The Obvious Solution

I know it’s going to happen.  Things will go badly while I’m on my priest, and they’ll ask me to bring out Ambrosyne for some more epic’d out heals.  There’s a reason why I had to transfer my paladin to another server before I could make my hunter my main back in BC, and while I’m not prepared to be QUITE that drastic now, I’ll have to do something.  I don’t WANT to heal on my paladin right now.  I want to heal on my PRIEST-and until she matches Ambro in gear level, that’s going to be difficult.  They WILL whine for the purples as long as we’re still chewing on content that’s not farmed yet.

The obvious solution, then, will be to spec Ambro prot when I get home…and vendor all her holy gear.  Mach vendored all his holy gear when he swore he’d never heal on that toon again because he knew it was the only way he’d avoid it happening again, so I’ll follow his lead.

For heals, I’ll have Lyr.   I’ll dual spec her shadow for DPS, leaving only one role left: tanking.   The pally’s got a decent tanking set (go go offspec rolls!) so it’s more logical than ret from that standpoint, too.   My desire to farm up 2k gold instead of 1k for dual specs is just not there right now.  Considering the ton of healers BoO has, I really, really don’t need two ANYWAY. 

/shake fist

I will not waver from my choice of mains, damn it!

,

  1. #1 by Fain on April 1, 2009 - 4:38 pm

    Don’t actually vendor the Holy gear, you may decide one day that you want to go back to healing on your pally. But put it in your bank and tell people you vendored it, definitely.

    Good luck! ♥

  2. #2 by Elleiras on April 1, 2009 - 5:56 pm

    As a guild leader, I tend to view gear as an investment that a guild makes in its raiders, and not necessarily something that raiders earn for themselves (although we certainly do earn it!). I don’t think it’s entirely unreasonable for your guildmates to expect you to put the gear they invested in Ambrosyne to use, by bringing a well-geared, former main to progression fights in lieu of an under-geared reroll.

    Don’t get me wrong; I strongly believe that everyone should be able (and encouaged!) to play a class and spec they like, especially in an ostensibly casual raiding guild. But I also think that the transition will be smoother for you and less likely to incite drama if you can demonstrate to your guild that you are still willing and able to play your pally — not on an “everyraid” basis, but certainly should the need arise.

    This has actually been a hot topic in my guild, as of late, since our single-highest DPS — a Death Knight — recently decided that he preferred the ret paladin he raided on throughout The Burning Crusade to his newly epic’d out DK. As a Death Knight, he had won some *very* nice gear — including a full Valorous set and the guild’s first Betrayer of Humanity — so there were some raised eyebrows in the peanut gallery when he asked to change mains. But I know him, and I stand by our casual-friendly, “play what you like” philosophy, and agreed to support the change on the condition that he continued to bring his Death Knight to progression raids until his paladin caught up on gear. It just didn’t seem right to me to ask the 24 other players in the raid to carry his subpar DPS on tough new fights like Sarth 3D.

    Just another perspective. :)

    Good luck, either way!

  3. #3 by Silk on April 1, 2009 - 6:42 pm

    I have only just found this blog but I just wanted to say I really like your writing style. As for me, I raid most of the time on my holy paly but for a long time I considered my mage as my main so I know a bit of what your going through.

    I think you are ignoring the easier solutions. The most obvious one is to get your pally “accidently” saved to a H Naxx id. Or actually saved – since you have another healer, it won’t disadvantage the guild right?

    I am not sure that I agree with Ellerios – I lead our raids and while I would rather people always bring their mains, to a certain extent you need to accomodate what the individual raiders want. To a certain extent this is important even if this is a disadvantage to the guild in the short term. If the guild knows your pally is there and always available why wouldn’t they take the easier option? There is much more benefit for them in taking your geared toon after all.

    Just take the pally out of commission for 2 weeks and show them you can cut it on the priest and you’ll be fine :)

    Silk

  4. #4 by Pixiedark on April 1, 2009 - 7:02 pm

    I understand what Elle’s getting at. However, if you are not happy, there is no point in playing your Pally. You should be able to tell them you are miserable healing on your pally, that you are respeccing Ambro, that you would still like to raid, but you would like that raiding to be done on your Priest (who you intend to have be your main healer). Leave it in their hands, if they’re smart they’ll take you no matter what because they know you are a smart player and that you are fun to be around. =)

    Don’t vendor the holy stuff just yet… keep it… just in case.

  5. #5 by Hoho on April 1, 2009 - 7:30 pm

    Technically 25-man Naxx is clearable with quest blues and 5-man epics. I know my guild cleared it about a week after the core dinged 80. I’d say out of all raiders healers have it the easiest, once content is cleared it means they have enough throughput to keep people alive. Better stuff will only mean you can have more mistakes an slacking. Yes, you won’t look good on meters but meters suck anyway for comparing healers. As long as people don’t die to lack of heals it shouldn’t be a problem.

  6. #6 by euripidesoutdps on April 2, 2009 - 9:11 am

    Casual or not, there’s an implied trust placed in you when you get gear that you won’t just vendor it so the guild stops getting benefit from it. You rolled against someone who wanted every piece your old main has, and it’s not fair to them to just decide to stop using the gear.

    A good compromise is to keep your old main handy for fights where you’ve wiped and need better healing, and to take a lower priority on upgrades for your new main.

  7. #7 by Darraxus on April 2, 2009 - 9:54 am

    If I were the guild leader, I would probably be pissed. We geared out your main and now you dont want to play it anymore. I suppose as long as it stayed for progression fights then it wouldnt be a problem, but vendoring the gear should garner a /g kick. That would be the equivalent of you getting a hamburger for a homless person, then instead of saying thank you, they throw their feces at you, throw your bruger in the garbage and ask for mcnuggets instead.

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on April 2, 2009 - 10:10 am

    /shakes her head

    The date on this post people, the date!

    Besides, most of Ambrosyne’s 25 man gear was earned in pugs. On my own time. The guild has no investment in it, no more than they do in the gold I farmed doing dailies. I took ONE peice of gear from a guild Naxx25s, and that would have been sharded otherwise. The problems I have had in the past with switching mains remains true, however, and I do eye the fact that I’ll likely be flopping between the two for awhile with trepidation.

  9. #9 by Darraxus on April 2, 2009 - 11:39 am

    Sorry, I read it the day after :)

  10. #10 by Pixiedark on April 2, 2009 - 11:55 am

    I cannot believe I fell for that. And right around the same time I picked up on a few other April Fool’s jokes… You’re good! =P

  11. #11 by Ambrosyne on April 2, 2009 - 12:50 pm

    Clearly I should have just said I was going ret. Would have been more obvious. ;)

Leave a Reply

