Naxx25: for the lulz

For the record, my raid leading skills ARE as poor as my flowchart making ones, which is why I’m not a raid leader.  <3  You should see my healing assignments, they’re hilarious!   

“Amber, why did you assign Atrop two beacons?”
*adjusts*
“Now Zoja has two.”
“FUCK IT I DON’T CARE ANYMORE PULL THE BOSS.”

Moving on…

Last night’s raid was, I think, a good one.  It’s true, we had a spat of loot drama-but that was mostly an example of bringing the wrong type of person to the raid just to fill a slot.  We have non-raiders in our guild.  We love them, we do.  But sometimes they’re non-raiders for a reason otherthan availability.  Like, oh, being complete-if sweet and adorable-nubcakes.  The person in question did not realize that one) we were abiding by our own main spec/off spec loot rules by denying them the piece and two)  the weapon in question was TERRIBLE for their offspec anyway.  Yes, you may have a 1h mace for your feral set now, but WHY for fucks sake?  WHY? 

We cleared the same content as last weeks first stab, Plague, Spider, and Patch-only we did it far more smoothly.  The only reason we didn’t go further was the fact that we rolled out DKP for the first time last night as well, and the process had some wrinkles.  On the other hand, the actual boss killing went more smoothly.  Last weeks Patchwerk was a hilarious comedy of errors, with numerous b-rezzes on the OTs to pull it off in the end on the fourth or fifth attempt.  This time we one shot him without a single death.  Awesome!

Of course, balancing out the awesome was some good old fashioned BoO lulz.  Clearing to Patchwerk, in the first abom pull or so, a boomkin casually mentioned that he could target Grobb.  Huh, wasn’t that weird?

Naturally, one of the mages frostbolted decided to see if he could shoot him from where we were, an experiment that was quickly followed up by cries of “OH SHIT!  Run, run!” on vent.

By the way, announcing that you accidentally pulled a boss several rooms a way is a perfectly legitimate use of vent, as was using it to announce said mage a “tardbucket.”  Most of us got out the portals, though the tanks dryly pointed out that it was good the bank paid their repairs.  We lol’d, mocked, dispensed the Purple Diamond of Shame, and moved on. 

The above healing assignment scenario really happened, which means I’m going to be finding new ways to arrange healing assignments aside from scribbles on the back of my phone bill.  I also did run the entire instance with my Piccolo on, for reasons I’m not entirely clear on.  I carry with me as a joke and bring it out whenever someone drops a train set.  But I…usually take it off immediately after.

Oops?

All in all though, I was pretty damned pleased.  People got shinys, bosses died, and it was a fun night.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jezriyah on March 19, 2009 - 9:53 am

    One time our co-GL’s tier helm dropped off KT, and when she went to check her current helm’s stats to compare, she realized she’d had her fishing hat on the entire week of raiding.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on March 19, 2009 - 10:00 am

    @Jez: Snerk! The perils of not showing your helm!

  3. #3 by Morticis on March 19, 2009 - 10:03 am

    Was that Glob pull just a glitch in the scenery or was it more of a:

    /target Globulos

    “Oh cool it worked”

    *gears start turning*
    *cast frostbolt*

    “Uh oh”

    Personally, in that situation, I would be one of the people saying that the extreme amount of lulz out weighed the cost of the repairs by an exponential amount.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on March 19, 2009 - 10:07 am

    It wasn’t a mistarget-he targeted Grob on purpose after someone said you could, but I don’t know if he acutally thought it would pull. It was just a bad silly thing to do at 9:50 when our raid ends at 10 and we want Patch down!

    XD

    “That was hilarious! I feel like an asshole, but…it was hilarious!” is what he said after.

    I don’t think anyone was actually annoyed with him, I just said, “Dude, don’t pull that shit when we’re time crunched!”

  5. #5 by kyrilean on March 19, 2009 - 10:13 am

    I’m trying to remember, but we did this in once too, and I can’t remember if he resets… Anyway, I ran out. :)

    Yeah the beacon thing was pretty damn funny! :)

    Great raid! Slow, but that’ll get worked out. The nice thing is we downed Plague, Spider, and Patchwerk in 2.5 hours. We’ll get 3 wings down in the same amount of time next week.

    @ Morticis it was a deliberate pull and wasn’t funny considering this was our last fight, it was getting late, and people needed to leave.

  6. #6 by HoHo on March 19, 2009 - 10:22 am

    I think I’ve raided a bit with my fishing pole back in tbc. I know I’ve healed as disc while wearing my full shadow gear. That 289 hit really helps the heals hit the right targets :)

  7. #7 by Lewis on March 19, 2009 - 10:37 am

    We constantly give one of our raid officers grief, over a year later, for getting our first Gruul kill wearing her green level 62 RP outfit pants. But, a friend of mine Alliance-side topped it recently. He’s the raidleader of a raid that got Sarth +3 drakes a couple weeks ago, and one of their top DPS…and they got that first kill with him wearing his purple pimp fedora instead of his T7.5 rogue hat. Ah, the joys of raiding on an RP server!

  8. #8 by Holy Dueg! on March 19, 2009 - 10:52 am

    Hey, at least your mage isn’t the one who posted that vid of himself wiping his raid during Sapph by iceblocking right before Deep Breath. Though hilarious to the extreme, he would most likely earn a raid kick in my guild for that manuever

  9. #9 by Oriniwen on March 19, 2009 - 11:14 am

    I won a need roll on an item last night that was a *huge* upgrade for me.

    When compared to the frost resist gear I was wearing.

    If I had compared it to the item I actually had, I likely would have noticed it *was* the item I already had. Good thing no one else wanted it or I would have really felt like a waste of space.

    And do you mind if I borrow your “mark of shame” idea? Though instead of diamond, I might change it to the triangle mark. Due to reasons beyond the scope of a comment box, we call the triangle mark “panties”. :D

  10. #10 by Kestrel on March 19, 2009 - 12:31 pm

    *ahem*…Amber? Healing Assignments:

  11. #11 by Kestrel on March 19, 2009 - 12:32 pm

    Umm…let me try my l337 html skillz again:

  12. #12 by Kestrel on March 19, 2009 - 12:32 pm

    Okay; you don’t like links in your comments. :p http://kestrelsaerie.us/2009/02/addon-review-surgeon-general/

  13. #13 by D on March 19, 2009 - 12:47 pm

    @ Dueg – That happened to us two weeks ago, our guild’s first 25-man shot at Sapphiron, and one of our guild mages ice-blocked himself before Deep Breath. I was of course one of the noobs that ran behind him – I noticed that the block was a different color from the one RIGHT NEXT TO IT, but I didn’t think anything of it except Blizzard’s sometimes-weird graphics glitches.

    Needless to say, about half the raid was right with me behind that mage ice block. And we of course all died. :-P

    @ Ori – Panties! OMG, I have to use that, especially since our guild is a sausage-fest and it’s going to be awesome to call someone a panty-head.

  14. #14 by Shandroel on March 19, 2009 - 12:56 pm

    My favorite thing in the world is when our OT goes afk for an extended period of time in grobbs room, Misdirect pulls are insanely awesome from the other side of the room, especially when you put levitate on the hunter right before he disengages. SUPER HUNTER!

    Anywho, while trying to get my Champion of the Frozen Wastes title i ran like 5 or 6 heroics and was wondering why i was having a mildly hard time healing them. Then i realized i had my spectrecles on because they look awesome. D’OH

  15. #15 by Ambrosyne on March 19, 2009 - 3:30 pm

    I once logged onto my hunter and went to go do a heroic with her…

    …forgetting that she’d been taming various pets for skillz or some such and at that particular moment, had no pet.

    …did I mention that my hunter is BM?

    Yeeeeah.

  16. #16 by Elleiras on March 19, 2009 - 4:06 pm

    I absolutely did not heal all of this week’s raids with my melee trinkets equipped. (You’d think the emerald boar that randomly appeared at my side would have given it away …)

    >.>

  17. #17 by Ambrosyne on March 19, 2009 - 4:21 pm

    @Elleiras: hehehe! Siblings in Trinket Noobishness are we…

  18. #18 by Kasmodrin on March 19, 2009 - 7:34 pm

    He could target Grobbu because he’s standing up to your right when you enter the 2 room in the construct wing… looking over the room and spraying out slime. Lovely little gimmick when your tanks are pulling the next room with slimes :).
    Personally I have tanked several HC’s without my Righteous Fury on… all the time complaining about why the hell my threat was so low :).

  19. #19 by Shanon on March 25, 2009 - 12:04 am

    Tanked Kel’thuzads adds with holy gear. :D was fun though, beacon on mt and all the time healing myself.

Leave a Reply

