Priestly Dual Spec Rears Its Head…Again

“Why the hell didn’t you post yesterday, woman?”

My best friend flew in from California late on Monday night, and I took Tuesday off to goof off with him.  Not being at work generally means I’m not posting.  Said friend does not play WoW, though he dabbled before and I’ll get him back into it if I can.  But he likes gnome rogues.  Ew.

Anyway. 

My priest.  And dual specs.  I honestly thought I had it figured out-Lyr was going to go shadow and I even had enough gear to reach hit cap and then some.  But then our healing roster shifted, and  BoO now sports this:

2 resto druids, 1 resto shaman, 2 holy paladins, 2 disc priests, 1 holy priest

We lost That Priest (he gquit on his own after a discussion with our GM, deciding that he wasn’t compatible with us anymore, by the way) and one of our most excellent trees is going back bear.  Now I’m not sure why we have a tree going bear when we have a fledgling prot warrior in the wings, but that’s not my problem.  Except it is if the warrior gets unhappy, but we won’t go there right now.  Aaaaanyway, that leaves our healing core a little weak in the AoE healing department, according to some sources.  Depending on how Ulduar shapes up, of course.  there’s another resto shaman who swore he’d come back for Ulduar, but I won’t hold my breath. 

Aaaaanyway, so The Most Awesome Ron and I were discussing both dual-speccing holy, and trading off who gets to suck lose the awesome pew pew lazer heals take one for the team help out the raid. 

But but…I don’t want to!  D:  I don’t WANT to have a failangel! 

“Amber, weren’t you debating doing that anyway?”

Well…well…maybe.  But that was before I decided to go shadow.  And before it was suggested that I might need to.  It’s one thing if I decide it and another if someone else tells me to, damn it!

Of course if Blizzard sticks to their Bring the Player Not the Class thing, then they’d have to allow for those raids that might, for one reason or another, not HAVE aoe healing, or have only weaker options (see: our Maly with a pally and a disc priest).   So then we could, in theory…remain our happy pew pew lazer specs…

…but my skepticism is puddling again.

There’s the whole disc gear =/= holy gear thing, too.  Can I go from disc to shadow by changing out some pieces?  Yes!  Can I go from disc to holy by changing out only a few pieces?  Noooooo.  Ughfail.

I’m currently trying to find out just how bad AoE damage in Ulduar isfrom those who’ve poked the PTR.

I dun wanna be holy!  I was looking forward to being able to DPS on something again.

…wait, what’s that sound?  Is that…my hunter calling me?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Khaeli on April 8, 2009 - 1:40 pm

    I went Disc to Holy without changing any gear. I just eat spirit food and take a spirit elixir to compensate. *shrug*

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on April 8, 2009 - 1:45 pm

    @Khaeli: I suppose I could, in theory, do that…

    ..but dammit, I only just started raiding as disc, now I have to pick up holy too? Bah! Here’s to hoping it doesn’t come to that.

  3. #3 by kyrilean on April 8, 2009 - 1:52 pm

    AoE heals? Vampiric Embrace. Duh! :P

  4. #4 by wantedpriest on April 8, 2009 - 2:22 pm

    I feel your pain Amber. I had basically scrapped the idea of adding holy as my dual spec until I learned that we may be facing a healer shortage as well. If that happens, our best option is to have one of our paladins respec holy, which probably means goodbye to my lazer heals. /cry. Guess you and I better start recruiting huh?

    Vess

  5. #5 by Light on April 8, 2009 - 3:02 pm

    You can always play the “Huh? You wanted me to dual spec holy? I didn’t know, sorry I’m already shadow…” route. :)

  6. #6 by Abruzzi on April 8, 2009 - 3:48 pm

    I like bubbles you can heal me anytime. Wait you can’t we are different factions 8(

  7. #7 by Myssidia on April 8, 2009 - 3:53 pm

    =O AMG! Stay away from Holy! >_> You might end up like Dueg if you switch…

  8. #8 by Rivyn on April 8, 2009 - 5:23 pm

    I’ll be dual spec’d into a tank! don’t forget me! :)

  9. #9 by Kisli on April 8, 2009 - 7:04 pm

    Hey Amber, I just started reading your blog and I absolutely LOVE it. It lacks the ‘omg im better than u wif my NAPKIN MATHZ’ and is instead down to earth (napkin mathz are tl:dr to me usually anyway).

    I just recently rerolled (from a paladin no less! Though she was prot) to a disc priest and I have to say I absolutely love it too. However your post reminded me of my Pre-Wrath resto shaman main (she sits patiently at 78 whispering ‘i haz lazer healz too, don’t forget about me!!11!) and my love for both styles of healing.

    As for duel speccing I will probably be going PvE Disc/Pvp Disc on my priesty because…uhm. Pennance. I’ll be saving the AoEishness for my spacegoat just because chain heal patterns are 4 fun. Now if only leveling to 80 and pugging Naxx was 4 fun XD.

  10. #10 by BobTurkey on April 8, 2009 - 7:55 pm

    I’m in the same position Amber. Dual specs, cool, now I can take Shadow for soloing, variety and MC’ing tuff in 25’s to go with my Disc spec. But Holy looks like fun (I love Renew) and I don’t want to drop Disc soo … *shrugs*

    Looking like Disc/Shadow ATM, but that might change three times before 3.1 goes live. :-)

    Gobble gobble.

  11. #11 by Hulan on April 8, 2009 - 8:15 pm

    I always really enjoyed healing a sa Holy priest until I spec’d Disc to level for WotLK and fell for it hook, line and sinker. With the prospect of dual specs looming I had also considered having Holy as my second spec however I have had to face the truth that I really don’t want to play a Holy priest any more; I love Disc healing! I will be going Shadow for my off-spec MWAHAHAHA!

  12. #12 by HoHo on April 9, 2009 - 2:58 am

    “Can I go from disc to holy by changing out only a few pieces? Noooooo”

    Actually in 3.1 holy is very much dependent on crit for longevity and much less on spirit, quite similar to disc.

  13. #13 by Pixiedark on April 9, 2009 - 11:00 am

    Yay for That Priest being gone!!!! I won’t even try to give advice about Disc/Holy… but if it were me, I don’t think I’d want two healy type specs… just like I don’t want to go Bear/Kitty for 3.1. I want variety… but do what will make you happy and “mostly” satisfy the guild. I’m betting that’s one healy type spec, whether it’s holy or disc, and one of whatever makes you happy. =)

  14. #14 by Kestrel on April 9, 2009 - 12:39 pm

    I’m pretty sure Osprey’s alt spec will be Disc, not Shadow. And that wasn’t your HUNTER calling you, it was her PET! ;)

Leave a Reply

