Priesting vs Paladininininining

It’s hard to draw a comparison between Lyrandre and Ambrosyne when it comes to doing heroics.  I got Ambrosyne to 80 in two weeks, and the heroics process was painful.  In fact, heroics are what drove me starkraving mad to begin with.  Never before in all my years of paladin healing have I felt the soul crushing limitations of my class as doing heroics before they were nerfed and people had Naxx gear.  Hell, sometimes it wasn’t even heroics.  The one and only time I stepped into Occ, the DPS warrior died 21 times.  TWENTY ONE FUCKING TIMES IN A NORMAL INSTANCE.  Get OUT of the freezing stuff!  Get out of the OH MY GOD WHY DID YOU STAND IN THAT.

Ahem.

Naturally with Lyr, the process was very different.  While some of the time my tank was a similarly-geared warrior that I picked up as I leveled, a good bit of the time it was a Naxx-geared guildie, complete with Naxx-geared DPS and Josh’s DK, who while also a freshly dinged alt is massively OP.   Was it easier because of the class, or the circumstances? Well the circumstances made a huge difference, obviously.  Did the class?

I can’t say yet.  I do immensely enjoy priesting, I can tell you that.  I love the pew pew lazers.  I love being a spacegoat and get a silly amount of joy from levitating people randomly.  Once I dig into “proper” raiding (and not our alt scrubruns), I’ll be able to more fully compare the experience.

, ,

  1. #1 by Zuki on March 31, 2009 - 12:20 pm

    Well, I can tell you the process was VERY different for me to. After only a couple of runs with my Pally in Heroics, I was rolling my Shammy! Again, I can’t tell you how much of the difference was the people I was running with versus the class, but I do know that Chain Heal and Poison Cleansing Totems in AN are FTW great!

  2. #2 by Wikwocket on March 31, 2009 - 12:30 pm

    It sounds like the circumstances certainly played a large role, but I do think the classes play differently, and you can feel it in small raids and heroics. I played a holy paladin a little bit at 70, and I felt my healing options were more constrained. Great throughput, but limited flexibility. Now this was from the perspective of my well-geared holy priest main, which does bias it, as your experience did. It does seem like at 80, holy paladins have more tools to offer flexibility… I’d be interested to see what a more experienced paladin thinks about the class differences.

  3. #3 by dorgol on March 31, 2009 - 1:24 pm

    I’m seeing things in the reverse. I have close to two years of Paladin healing under my belt. Even though I was spec’d into Retribution I had zero problems healing 5-mans while leveling through Northrend.

    On the other hand, my Druid is my newest character. He hit 70 AFTER WotLK released. He has crap gear – a strange combination of level 65 blues, 2 or 3 Kara epics (we 4 manned it + my druid for fun), and 2 or 3 Northrend dungeon blues. I can barely keep up with the damage coming in. My mana disappears amazingly fast. Even my “big heal” feels weak. AND THIS IS IN A FULL RESTO BUILD.

    I’m chalking up my Druid viewpoint to a lack of experience. And maybe the gear.

    Should be interesting when I get to 80 (IF I get to 80).

  4. #4 by Willel on March 31, 2009 - 1:32 pm

    I have no healing experience other than my holy paladin. But I always feel I’m just treading water. But when I’m in a raid with a priest, the priest always seems to be in the right place at the right time with the heals.

    I’d be terrified to heal a PUG with my paladin, that’s for sure.

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on March 31, 2009 - 2:09 pm

    @Wikwocket: Holy paladins seem to need a certain gear level before 5 mans become…well, doable without a feeling of frenzy/panic. The stupid melee DPS will tend to always die (SS absobbs the SECOND hit, but if the first kills you…). Once you hit that gear level you’re okay, but before that it’s pretty aggravating. Your capability on oh shit! situations is a lot greater with even a disc (ie, “non aoe” healing) priest than it is with a holy pally. Beacon only heals 2 in a group of 5.

    @dorgol: In the normal instances I didn’t have that much trouble except for a few-AN, with the posion everywhere (cleansable, but poeple are dying as I cleanse-sucked!), and Occ come to mind. HoL, too. It could well be that some of my problems paladin healing came from the fact that I was playing with the people who “rushed”-gear wasn’t always where it should have been for people in a hurry. But that’s why I struggle making the comparison between Lyr and Ambro. :) So many other factors!

  6. #6 by Light on March 31, 2009 - 2:53 pm

    @dorgol Druid heals are never that big. My regrowth can crit for 8k, and sometimes swiftmend for 10. That’s it. Even with good gear you’ll run out of mana if your DPS isn’t that good. I’ve ended up dumping my mana bar + innervate on trash in H AN because the DPS was so bad.

    The plus side is, if you stack all your hots on the tank, you don’t really have to worry that much about them provided they don’t do something stupid.

  7. #7 by Oriniwen on April 1, 2009 - 10:01 am

    I *loathed* doing heroics as a brand-new 80 on my priest. I had been one of the top geared priests on the server during TBC and used to just being naturally awesome. My renew ticked for MOAR HP THAN JESUS! It was a pretty nice ego-stroke. When I got to 80, I was out of practice, undergeared and learning all the heroics again from the healing PoV. It sucked. *I* sucked.

    I’m better geared now, but man alive those first few heroics were a struggle. And my ego is better now too, thanks for asking :)

  8. #8 by Pixiedark on April 1, 2009 - 10:47 am

    I love your posts… I really, really do. I can always count on reading your blog and getting a good laugh, no matter what… usually because I can relate all too well. =P Congrats on getting KT down, that’s fantastic!!!

  9. #9 by Pixiedark on April 1, 2009 - 10:48 am

    Bah, commented on the wrong freaking post… sorry, it’s been a long day already and it’s only noon. Please apply comment above to post below and excuse my noobness. =D

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on April 1, 2009 - 11:10 am

    @Pixiedark: Aww, thanks! <3

  11. #11 by dorgol on April 1, 2009 - 11:20 am

    I also struggled on my Paladin when first hitting 80 and trying to do heal Heroics. It didn’t help that the first instance I attempted was H OK followed by H AN.

    @Ambro / Wik – I remember in TBC going from “HOLY LIGHT EVERYONE OR THEY ALL DIE” to “Flash of Light will heal every bit of damage possible” to “now I’m in Heroics and it’s HOLY LIGHT OR THEY ALL DIE” to “Heroics using nothing but Flash of Light /flex”.

    It’s an amusing way to see gear upgrades take effect, really. :)

    @ Willel – Paladin healing in raids is really annoying. Put me on one or two people taking lots of damage and I’m golden. Put me in a raid that’s stacked with Shaman, Priests, and Druids… and I’ll end up with the most overheal and the least effective heal.

    The group I run with overstacks healers (we did a 20 man Naxx last week with 6 healers). There are a good number of fights where I could literally never heal and no one would notice (outside of Recount). I’m trying to convince the raid leaders to let some of the other healers switch to a DPS spec just so I’ll feel like I’m contributing. Maybe in 3.1… :)

    I think that’s reason I still prefer a good Heroic (or even a 10-man) to a 25-man raid.

  12. #12 by Pixiedark on April 1, 2009 - 2:01 pm

    Heroic AN can die in a fire unless I have a shammy with me. I hate the first boss with a passion. Seriously. Please let it die in a fire… well, as soon as Ambrosyne gets that loot she’s looking for. Then it can die in a fire.

Leave a Reply

