Thoughts on Iron Council and Freya

Begin Rambling Here

First off, I have to call out for Steve being a scrub here-he didn’t research the Freya fight because he didn’t think we’d get past the Iron Council.  We downed the Iron Council in only 3-4 attempts, one of which didn’t count because Josh and I DC’d moments after the pull.   Granted, they apparently gave group 1 a bit of trouble before, but I still mock his lack of confidence.

Naturally this meant that we got to Freya’s room, started cluelessly pulling trash and…OW.  Cue me putting in /rw, “Trash is srs bzns!”  Yeah, no more blindly wandering into even trash…though nothing shall compare to C’thun trash.  Ever.  …I hope.

After we recovered from unsolicited attentions from over-sized flowers, we stared at the boss and went “Hmmm.”   Then we went and looked for videos (my google-fu is better than Steve’s-I found the 10 man video!), and had three people describe the fight while showing obvious signs of having tuned out half of the previous commentary (“Did you talk about the Touch of Eonar?”  “Yes, Josh.  I said to kill the trees.”)

One day I should record me explaining a boss fight.  “At that point, you’ll see these green trees spawn.  You need to kill them OH MY GOD QUICKLY, because otherwise they’ll heal the boss and we’ll want to hunt you down and stab you in the face.  So kill the trees, mmkay?”  I don’t bother to get into technical terms like Touch of Eonar.  Who the hell is going to know what that is?!  I like to translate things into “raider speak”.   Also, it amuses me. 

Anyway.  At some point, after wave after wave of flowery chaos, I lost it and just started going “badger badger badger badger MUSHROOM, MUSHROOM” to the complete bafflement of everyone in the raid.  I can’t say how much progress we made-we only got a couple of attempts in, and it was rather chaotic.  It can be summed up with “adds did not die like they were supposed to.”  Hopefully a week to mull over things and do further research will be the magic trick, as it was with Iron Council.  I really…don’t quite GET the Freya fight, perhaps because as a healer all I’m worried about is my little green bars and the location of the nearest mushroom.

If nothing else, I was there for one progression boss kill AND got a dagger out of it-woo!  No more H Nexus mace! 

Begin Somewhat Useful Observation Here

Freya aside, I enjoyedIron Council for reasons not related to shiny loot they handed over.  For one thing, I had to dig out skills I remember perfecting back in the days of AQ40-mana management.  Only back then I was chain drinking pots, and now I’m jugging ability cooldowns.

At 75%, use shadow fiend.  When I dip back down again (“down” meaning sub-75%, not almost OOM…the intent is to prevent being OOM, after all) I scoot over to my other healers (assuming I’m not already near them) and use Hymn of Hope.   If you have multiple priests, sharing your Hymn of Hope really helps. 

And then…I wait.  If I hit the 50% mark and my cooldowns aren’t up soon, I go for a mana pot.  By the time my mana bar is dwindling into the “uh-oh!” stages, my shadow fiend should be back up.  In the final “oh god oh god the boss is almost dead but my mana is almost gone!” part I usually have my Hymn back up. 

 I toss Pain Supression on the tank while channeling Hymn to try to prevent any unhappy “oh SHIT!” moments.

It’s really “fun” to be on a tank “and raid.”  Mmhmm.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Adgamorix on May 19, 2009 - 2:37 pm

    Our Disc priest has put up videos of (some) of our 10 man kills if you want to see them from his perspective. They aren’t tankspot ‘how to’ videos by any stretch, but you can see how ADD he is at least.

    http://www.youtube.com/user/goomba2k1

    Congratulations on a new kill!

  2. #2 by jong on May 19, 2009 - 3:17 pm

    fun post as always. grats on dagger and i hope you guys get her next week!

  3. #3 by Faulsey on May 19, 2009 - 6:16 pm

    When/if I get to do Freya?

    Singing the badger badger song on teamspeak.

    Thank you for the idea.

    -grins-

  4. #4 by iwog on May 20, 2009 - 3:31 am

    After following this randomness for a while I have a tip for Freya. The way we worked it was to have our aoe range (mage + shadow priest) maintain their aoes on the 3 elementals, whilst our enhance shammy called to our mele (him + rogue + retadin) and ele sham who to focus fire on. The order of focus fire was, snaplasher, stormlasher then water reverant as thats the order of their health pools. Finally we had our awesome DK tank pick them up and follow the calls so none of the mele got one shotted due to threat.

    After the PoS that are the elementals the rest of the fight is easy, just make sure to ball up on the tank for the lasher adds and not kill them all at once.

  5. #5 by Dorgol on May 20, 2009 - 12:16 pm

    The main thing that confused me on our first shots on Freya was the silence. I KNEW there was an AOE Silence. I KNEW the mushrooms saved me from being silenced. I DIDN’T know that I could leave the safety of the mushroom once the giant tree add was dead. Knowing this allowed me to heal better, as I was able to stop hunting for more ‘shrooms.

    Oh, and Aura Mastery does work on that AOE silence. I use it immediately when the adds spawn and let my healers know so they can toss a few HOTs while they run to the first ‘shroom.

  6. #6 by Non Elitist Raider on May 20, 2009 - 5:46 pm

    I have some helpy tips on my blog about Freya and a weird stretchy picture: http://nonelitistraiding.blogspot.com/2009/05/freya-with-no-adds.html. The main trick with this fight is your DPS knowing when to STOP hitting stuff. And it goes against their inner nature to do so! Get that sorted and you will be fine :)

  7. #7 by Paldasan on May 21, 2009 - 8:11 am

    For those who have no idea what the badger song is…
    http://www.weebls-stuff.com/toons/badgers/

    and just for the heck of it, my fav. weebl and bob:
    http://www.weebls-stuff.com/wab/CSI

Leave a Reply

