But you don’t understaaaaaaaaaaaaand!

 

Our Ulduar10 group has been…wonky, of late.  Key DPS is missing.  Key healers are missing.  Work, broken computers, school, and broken wrists have stolen people away.  We went from running two 10s to only one, sometimes having to pug for even that.

Such is summer in the World of Warcraft.

One of the issues we’ve run into is that we’re missing our normal hunter, and thus…missing our usual source of replenishment.  Our ret pally’s attendance has never been reliable, our other hunter is on vacation, we have no frost mages, and we have no raiding shadow priests.

That left your local dual disc/shadow priest.  *raises hand*

The problem is that, since Ron is also only semi-available, that we were doing Ulduar 10 sans a disc priest.  And we’ve…always had a disc priest, in addition to our holy pally.  Apparently holy pally + tree + shaman, or holy pally + 2 trees just wasn’t working well for our particular group.

So they wanted me to switch disc and have a tree go DPS.

…did I mention that I was the only replenishment?

“So Amber, what is your thought about healing Ulduar without replenishment?”

Fuck you.  It falls squarely into the “I might be able to do it but I sure as hell won’t enjoy it” category.  But I can’t tell you for sure because we wiped a few times and then had to call it. 

/twitches

I remain stubbornly unconvinced that my raid damage reduction counters the lack of replen on a fight (Iron Council) that strained my mana WITH replen.

/crosses arms

/glares

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dorgol on June 2, 2009 - 12:32 pm

    My raid had me go Ret for our raid on Sat. I was barely pulling 2200 DPS while the “trial” Holy Paladin struggled with some of the basics of the fights.

    I did discover that I shouldn’t do Ret DPS with Righteous Fury active. Even in today’s “threat is a joke” game – getting a 90% boost to your threat generation can cause pain… lots and lots of pain.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on June 2, 2009 - 12:58 pm

    @Dorgol – I was barely pulling 2200 DPS overall because I was dropping shadow to heal sometimes-either an OMG Divine Hymn or an outright “shit a healer died” offspec healz time. In truth, I am a BAD backseat healer. XD

  3. #3 by Elleiras on June 2, 2009 - 2:17 pm

    Oh god.

    We did Uld10 through Freya with no replenishment last week. I had to call for our bear tank’s innervate so many times it was embarassing. The thing is, we had a warlock in the group — he just didn’t have replenishment in either of his specs. Next time, we hand him 100g and send him to the trainer. /shakesfist

  4. #4 by Copernicus on June 3, 2009 - 9:35 am

    We did Ulduar 10 last night and for the first time ever in a raid, I got to DPS with shaman. I usually tank with my druid or heal with the shaman. It was so much fun! Pulling 2500 DPS in mostly my healing gear, I don’t think I ever went below 95% mana from all the MP5. My ragtag DPS kit is so LOL.

    The sad thing is, my shaman is an “alt”, so I am relegated to rolling during off set rolls. (a guild rule, we want to gear mains before alts) Our other shaman healer got a couple good pieces of loot though.

  5. #5 by Dorgol on June 3, 2009 - 10:48 am

    @Ambrosyne: I would love to say I had low DPS because I was trying to heal or support the group in other ways.

    Sadly, I just don’t have the Ret gear to be in Ulduar:

    I’m not hit-capped
    I still had a blue helm (replaced it with a crafted helm as soon as we were done)
    I still have a level 70 neck (and it’s a *PvP* neck!)
    Most of my Ret gear isn’t enchanted…

    The list goes on and on.

    Now, if my group decides I should keep a DPS spec as secondary (instead of Prot I was running before), then I’ll certainly get my gear in shape. But to ask me to switch 3 minutes before the raid was just RUDE. :)

  6. #6 by Bruski on June 4, 2009 - 11:03 am

    Don’t worry, you’re not alone, I’m having the same problems trying to get good people for my ulduar 10 group. The past two weeks we’ve been trying to down mimiron without a druid. No brez makes raid leader sad panda.
    Also, had to have our best dps, a fury warrior, switch to tanking so there was no good tank available in guild who wanted to come, and sometimse have to have an enhancement shaman or our shadow priest function as the third healer.
    I’m about to pull my hair out and give up on the whole thing, but I think witht he Mimiron nerfs we’ll be able to kill him tonight. Oh, if I can find one last dps for our raid. >.<

Leave a Reply

