Random Monday is Random

The hardest part of changing over to a priest for me was not a new  set of spells or a different healing styles.   No, the hardest part is managing to not die.

Of course, it might help if I remembered things like binding heal. 

>.>

<.<

Don’t judge me, I’m not used to all these options!

That said, my first two heroic runs weren’t…terrible.  We wiped a couple of times, but not because my heals (on the group, at least!) weren’t up to snuff.  With the aid of my ever so wonderful, loving guild mates, I should be able to branch beyond the “easy” heroics for gear soon, and then reach the magical, shining point in which Steve gives me to okay to switch.

I have normal instance to dip my toes into for gear still, as well.  Let me tell you I met some interesting pugs that way.  You, sir fury warrior who did only 500 DPS: what are you doing, leveling your unarmed skill?  I could out DPS you lolsmiting.

And you, other warrior: putting nearly every point in prot (except for one handed weapon spec, wtf?) does not make you a tank.  Plz lrn2failless.

But I also met a good tank, and we were all like, zomg friend!, and so now we will abuse each other for heroics.   And all will be well. 

In other news, despite my utter slacking off re: recruitment posts, BoO continues to grow through this lovely thing called “word of mouth”.  Actually, it’s more a case of, “Hey, my friend is there, can I come too?”  which is just fine and dandy by me.  It is, however, sounding the death knell for an old, formerly grand guild.   It has, however, turned another member into an assistant recruiter of sorts, as I run names by him to make sure I don’t bring in the very people he wanted to get away from.   Better to save us the trouble, and not upset one of our best healers. 

Speaking of healers, you want to know something exciting?

We are DONE recruiting healers! We have enough!

And by enough I don’t mean “we have enough if they all show up every night.”   No, I mean “we have enough healers and some to spare.”  I mean, “We might have or or two switch to DPS toons instead for our next raid”. 

3 holy pallys, 1 disc priest, 2 holy priests, 3 trees, 1 resto shaman.   I’d rather another resto shammy but hell if I know where they’re hiding.  Now if we could just find another tank and some DPS that is reliable AND can beat the tanks, and we’re all set!

Now if only raiding didn’t keep me from doing heroics (because that keeps me from…raiding).

, , ,

  1. #1 by Areant on March 23, 2009 - 12:18 pm

    “We are DONE recruiting healers! We have enough!”

    I believe that is the first time I have ever heard anyone say (or write) those words. Despite the claim you are slacking in recruitment posts, you must be doing something right to attract, and keep, a full team of healers!

    As for tanks, “My what a lot of stamina you have! And such a big weapon. Could you help a lady out?” … It works like a charm.

    DPS can be a bit tricky. Warlocks and Mages appear to have gone the wa of the dodo and requests for DPS are usually met by whispers from five thousand Death Knights and eight hundred hunters.

    Anyway, best of luck to you in your heroics and continued recruiting endeavors!

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on March 23, 2009 - 12:37 pm

    @Areant: Actually, we only have 2 raiding hunters, and would love more-but we can’t find any!

    Ditto on DKs, we have 2. 1 tank, 1 DPS. Warlocks are even more rare than shamans though, you’re right about that. We’re lucky to have a couple of mages (I cry without my int buff).

    What we have too many of (oddly?) are rogues. O.o

  3. #3 by Holy Dueg! on March 23, 2009 - 12:42 pm

    Grats on finalizing your healer team, we’re trying to get to the point where if two don’t show up we don’t need someone to respec.

    As for the tanks, get a good one and hold on to him or her, I pretty much ran with the same tank from level 74 to 77 till he just dissapeared on me. Healers and tanks are the only parts of a group you need confidence in, the others can be somewhat interchangeable.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on March 23, 2009 - 1:06 pm

    Well we have 2 awesome tanks, 1 good tank who just has some confidence issues, and 1 tank who takes awhile to catch on to things but is then solid. Our bear tank went boomkin, and one of the others now has an iffy schedule, so we’re down to 3, really.

    Working on another bear. :)

  5. #5 by kyrilean on March 23, 2009 - 1:16 pm

    You heard it folks! I’ve got permission to quit healing. :)

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on March 23, 2009 - 1:42 pm

    @Kyr: lol…I hope you like your shadow priest. Come dual spec, you going ret? :P

  7. #7 by kyrilean on March 24, 2009 - 2:13 pm

    @ Amber – Hell yeah! I need Ret gear though. I have more Prot gear than Ret, but I want to be able to counter-gank the gankers who get me while farming.

    And I love my shadow priest!

Leave a Reply

