Random Musings on Mains and Identity

I have been a holy paladin longer than anything else.  I did briefly have a BM hunter as my main in BC, and later I actively raided with both for awhile while savoring the different playstyles.  But when my hunter’s guild collapsed can you guess who became my main?

Yup, the pally.  Part of that was need, of course but…not all of it.

Even when Jamethera was enjoying her time in the spotlight, everyone who know me called me Ambro.  Even now that Ambrosine languishes with her talent points still refunded and I raid with nothing but my priest, I still count myself a holy paladin.  She’s still on my banner.  She’s still my little icon on for comments.

You can’t erase four years of play time, after all. 

Of course I also count myself as a prot warrior, and a BM hunter.  Basically anything that I played at max level, I “am”.  I am not a DK (60) or a fire mage (55) or a feral druid (48), though.  I guess I am also a prot paladin and a shadow priest, as I not only played those roles at max level but have raided as such.

But if you strip away everything else, even the class distinction, and ask me what I consider myself most of all?
A healer.
…who occasionally likes to melt faces and play with kitties and big dinosaurs.
How about you?

, ,

  1. #1 by willel on May 15, 2009 - 11:16 am

    That’s a really interesting question. I feel most comfortable as a DPS, who occasionally likes to also heal. But I keep imagining I want to do the healing thing full-time.

  2. #2 by Arrens on May 15, 2009 - 11:22 am

    I am a DPSer, tried & true (if discussing pure game mechanics. Otehrwise, I’m a roleplayer). Of course, I’m not the cookie-cutter DPS player either. I like to go with the unconventional specs, mostly because it’s what I find fun. Since Day 1, my rogue has been Subtlety specced. Typically, that’s the PvP spec for rogues, and yet I’ve raided with it to great effect. (There are few things healers like more than a rogue shadowstepping & stunlocking a mob that has aggroed onto them.)

    My warlock was Demonology before Demonology was cool. And my lowbie druid? He’ll be kitty DPS. Because I don’t see them that often. ;)

  3. #3 by Isiene on May 15, 2009 - 2:01 pm

    Healer healer healer! And strangely, right now, priest, priest, priest only. I can’t seem to imagine myself as a druid/pally/shammy healer, for some reason.

    I guess this is why when I decided to start on an alt, I… rolled another priest on another server.

    I think I like pain.

  4. #4 by Hidebound on May 15, 2009 - 2:31 pm

    I am a Shaman.

    Whether I am bashing the enemy’s head with fearsome melee skill, calling upon the power of the elements and flinging lightning from afar, or dancing through the fight as a bringer of sweet, sweet heals it all is pure fun.

    No other class that I’ve tried (and after 4 years I’ve played them all) can compare to the sheer joy of being a Shaman.

  5. #5 by kyrilean on May 15, 2009 - 2:36 pm

    Holy pally.
    Shadow priest.
    PvP Ret pally.
    Enh. shammy.

    Soon to be, I hope:
    Holy priest.
    Resto shammy.

  6. #6 by Dorgol on May 15, 2009 - 3:10 pm

    I’m still identified with my Warlock’s name, though I haven’t played him regularly in 2 years. Heck, even though he’s been level 80 for a few months now I haven’t done but a handful of heroics on him (I think I have 15 emblems).

    As for what I *am*… I follow the same logic as you, with two exceptions.

    I have played a Warlock at all 3 level caps. I raided MC, BWL, and AQ40 with him. In TBC I did some Karazhan and I think I got pulled into a ZA once.

    I have played a Warrior at 60 and 70. This is one of the two exceptions as the class was all but abandoned pre-TBC (I only leveled him because I had so much downtime). He is still sitting at 71 and I rarely consider him part of my retinue of charactres.

    I have played a Paladin at 70 and 80. This quickly became my main character. Primarily I am a healer, though I have dabbled in the other two spwcs outside of raids. I’m really hoping to get my Prot gear up to Naxx levels.

    I have played a Mage at 70. He’s now sitting at 72 and slowly beginning to rot. Originally he was going to be my 3rd 80, but…

    … my 2nd exception is proving to be more alluring. I have a Druid. I leveled him to 60 in the weeks leading up to WotLK releae, but didn’t hit 70 (and thus I didn’t have him at a level cap) until after WotLK release. He is sitting at 75 and is sizing up to be just as fun as my Paladin. Right now (and it could just be the rush of leveling him 1.5 levels yesterday) he is really starting to overtake my Warlock (as depressing as it feels) in popularity.

    So… I AM:

    A Holy Paladin with aspirations of being a Tank.
    A Warlock. Always. Even if he doesn’t see much action these days (I even changed his hair from black to grey to signify his aging).
    A Frost Mage (screw the other specs). If I want to play for no other reason than to amuse the Horde, I fall by on my little Gnomish Engineer.
    A Druid with an unknown future.

    I am not a Warrior (abandoned to languish away in Shattrath).
    I am not a Deathknight (despite loving the class decription I can’t get one past level 61).
    I am not a Priest (though my bank alt has been level 25 longer than 3 of my other characters – the Paladin, Mage, Driud – have existed).

  7. #7 by KiwiRed on May 15, 2009 - 7:57 pm

    I’m… a dwarf. A hunter, two priests, two rogues, a paladin and a prot warrior, all dwarves. Ever since I settled into the game and made myself comfortable, it’s been all about the dwarves. (Give me the ability to roll a dwarf druid, and I’ll die happy. Then I’ll run back to my body and keep on going.)

  8. #8 by jong on May 15, 2009 - 8:06 pm

    I’m a melee dps. The funny thing is, I’ve never played a warrior, but I feel close to arms warrior than anything else I’ve played. and I wish my ret pally could charge like warriors.

  9. #9 by Syrana on May 15, 2009 - 10:31 pm

    I am a warlock. I like to cause others pain from afar.

    My hunter was my first character to level cap in TBC and was my main for at least a year. When I rolled Syrana… everyone still called me Aerissa.

    Worst part, since I didn’t really like running dungeons with Aer and had no intention of raiding with her… everyone assumed it was the same with Syrana. But not so.

    With a server move, and well over a year of Syrana being the Queen o’ my character screen… that’s how everyone knows me and who I identify with. But I go one step further. I’m not just a warlock. I am an affliction warlock. *nodnod*

  10. #10 by Faulsey on May 16, 2009 - 9:02 am

    I identify myself mostly as a face smasher!

    My main is, of course, my Enhancement Shaman, and my next highest alt after my Hunter is a Feral Druid, who can either rip face or have his own face smashed in. I don’t really consider myself a Hunter anymore, despite that being the class I played for the longest time.

    Syrana touched on names, so I wll too.

    My online name is and always has been Faulsey. Outside of game – blogs, twitter, BA Chat – I’m known as Faulsey. In game, I’m Ellaria. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it causes confusion, but it still feels a bit… wierd.

  11. #11 by Paldasan on May 17, 2009 - 1:32 am

    Dps. Even though before I stopped playing I was healing Naxx I’m too technically minded. Loatheb and KT were to my mind (as a healer) the only interesting fights. So each week we’d clear Naxx and I’d feel no sense of accomplishment, only the slightest bit of satisfaction at the end of the two above mentioned bosses.
    Aiming to maxismise dps rotations, positionings and dealing with 400ms+ lag (I’m down under) were worthy challenges. Any night where I wasn’t class lead or overall dps lead would mean hours or research and theorycraft to find an extra 20dps.

  12. #12 by Fridaymacfay on May 17, 2009 - 12:18 pm

    I identify with my characters more as friends or companions than as extension or representations of m’self. Though there’s probably plenty of psychology behind that! I can’t see me strapping on several hundred pounds of titan steel and fighting big monsters. Assuming I could move (unlikely) I’d run away and cry. :)

    So, in a way a identify with all my characters because they behave and have the traits I like in real people. My paladin is noble and true. My mage finds fun in everything from how she fights to the outfits she wears (“To hell with stats, how’s it make my butt looks?!?”) My warlock isn’t evil, just very devil-may-care and determined to get the job done and damn what anyone thinks about the method. My main is tough and pretty and likes leather and flowers. I guess I identify with Friday most cause she’s strong (I’m not), hardcore in everything she does and lives life at full tilt. I certainly do that sometimes… but she’s at it full time. It’s neat that she lets me tag along. :)

    Great question. Hmmmm….

    -Fri

  13. #13 by Impy on May 18, 2009 - 10:05 am

    I iz impy
    hart <3 hart <3

    and cookiez ^w^

    *hugsnug* bai!

  14. #14 by Khaelie on May 18, 2009 - 11:52 am

    i am a resto shaman.
    even though my hunter has had more time played and even leveled to 80 before my shammy… somehow i just lost interest in the DPS game. when i get the itch to DPS, i usually go back to my priest or DK for a few hours, but then i always come back to my shammy. She is the one i love to play.

  15. #15 by Parvati V on May 21, 2009 - 9:27 am

    I am a warlock.
    She is the first character I ever rolled, shortly after launch in Europe, and still my main after these 4 years.

    I have played and enjoyed thoroughly healers, both specced for it and offspec (priest, shaman and paladin), and even a tankadin. I mostly heal 5-mans, though now that raids are so accessible I may get a bit farther with my shaman.
    But at heart, and when I get down to business, I am a warlock.

  16. #16 by korenmolen on July 1, 2009 - 1:14 pm

    I am a holy pally. No wait, an unholy DK. And I levelled the pally as holy for more than 40 levels…

    But the DPS optimisation is more exciting…

  17. #17 by Millea on August 6, 2009 - 4:16 pm

    I know this is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay late but I have been reading your archives and found this now.

    I am an affliction lock.

    I cant even see myself playing any other spec. No matter how much they nerf us, I will continue to be an affliction lock.

    Ive been leveling a lazer chicken and a ret pally recently, but I am known as “Mil” or “Milly” in my guild.

    Even when I start raiding on my chicken/tree, I will still be a lock, and I will still be called Mil

Leave a Reply

