Things I’ve Learned About Priesting

I’ve been leveling my priest like mad-she dinged 78 last night.  But before then, at 77, I somehow let people convince me to go heal Halls of Lightning.  The only 80 was a tank.  Oh boy.

Things I learned:
-Priests are squishy.
-Like, very squishy.
-When the tank pulls a whirlwinding boss towards me, I need to move.  No, faster than that.
-I cannot “off tank” adds for very long.
-When a mob comes towards me, my bubble WILL be on cool down.  Because unlike my pally’s bubble, I use my priest’s bubble on other people!
-Pain suppression totally needs to be moved to a hotkey easier to hit while flailing in a panic.
-Oh, and…priests are squishy.

I’ve suddenly become the Priest That Dies Frequently On Boss Fights.  So for every priest I ever mocked for that: I’m sorry.

But I still love my priest more than Ambrosine.  Sorry, pally o’ mine…

, , ,

  1. #1 by Myssidia on March 16, 2009 - 8:52 am

    First, I want to give a quick LOL to the related posts. Also… Fade is your friend. For srs. =] Look forward to 3.1 where Shield loses its CD.

  2. #2 by Holy Dueg! on March 16, 2009 - 8:52 am

    Welcome to the club, we have support group meetings every other Thursday so we can weep about how easy it is for us to die.

  3. #3 by Pike on March 16, 2009 - 9:03 am

    I just realized that almost every group I have ever raided with includes a priest who has become the group’s in-joke for dying so frequently…

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on March 16, 2009 - 9:27 am

    I am very quickly becoming that joke. Oi!

    Plate has spoiled me.

  5. #5 by Kestrel on March 16, 2009 - 10:18 am

    @ Pike & Amber: I am that joke. :p (But I also get bubbled, stoned, and b-rezzed a LOT, because I keep 25 other people alive. Mostly.) :D

    Good stuff, Amb!

  6. #6 by Willel on March 16, 2009 - 11:00 am

    Believe it or not, this makes me want to level my priest even more.

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on March 16, 2009 - 12:36 pm

    @Willel: Psycho. <3

  8. #8 by addictedtoheals on March 16, 2009 - 1:07 pm

    My priest is only level 13, but I’m quickly learning I can’t play her like I did my shaman or druid due to the extreme squishiness factor. But, like Willel, this post actually makes me want to level her!

  9. #9 by Luiniel on March 17, 2009 - 6:42 am

    Priests die, that’s why we wear cloth — to save on the repair bills :-). If you’re in the kind of gear Blizzard clearly expects you to be in when you’re leveling (lots of spirit, practically no stamina) then you die even more; once you’ve got about as much health as everyone else in the party you merely have to worry about melee-style attacks (spells, of course, hit you about as hard as everyone else).

    Still, at least in 3.1 it looks as if Disc bubbles are going to be off cooldown (although still on GCD; 1.5s in Whirlwind is bad enough!)

Leave a Reply

