In Which I Cry

My original plan for today (yes, PLAN) was for another flow chart.  Then I pugged an OS25 last night and got ranting fodder, instead.

First, we 19 manned it.  I thanked the gods that Zoja was tanking for me.  We had four healers, so I figured we should have been okay…even if they were another disc priest, a holy pally, and a resto druid.  Little light on the AoE heals but it’d be fine if people got the fuck out of the fire, right?

…yeah, you see where this is going, don’t you?

 

First off: I’ll acknowledge that healing meters are shit.  No one knows this more than a disc priest.  Therefore, I can ignore the fact that the ret pally healed almost as much as a holy pally.  What I cannot ignore, however, is that Holy Shock was his #1 used spell.

Holy shock.  When the raid was, absolutely, taking damage.  Hell, the OT was taking damage…that I was healing…because the other healers-save the druid-weren’t really keeping up.   Pleeeeenty of opportunity for FoL or HL.

Other bubbles from the disc priest?  I didn’t see any.  I do, after all, have my grid set up to show Weakened Soul…nope.  Nada.  NOTHING.  Not even on the OT after I expressed my ownership of The Zoja.  There is life for bubbles beyond the MT, people!  Casting PoH over and over is not only mana inefficient, it’s hardly the only way we have to cope with raid damage.  I smell a holy priest convert.  And more than that, a priest that WAS HIT BY EVERY SINGLE FUCKING FLAMEWALL.

EVERY SINGLE ONE.

It reached the point where I decided that it was more mana efficient for me to let him die than to try to keep him alive.  It’s not like he was really healing much, anyway.  A peek at the spell usage after the raid told me that he used penance 20 times to my 66. 

/headdesk

/headdesk

/headdesk

Me, the druid, a damned fine tank, and some good DPS (and one otherwise good but flamewall eating DPS) CARRIED that damn raid.  Carried!   /shakes fist

GET OUT OF THE FUCKING FIRE.

 

USE YOUR OTHER GOD DAMN SPELLS.

FFS.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dorgol on May 27, 2009 - 11:06 am

    I am both saddened, and amused, at your problems. ;)

  2. #2 by Kisli on May 27, 2009 - 11:46 am

    Omg Amber I can relate! I did OS on my undergeared Shammy last night with four druids and two of the druids were being outhealed by the Ret Paladin’s Judgement of Light!

  3. #3 by HoHo on May 27, 2009 - 11:51 am

    OS is fun, especially doing 10-man with guild tanks, guild healer, couple of guild DPS’ers and bring 3-5 pug dps’ers. Notice “healer” in singular. Yes, 10-man OS is healable by a single healer, we even had one drake up that spawns extra adds :)

    I’m still planning to make 3-5 man group to clear 25-man OS without drakes. It shouldn’t take more than 2 tanks, and 1-2 healers. Perhaps even a single tank could handle it. Bringing extra DPS will just make it faster.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on May 27, 2009 - 12:34 pm

    /pats

  5. #5 by Isiene on May 27, 2009 - 4:23 pm

    I’m scared to pug raids now. Can you believe I once grouped with a holy priest who only used flash heal, and during Maly’s vortex, did one CoH and then gave up in defeat? After sooo many wipes, I looked at his spell usage: he used 60+ flash heals, and only around 10 PoMs?

    I politely left the raid after that.

  6. #6 by Pixelated Executioner on May 27, 2009 - 4:23 pm

    Definitely not good.

    I’m always amazed that there are so many people who are restricted to tunnel-vision when they need to be situationally aware. Nobody’s guild is safe, either – in my DK’s guild, we have the same people who CONTINUALLY fail at fire wall, or get hit during the Heigan dance, or cross polarities on Thaddius. It’s enfuriating, and they never learn.

    I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

