7 by Armagon on March 13, 2009 - 9:34 am

    I know I called Paladins overpowered since I saw my girlfriend single-heal a DK on Omen in Moonglade for nearly 20min without going OOM, but that doesn’t sound fair. Bet it will be easier with 3 Druids/Shamans/Priests :|
    Than again as long as 2 Paladins + X work, it shouldn’t be so bad.

  8. #8 by Balis on March 13, 2009 - 10:26 am

    Pallys can deal with AOE — just drop preventative sacred shield on the raid.

    Oh, wait…

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 10:35 am

    I’m just madly jealous of everyone else’s flexibility.

    >:|

    It’s seriously sucked on a couple of occasions when our reliable healers are our holy pallys and our disc priest.

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 10:36 am

    @Balis – Oh god, don’t get me started!

    /paladin rage

  11. #11 by Ian on March 13, 2009 - 12:48 pm

    Maybe I just misread it, but I thought the whole point of bringing up 10-man in his comment was to say they were specifically keeping weird 3 paladin groups (or 3 whatever else) in mind, but not so much on 25 man.

  12. #12 by Ambrosyne on March 13, 2009 - 1:05 pm

    There are certain fights in which having 3 paladins would be disadvantagous in a way that 3 of anything else would not, due to their utter lack of useful AoE heals. The fact that they are taking mutli-target Sacred Shielding out just hurts us more.

    I do not see that situation changing in Ulduar.

    I’m not saying it’s impossible. I’m saying it will be more difficult, perhaps exceedingly so at lower gear levels. And that makes me cranky.

Leave a Reply

