Dual Spec Musings

Ambrosyne’s “main” spec shall always and forever be holy.  But…what else?  I have some ret gear.  Having a DPS toon at max level would be handy (o hai horde).  But I have even more prot gear, and more importantly, I have played as prot before.  Ret?  Nevah.  Okay, that one time, in Kara, on Macharious, where I did a terrible 500 DPS.  But anyway.  Let’s just say I’m a retnub. 

On one hand, I don’t know how often we’d need a tank for raiding.  On the other, I don’t know how often we’d need yet more melee DPS, either.  Let’s face it-a healer dual speccing out of their role is far less likely to get a chance to exercise said second role.  We have spare tanks.  We have spare DPS.  We rarely have spare healers, unless you’re talking 10 mans.  Then you can’t often find healers-most of whom are past needing gear from 10s-who even want to go. 

Hi, my name is Amber, and I’m the guild’s healbitch…

Anyway.  Of course, if we’re going to pug anything, we’d rather it be DPS, not a tank.  So I’m leaning towards tankadin.  On the other hand (I have a third one?) as we progress through 25 man content, and switch to fewer healers, we won’t magically new more t-

AAAAH!

…you see where I’m going, here?  Insane!  I’m going insane!  I might well hold off on dual speccing her until I’m actually needed as something not healy.

Lyrandre is another kettle o’ fish.  If I do not go DPS with Ambro, I could go shadow with Lyr, but…she’s trapped in the same healer problem.  I’m leaning towards taking her disc/holy, offering the most flexibility for those raid situations where all of our best…single target healers show up to a raid.

Of course, I have to make the gold for dual specs first.  Ugh.

, ,

  1. #1 by Light on March 17, 2009 - 2:41 pm

    You don’t want to be ret to do farming and dailies? Killing things healing specced is awful for druids, I don’t know how it is for paladins.

  2. #2 by Zuki on March 17, 2009 - 2:53 pm

    Lyr should go Shadow for offspec! It will make the dailies and rep grinds that much easier. Also, as the guild needs less healers it will certainly need less on SOME fights but still need more on other. This way you could switch between healing and damage based on the fight. Just my .02

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on March 17, 2009 - 3:24 pm

    @Light: It’s…not very fun. But as Ambrosyne will no longer be my main once Lyr is set, I’m not worried about how well she can slog through dailies. Disc priesting my way through things isn’t so bad.

    @Zuki …damn you for raising a valid point.

  4. #4 by dorgol on March 17, 2009 - 3:24 pm

    My Holy Paladin is going Prot for the secondary spec. Solo-ing as Holy is horrid, but Protection isn’t half bad. AND with the changes to Prot in 3.1 (specifically the Silence effect added Avenger’s Shield) I’ll be able to hold my own if someone tries to gank me while solo (PvP server FTW).

    My Druid is a different story. I LOVE Feral for solo work, but he is definitely a healer first. So, assuming I get him to level 80 anytime soon, I’ll have a Resto (1st) and Cat (2nd) build.

  5. #5 by Light on March 17, 2009 - 3:30 pm

    @dorgol

    Resto in cat gear isn’t that bad. Bad, but not as bad as 4s starfire. :)

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on March 17, 2009 - 3:59 pm

    @dorgol – see, being on a PvP server is parto f why Ret is tempting. As of right now, I’m pretty defenseless on my high level toons. It sucks!

  7. #7 by Dreaming on March 18, 2009 - 3:43 am

    I’ve a healadin myself, and I’m pretty much thinking the same way you are doing. I’ll probably go prot, just in case we need this additional off-tank in a raid, but I know the opportunity for me to switch out of healing is very low.
    Now about PvP servers (I’m on a PvE one) ret can be tempting, at least it’ll make the noobs think before attacking you. Shadow on another side is just defenseless against a rogue, and nearly any strong dps class if they’re not too stupid and trinket your fear.
    One last thing you perhaps want to consider is Replinishement. It seems it’ll be nearly mandatory for Ulduar, and ret/shadow have it in case your raid in low on that.

  8. #8 by Nokomall on March 19, 2009 - 8:28 am

    Seeing as you’re going to sidecar your pally to the priest, getting the Dual Spec on the pally might not be such a hot idea. For the priest, however, it can be a bit more useful. Granted i’d like to wait for 3.1 to hit so I know the damage Disc is going to take, but as of right now, I prefer disc soloing to shadow. So, taking Holy as a second spec for an AoE centric healing role, might not be such a bad idea when raiding with holy pallies and other disc priests and not assigned to an actual tank.

    As to the pally, if you don’t plan to raid with her anymore, then that begs a few questions. Got an epic flier? Got gathering profs? I’d say, if yes, go ret and don’t dual spec. Use her for a farming toon. However, if you still have the intention of playing her, go ret for farming and either holy or prot for actual group content. I’d recommend prot since you’d already have a healer in the priest.

    Just the thoughts of a first time reader.

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on March 19, 2009 - 9:08 am

    @Nokomall – It would indeed be a good idea to take her ret, drop her crappy JCing for mining or herbing, and make a gatherer of her. But I also can see the very likely scenario of guldies coming up short a healer for things my priest would already be saved to-I’m thinking dual Ulduar 10 runs. Unless of course I recuit the tree I’m currently wooing, in which case I might be able to relax. Might. Don’t ask me how all 8 healers magically vanish some raid nights, but they do.

    Disc/Holy is definitely tempting, I’m just worried about the inevitable shift from “bring 6/7 healers to 25s” to “bring 4 healers to 25s”. I’m mostly overthinking this. :P

  10. #10 by Lewis on March 19, 2009 - 9:46 am

    On my warrior, this is a no-brainer–I’m going to keep his prot spec on one side and probably have an arms DPS raid support spec on the other, so I can take him to heroics and let other people get hit in the face and help out the raid more on those fights where I’m not needed to tank. And oddly enough, he’s the only one I care about dual specs on. I’ve got two 80 hunters who don’t need it, and my DK is staying DPS and I have no interest right now in tanking with her.

    The latest word from Ghostcrawler is that you’ll be able to switch specs on the fly, anywhere, no Lexicon needed…just 5 seconds and the loss of all your mana, and poof. So if that follows through, we can swap specs several times a raid (possible cooldown time wasn’t mentioned), which would be awesome. Aside from the fact that we’ll all be out of bag space from lugging around multiple sets of armor!

  11. #11 by Nokomall on March 19, 2009 - 2:31 pm

    @Ambro – Well, the nice thing about pallies of late is that Prot is not a bad soloing spec anymore, mostly due to Shield of Righteousnes imo. So you can efficiently spec the pally both Holy and Prot to fill any role you find your run lacking in…except dps, which is easy to find. As far as worrying about the number of healers you’ll need to bring to raids, I’m sure you’ll have a few who have Dual-Spec’d into a dps secondary spec.

Leave a Reply

