Angry Noises!

Warning: the post below contains cusswords and CAPS OF RAAAAAAAAGE.  You know, kind of like a normal post, only more so.

I can be very sweet and mellow.

I can also be ragingly impatient.

I’m an intellectual snob-I’ll give you that.  I’m a smart cookie and I get very upset to look around and sometimes see a lot of dumb doughnuts mixed in with my cookie-friends.  I wanted to do Maly and OS+1 last night.  I was determined to pug if I had to, and I did.  I also begged the favors of friends.

You can imagine how pleased I was to only get OS done.  Without a drake.

To (Some Of) My Guildies,

“Oh I don’t want PUGS!”  Some cried.  Well guess what-the pug rogue out DPSed all of you.  The hunter still wearing blues?  Was #3.  The WARLOCK STILL WEARING A FUCKING LEVEL 60 TRINKET OUT DPS’D SOME OF YOU.  Okay…two of you.  But what the hell

(Some of my guildies were, of course, fucking amazing-and I’m not forgetting you guys.  I dragged you into this half-baked raid of mine, and you came and did not suck, and I’ll love you for it!)

Dear Everyone In General,

Maly hurts!  Why the hell on phase three were you all so bound and determined to give him a fucking hug?  I know 3-D space is difficult, people, but if I can handle it why the fuck can’t you?  I’m TERRIBLE at phase 3!  Terrible!  And I know that near Maly  = ouch!  So…don’t get near the damned dragon!  You know how on KT, you don’t want to stand near me because I have like, 23k mana raid buffed?  Yeah.  You don’t want to get near Maly, either.  No really…you don’t…WHY THE HELL ARE YOU ALL GOING OVER THERE.  I BACKED AWAY FROM HIM AT THE START FOR A REASON.  AWAAAAY.  AWAY.  GOD DAMN IT.

*headdesk*

Also, I know that OS was buggy.  The waves were doing funny things, like re-submerging, and making it kind of hard to see where they were.  But again: if I can get out of the damn fire…lil’ ol’ me, one of THE most easily distractable, totally not spatially aware people in the world can get out of the damn fire, then you, sir, can manage to not get hit by the wave every single fucking time!

Of course tonight, I will promptly repeat my performance in Udluar and….die in a fire (o hai, Razorscale).

But not in OS, people!  One drake isn’t hard!  It’s not, honest!  No really!  It isn’t! 

Dear Guildies,

“There’s nothing for me in there” is NOT a valid reason to pass on instance runs.  No.  It’s not.  Because you know what?  There’s gear for me there, best in slot gear (or close).  And there’s gear for other people there.  Those other people will be in part responsible for our success (or failure) in Ulduar.  I know that’s hard to believe, but the other people in your raid matter. Funny how that works, innit? 

 

I basically give up on ever running a successful Maly 25, or OS+1.  These fell off the guild calender, and thus vanished into the void…never to be seen by me…

And either Ulduar will sharpen the skills of people who got lazy in Naxx, or the guild will asplode.

Let’s see, shall we?

Ironically, we’re now hurting for healers…when we used to have too many.  Oi! 

One of our druids hasn’t logged on in 13, 14 days.  I wish I knew what happened to him!  Having had guildies manage to die in car accidents before, I’m a smidge paranoid…

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Khaeli on April 22, 2009 - 12:16 pm

    For Malygos, appoint one person who does have good spacial sense and who understands the encounter as the raid’s follow target. Mark that person with Square (or whatever). Have everyone make a /follow [whoever] macro AND keybind it (as your normal action bar will disappear). When you get on the dragon, navigate yourself close to square and hit the macro (I bind it to the .-button). Presto. Everyone sticks together, making it far easier to heal

    I do not understand why flame waves in OS are difficult for some folks. They are announced on your screen (whether or not you have DBM). They move slowly. They always come from the same place. And so there’s either going to be a “safe spot” in the middle or safe spots at the ends of the island. If you are facing the doorway and hear a wave is coming, look left. If the waves are coming from that direction, stand in the middle. If you don’t see waves, run to the belly. I’ve had the waves appear strangely lately too, but the positioning for the fight hasn’t changed, despite the graphical snafus.

    As far as your guild and Ulduar, I’d strongly recommend you avoid the 25mans. If folks don’t have the situational awareness (or dps or healing oomph) to do these other instances, the new raid zone might just be more struggle than it’s worth (except the loliathan). Pick your best 10 and do the zone that way. If people are pissed they’re not chosen, encourage them to pull their shit together if they expect an invite. Because every single fight has some sort of “don’t stand in the fire” component. And you need everyone alive (except the odd expendable hunter, I’d daresay) to defeat the encounter.

    And it sucks, but if you have 1 holy paladin and 2 disc priests, i’d say the priests need to be holy to deal with the massive (MASSIVE) aoe damage. Sorry :(

    God, I’m a wordy bitch. <3

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on April 22, 2009 - 12:49 pm

    It’s hard to get people to make such macros in a half-pug. We DID have a target assigned (follow the star, follow the star!) but that was ME, and part of why I’m raving. I was not followed! Even remotely!

    It also was in part a DPS issue…I had to tell people to stand in the sparks. >:|

    We will definitely do Ulduar 10s, not the 25s for now. And a few people we carried will likely not be along with.

    …and we have 2 holy paladins, and two disc priests. And Ron dual specced holy but I did not. >.> Also, our one geared holy priest wants to go shadow. The other holy priest needs some gear. So that leaves us with a resto shaman and a tree…

    *cries* I don’t want to go holy!

  3. #3 by kyrilean on April 22, 2009 - 12:59 pm

    @ Amber – Sorry I had to leave. Being an off night I figured we’d be done faster than we even started. Some of my BiS gear is there as well dammit and I want in!!! Don’t give up on it yet cuz I for one still want to go. :)

    As for the cussing, is it bad that I had to actually scroll back up to see if you even cussed at all in this post? :P

  4. #4 by Zuki on April 22, 2009 - 1:09 pm

    Well, I know I haven’t been on much this past week, but should be back on regularly soon. I’ll miss this Wed and next, but then I should be able to start making the Wednesday runs! I really don’t want to see a bald Amber.

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on April 22, 2009 - 1:20 pm

    @Kyr: No, you’re just slowly growing immune, or…something? And don’t worry about leaving! It was an off night raid, so while I expect people to not be retarded, I don’t expect everyone to have endless amounts of time to devote because people forget their brains. :) ilu, Kyky, you know this.

    @Zuuukiiiiii! OMG. We’ll need you. You know how we had too many healers? We totally don’t anymore. It sucks. So much. And you haz mad chain healz. And a bald Amber is totally not as pretty…I’d be sad…

  6. #6 by jong on April 22, 2009 - 1:41 pm

    i like this post! near maly = ouch!

  7. #7 by Melissa on April 22, 2009 - 3:24 pm

    @Khaeli: I don’t think you understood what she meant about the waves. They are bugged on my server too. They disappear and reappear constantly so you only have a few seconds to react if you are on the same side the wave is starting from. And while we may know to stand in the “middle” or “ends”, getting the right position is more difficult with the bugginess.

    Notice they could fix exorcism with the patch, but not the bugginess of the freaking waves??!!

    –“There’s nothing for me in there” is NOT a valid reason to pass on instance runs.
    These are the people that I really have to be careful with. I get an itchy /kick trigger finger with them.

    As for OS and VoA, I have made it clear to pugs and guildies alike that I will not attempt either in easy mode any longer. Some people think it’s too hard before they even try. I’m hoping that if one of their best dps doesn’t show, maybe they’ll make some extra effort.

  8. #8 by Perrin on April 23, 2009 - 12:29 am

    /pat

    That is all. :-P

  9. #9 by Blessing on April 23, 2009 - 4:38 am

    –”There’s nothing for me in there” is NOT a valid reason to pass on instance runs.

    This has to be one of my biggest pet peeves also. People forget about others once they have everything they want from somewhere, forget that helping others helps you in the long run. As an Officer, my guildies know if I hear this they’re in for a long “Blessing Speech” about helping guildies to help your raid, etc. Why are you in a guild? Oh yeah to get pretty purple loot. Atleast that seems to be the theme for some.

    Sorry for the rant, you just happen to mention a subject that drives me insane!

  10. #10 by HoHo on April 23, 2009 - 6:12 am

    ”There’s nothing for me in there” is NOT a valid reason to pass on instance runs.”

    In your case it’s certainly not a good idea as you didn’t have enough decent players to fill a raid. In other cases I have skipped raids with little or no upgrades to give others possibility to get their much-needed stuff.

    About OS+1D, it’s terribly easy. If people fail there they have no chance in Ulduar. Sure, they’ll probably kill the first boss but only to be endlessly wiping on trash.

  11. #11 by Paldasan on April 23, 2009 - 9:21 am

    Your posts are like a beautiful rainbow of light and kittens.

Leave a Reply

