Monday Recap

As always, I spent a lot of my weekend playing WoW, so Monday tends to be lawl, recap day.  This Saturday was actually mostly spent on belated birthday celebrations, in which I was dragged to Medieval Times and spent hours going “OH MY GOD STEAL ME THAT PONEH.”  Because nothing will turn me into a puddle of happy faster than cheesy acting, food eaten with fingers, and Delicious Andalusians to stare at. Seriously people: Best.  Horses.  EVAR.   There was this one black one that was…my dream horse.  Right there.  RIGHT THERE.  OH MY GOD.  /dies

…wait, this is a WoW blog, innit?  Fuck.  Okay. 

PONEH PONEH PON-

…ahem.

I had scheduled a 10 man Naxxon Sunday “for the lulz” as the calender says.  What this basically meant was that loot rules were suspended, ’cause no one is gonna bring their alt if it can’t get gear.  Ironically we ended up with only one alt, and then several mains who were after a few items still.  And me.  The loothoover.  Omnomnomnomloot.

Of course I mostly ended up hoovering offset gear, ’cause the loot gods were being silly like that.  I can now be hitcapped in shadow spec.  Woo?  Yeah, I’ll have to lrn2shadowpriest at some point.  I haven’t had a caster DPS class since my mage, who has been level 55 for a couple of years now.  I did get a spiffy offhand and hat, though, for disc pew pew lazer fun. 

I found, however, that I kept running…OOM.  Whaaaat?  Either my stats are offbalance (possible),  or the complete and utter lack of a replenishment class really sucked that much (also entirely possible).  Oh, and of course, Sapph battles that last for THIRTEEN FUCKING MINUTES also probably play a part.  When he finally went down I was all, LAWL, OLD SKOOL RAIDINS.  Because seriously, do you remember those 15 minute boss fights?  I remember those fifteen minute boss fights.  The paladins would flail at the guild leader if he said “Alright, buff up,” and then proceeded to explain further details of the fight, ’cause 15 minute fights + 15 minute buffs = shut the fuck up and PULL.  We did that many a time in Nef’s room, let me tell you.   Yell at the GL, that is. 

“Didn’t you say you had only one alt?  Why the low DPS?”

Well, see, some of the DPS likes to DIE. 

…what!  Don’t look at me!  We had 3 healers.  If the DPS died they were like, trying, or something.  You know how rogues are.  And DPS warriors.  And mages.  Always eating floor!  At least we one shot him…it just took…a really long time.  I used my shadow fiend 3 times and even got innervated.  WTF!  Pallys don’t get in-

Oh, right.

KT was a similarly epic battle, in which we lost Zuki to the Lag Let The Red Zone Eat Me Even Though I Was Totally Far Enough Away demon.  And the tank went down and was b-rezzed.   Oops.  The DPS warrior died to the I Didn’t See It demon (nasty mob, that-it ate Kyr on 4H, too).   It’s kind of like a Grue, you know, the I Didn’t See It demon…

Anyway.

We had never cleared Naxx in one day before.  Granted it was one very long, holy shit we’ve been in here a couple of hours now clear, but we were all like WOO! and it was good. 

I definitely like disc priesting-except for the part where they told me to MC a mob in Naxx25 on Wednesday and I wanted to DIE, let me tell you-but it’s been strange, floundering along in my first few raids sans my more seasoned ally, The Amazing Ron.  He’s supposed to be here helping me!  D:  Kyr managed to get me through the MCing, at least.  <3 Kyr!

My favorite part so far was on the Maexxna fight.  “He won’t survive,” Josh said, referring to our tank.  Indeed, his health was dipping rather low whilst we were all held captive in the webs.  “Ha!” I replied, as I sat there spamming Penance until we were free so it would cast OMG RIGHT AWAY and save the tank!  And it did!  Woo! 

PEW PEW LAZERZ!

And that is why disc priests are totally fucking awesome, yo.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Oriniwen on April 6, 2009 - 11:24 am

    I have to get this off my chest – My main is still rocking her T7 chest (bought with heroic badges).

    My alt has the T7.5 chest *and* pants for both her main *and* her offspec.

    My name is Ori, and I’m a lootwhore. /hangs head in shame.

    (grats on all your new gears, tho!)

  2. #2 by willel on April 6, 2009 - 11:30 am

    Priesting sounds like a blast. Someday I really am going to level my priest.

    And I especially liked the ‘pew pew lazerz’ part :D

  3. #3 by kyrilean on April 6, 2009 - 1:39 pm

    She felt like a loothoover, but in all honesty I don’t think she rolled on a single item. Maybe one? Everyone else passed. They were mains. Let me rephrase, they were geared mains as opposed to Amber’s new main.

    “…the complete and utter lack of a replenishment class…” – This is what you get for not taking my spriest.

    “…the I Didn’t See It demon…” – Yeah, I feel like a total noob cuz in all honesty I don’t think it was all lag.

    “…Kyr managed to get me through the MCing, at least.” – It’s easy once you’ve done it a couple of times, but the first few are nerve-wrackingly painful! Sucks when the whole raid is counting on you to survive. At least with other roles you have backups to take some of the stress off.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on April 6, 2009 - 4:30 pm

    @Kyr: Yeeeeah, the MCing was fully as spazz inducing as some of my first tours of duty as a tankadin. I had a heart attack when Mach took me into SSC. Yeah I was only OFF tanking, but off tanking those Hydross adds was important, damn it…and SCARY!

    And I’ve died to the Amber Wasn’t Paying Attention demon more than once, but ssshhh.

    And we needed your healz! Zuki and I are nubalicious.

Leave a Reply

