Less Bubbles, More Hammers

So Tuesday night I said, “Alright, let’s go tackle normal Halls of Lightning on Ambrosyne.  I should be able to tank a normal alright, and it drops a trinket I need because I’m still toting around a level 68 blue.”

I couldn’t find DPS for the LIFE of me.  It was just me, Kyr on his shaman, and some hapless level 75 warlock.  My attempts at prodding LFG for DPS resulted in a random DK telling me that if I couldn’t find DPS I was fail. 

…because trolling LFG on a DK is totally cool, amirite? 

Anyway, I ended up batting my eyes at Josh and getting him to drag his DK along.  I didn’t think it would be so bad…I mean, it was a NORMAL instance.  I basically knew how to tank, I mean I MT’d/OT’d Kara and OT’d Gruuls and SSC on this toon, right?  And I had a 76 prot warrior!  I’d be fine!  I had some purples, Drake was in purples, fuck it we’d 4 man the place.

…did I mention that Ky hadn’t done much healing on his shaman yet?

There’s a saying among horsefolk about what happen when you throw a green rider on a green horse.  It results in black and blue.  Throw a nubtank and a nubhealer together, no matter how otherwise skilled and familiar with the role they may be, and you get…a normal instance run worth 24g in repairs.

/facepalm

Though someone needs to explain to me how the first boss wiped us twice, only for us to one shot Loken.  …seriously?  How is “run out of whirlwind” harder than “run out of nova”? 

Also, did you know that a 75 warlock in HoL has an aggro radius the size of Jupiter?!  Nothing like tanking the gauntlet adds on the stairs only to also get BOTH add packs on the sides.  Thank god for paladins, the Class That Won’t Fucking Die.  We had a ret pally with us for a very brief time, before he…disconnected, and he had the presence of mind to heal me some.  Such a shame he had…internet troubles.

Josh, in his infinite wisdom (and, perhaps, because I dragged him out of Eve for this madness), decided that since HE had to learn tanking via coping with stupid people, so would I.  He then proceeded to be that DK that every tank hates, death grip pulls and all.  I may or may not have called him a “cuntbucket”. 

Regardless, that was my first attempt at tanking again.  Last night was a raid night, so no more tanking practice there…and Thursday is the Naxx I signed up to OT for.

…this will be FUN!

Also – Amber Thinks These Posts Are Cool:
Flowcharts are Contagious(Pally Tank Gemming)
I just love top ten lists!
Matty tells us how to wipe in Ulduar

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Faid on June 11, 2009 - 8:57 am

    Did ya get your trinket? :D I HATE HoL just becaue of the headaches I had tanking that place on my pally for that trinket. FINALLY got it after a good 20 runs, replaced it shortly thereafter. >_< (But I still have it to stay def capped when I need to swap out gear pieces.)

  2. #2 by Linedan on June 11, 2009 - 9:09 am

    I got the Seal of the Pantheon on my second trip in there (mmmm, Haterade). I helped a DK friend get it and it took her fourteen runs. Keep grinding. I still wear it halfway through 25-man Ulduar, it’s worth the grind.

    Personally, *I* think you should take Amber lolret to have some happy happy DPS funtiems and level your prot warrior to 80 and use them to tank…but I am a little biased, after all. /meltingcoweyes

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on June 11, 2009 - 10:02 am

    @Faid – Yeah I totally got it…on my first run. I think Josh wanted to choke me. :D

    @Linedan – I didn’t have enough ret gaer, and no interest in running enough as holy to attain said ret gear. Prot it was! I’ll just tank with the prot warrior, too. >.> C’mon, having two tanks is no less crazy than having two healers. I have my priest’s shadow spec for DPS funtimes…not that, you know, I ever get to use it. But that’s another story.

  4. #4 by Light on June 11, 2009 - 11:31 am

    Now you have to run H UP 80000000000000 times for the sword. Er, wait… :)

  5. #5 by kyrilean on June 11, 2009 - 11:41 am

    “…did I mention that Ky hadn’t done much healing on his shaman yet?” – a.k.a. N.O.N.E.

    “How is “run out of whirlwind” harder than “run out of nova”?
    ” – Cuz at least on the first wipe, Ky’s a nub.

    And I offer to pay any and all repairs for continued tanking help on either my priest or shammy for healing practice. Same offer applies to Josh. (Thank the light my experiment is going well! :D)

  6. #6 by zupa on June 11, 2009 - 9:06 pm

    Hi Ambrosyne,

    I Just stumbled across your blog this morning, what a fun read!

    That HoL run of death sounds all too familiar, hope you get your trinket without too much pain and suffering.

    At least you didn’t try to take down the first boss with his enrage thing up… twice! and it wasn’t even my first run!

    I did get the trinket, however and I’m happy with that

    – Zupa

  7. #7 by Sawyer on June 12, 2009 - 12:16 am

    I give DK’s one chance to DG pull something I don’t ask for, and then I make them take that stupid spell off their toolbar or GTFO of my group. I could kill Blizzard for giving that to non-tanks.

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on June 12, 2009 - 1:21 pm

    @zupa – hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!

    @Light – HA! I have it already-it dropped while I was healadinining and no one else needed it. But I did run it elevety billion times healing for other tanks, so I did my dues in that damned instance!

Leave a Reply

