Confessions of a Guilty Disc Priest

I have a confession to make, guys. 

I am a disc priest…

…and…

…and I love renew.  I use it way, way more than I should considering that it is 1) not considered an “ideal” disc priest thing to do since it doesn’t proc our goodies and 2) I’m not specced for it and 3) I’m not glyphed for it either.

Maybe it’s the paladin in me jumping up and down going “Oh my god, a HoT!  A HoT!  This  is fucking amazing!  I have a HoT!”

In fact, I’m pretty sure that’s it.  I really need to be better about tossing PoM around, and I have a PoM tracker for that purpose, but…I still seem to fail at casting it every CD.  At least at the end of last night’s Naxx, it finally edged out Renew for my #3 heal.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Wikwocket on April 14, 2009 - 11:13 am

    Don’t feel too bad, when I switched from Holy to Disc I did the same! I still get anxious if Grid doesn’t show a Renew on a tank, and I still cast Binding Heal way more than I “should” too. What I tell myself is that our learned routines, the grooves we get into, can do more to help us heal than all the raw efficiency or “correct” spell rotations in the world!

  2. #2 by Paolo on April 14, 2009 - 1:55 pm

    Lol you have it sdrawkcab. It’s the disc priests who shun renew who are off their rockers! A lot of ’em think that because it doesn’t proc divine aegis or rapture that it’s a waste of mana. Sure it’s a weak hot, but if you’re not using ALL your tools then you’ve gimped yourself. Renew is a great heal.

  3. #3 by Hulan on April 14, 2009 - 2:09 pm

    I use mine quite a lot too, especially as I do a lot of 5-mans. I find it useful to chcuk a renew on the dps if they’re taking low damage and then get back to concentrating on the tank.

  4. #4 by Khaeli on April 14, 2009 - 2:12 pm

    I must be off my rocker then.

  5. #5 by sparklefreeze on April 14, 2009 - 3:53 pm

    Lol, to tell you the truth, though I’m Holy and my Renew is improved AND gylphed, it’s never been ranked higher than PoM for me ever. It’s kinda a bad thing for a Holy priest but oh wells, I am in love with the sound of PoM bouncing all over the raid. ^^

    Hopefully things will change for the better when Empowered Renew rolls in for me and starts to charm me off PoM lol.

  6. #6 by HoHo on April 15, 2009 - 2:58 am

    Renew isn’t too bad, it just heals for less than fheal while costing more mana and taking same amount of time to cast. It’s a nice spell to use while running.

  7. #7 by Kestrel on April 17, 2009 - 3:41 pm

    As Disc, you have the potential for a never-ending mana pool. Renew used to excess has the potential to drain that pool, due to its inability to “proc [y]our goodies.”

    However, it IS in the toolbox, and it’s there for a reason. As others have noted (and you’ve seen as well, perhaps), gone are the days of “Stand and cast a 3.4 sec heal, then maybe move, rinse and repeat.” Razorscale? If you can get a GH off in that fight, you are the luckiest healer alive (and probably soon to be dead). EVERY priest will need to cast renew there, early and often.

    But there are other times when bubble + penance, and/or PoH/FH will be a better choice.

    The bottom line hasn’t changed: Did you get your assignment accomplished? If so, great; if not, figure out what needs to be fixed.

    And I’m reminded I need to write a healy-oriented article, myself. :)

Leave a Reply

