Amber Abstains From Titles Today

As of today I have successfully made it through 25 years of life without anyone giving into the urge to throttle me to death.   This is a good thing.  I think. 

Despite AN’s mockery of me over the weekend (I never want to run another heroic ever again), last night’s cobbled together Altastic Naxx10 run was kind enough to hand me epix.   Lyr is now slightly less scrub, complete with wings.  This is good, because we’re going to clear Naxx25 tonight and then it’s all priest all the time!  Right?  Right?  I can see my guildies eyeing my still heavily blue gear and sighing.  C’mon, PEW PEW LAZERS!  I’m not sure how running with two disc priests will fly, exactly, but Ron and I are smart cookies and we’ll figure that out.

Blizzard was kind enough to randomly drop this in my lap:

It now amuses me greatly to have Lyr run around on a bear.

For the curious, this is what Lyr looks like masquerading as a human:
Apparently she embraces an inner rebel I didn’t know she had and went for a nose ring.

Levitate is the best.  Shit.  Ever.  Yes, I look around for places that would be pretty to levitate in front of.  What of it?!

Also, to everyone who thought that DKs who wore spellpower items were just a joke:

“Well duh,” you might be saying.  “His name is Ipwnforfree, what did you expect?”  Was this fellow a pug?  No, no.  This is a guildmate.  Fortunately he’s good natured about being a nooblet, and after being told the error of his ways and being dragged through our Altastic Naxx, he asked for every single piece of gear that had spellpower on it.  Tardbucket.  Josh now gets to teach the “lrn2DK” lessons, because Ipwnforfree also happens to be the GM’s roommate and Steve announced that he couldn’t bear to live with a scrub.  For my part, I will continue to lol in Tim’s general direction for his name alone.  Lovingly, of course.  Because it’s all about the good-natured ribbing in this crazy crew.

To my bemusement, some of said good-natured ribbing caused an OMG ANGRY! explosion on our guild forums.  I made a post stating to sign up for raids even if you thought we had too many of a particular role signed up-after all, shit happens, and we might have to tweak for raid balance.  In said post, I  referred to Kyr as our “shadow bitch”, because he’s been kind enough to flop over to his shadow priest alt when we were a little healer-ful and needed an extra DPS.  I consider Kyr a friend and we (openly!) appreciate his willingness, so to me it was a harmless joke.  Unfortunately one member decided to asplode at me with CAPS OF RAGE over what he perceived as a great sign of disrespect.  

lolololololololololololol.

Ahem.

For the record, threatening to jump ship and take other members with you is not usually considered to be in good taste.  Especially over something minor like that. 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on March 30, 2009 - 11:22 am

    My jealousy is a white, hot rage, prz to give Dueg Po-larr Bearz NAO!

  2. #2 by Oriniwen on March 30, 2009 - 11:23 am

    mmmm caps rage. (Though, this might be one of those ‘early warning signs’ you always hear about. Or, “how to predict future drama lava asplosions.”)

  3. #3 by Khaeli on March 30, 2009 - 11:24 am

    Raiding with more than one disc priest isn’t so hot. Weakened soul debuffs prevent you from shielding. Divine Aegis doesn’t stack. Grace doesn’t stack. A lot of your arsenal is negated, leaving you with weaker heals and little absorption to offer. I’d recommend against it, honestly.

  4. #4 by Doodle on March 30, 2009 - 11:44 am

    So… the guy who nerdraged wasn’t the shadow priest? Some OTHER guildie? Who then threatened to leave and take people with him? Yeah… this has “FUTURE DRAMA LAVA ASPLOSION” written all over it. ^_^

  5. #5 by marikaefer on March 30, 2009 - 11:59 am

    I really like the style of your draenei priest. The dark skin and hair go very nicely with the quite huge horns – awesome combination. I used to choose a rather blue skin tone for draenei, but I will definitely change to the dark side now.
    The levitating pic is great, too :D

  6. #6 by Rohan on March 30, 2009 - 12:00 pm

    On the flip side, you are an officer, and that sounded like an “official” post. Sure, Kyr might know you’re joking, but the other guy might not know that. All he sees is an officer mocking a guildie in an official post.

    Kind of honestly, I’d consider it a bad sign (though I wouldn’t threaten to leave and take people with me). You might want consider being more professional in “official” posts.

  7. #7 by Zuki on March 30, 2009 - 12:03 pm

    Yes, I want that bear too! I’ll give you my Snowy Gryphon for him! :-P

    A quarter century … Congratz & Happy Birthday!

  8. #8 by Elleiras on March 30, 2009 - 12:06 pm

    Guys, guys, guys … You’re missing the *important* part of the post!

    It’s Amber’s birthday! She’s a quarter of a century old!

    Happy Birthday, Amber. =D

  9. #9 by Wikwocket on March 30, 2009 - 1:18 pm

    Raiding with 2 disc priests is not too bad. Sure it’s not optimal and some spells don’t stack, but Penance and DA available for more people is not a bad thing. And you can always each pick a tank to watch. I would just recommend you configure your raid frame mod to show who has Weakened Soul; this will make your life easier if multiple people are throwing shields around.

    Also, great levitate screenshot!

  10. #10 by Brajana on March 30, 2009 - 1:45 pm

    Happy Birthday and grats on the bear!

    That levitate shot is absolutely gorgeous :) Draenei really are quite pretty, as much as I try to hate them!

  11. #11 by kyrilean on March 30, 2009 - 2:49 pm

    @ Doodle – nope it wasn’t me. Suppose Rohan’s got a point though. Either way, it was pretty obvious because my response to the post was:

    EXCUSE ME?!

    after which, Amber responded:

    ilu KyKy

    Professional or not, the reaction was a little overboard. Happy Birthday, Amber!

  12. #12 by Ambrosyne on March 30, 2009 - 3:19 pm

    @Rohan: You have a point, except that if you look at our “official documents”, they are quite tongue in cheek, except perhaps for our loot rules. Our Mission Statement makes mention of selling our souls for alochol and Mt Dew, and mentions that a guildie once vomited off the raid leader’s balcony. In that light, an “official” post in which I tease another guildie is right on par with…uh…everything else I’ve ever posted. If he expects even our official posts to be serious, then I don’t know what guild he’s been in for the past year+.

  13. #13 by Rob on March 30, 2009 - 3:30 pm

    Amber: I just got directed to your blog from Kyrilean’s site. Happy Birthday to you. Wishing you many more years. (And more raids. And more posts) And lots and lots of purples. 25 is a great age! At 16 you can drive. At 18 you vote. 21 is drinking and the good MTV, Maxim, & Radio contests. And at 25 you get the insurance discount! Now you can stop counting until the membership package from AARP shows up.
    Love the site, you can count me as a new reader. I’m looking forward to your future posts.

Leave a Reply

