When the Other Half Stops Playing

Over the weekend, Josh decided that he’s had it with WoW.  He didn’t unsub, but he’s not an officer anymore, he’s not raiding, and hasn’t logged on in days. 

Am I upset?  Fuck yes I am.

There is, of course, the slight feeling of panic that any raider feels when their best tank up and leaves.  It’s not that our other tanks are bad.  They just don’t have the time on the job that my Josh does, having converted to tanking from other class, or simply having joined post-Vanilla WoW.

But it was also easier on us as a couple, raiding together.  It was something to do together-I can’t say I’m a fan of most of the games that he favors.  I’m mostly dead weight in FPS games co-op modes-I can’t aim worth shit.  I stare at Eve blankly and decide that I’d rather fire pew pew healing lasers, not railguns.   I played Castle Crashers last night with him and ate a lot of floor-is that what being a rogue is like?  So I’ll miss playing WoW with him, as it’s one of the few games that we both play that I can claim some skill at.

It also makes me nostalgic.  I met him playing this game, after all.  I think that I’ll even be a little sad when I leave WoW behind myself, because it brought so much to my life-good and bad.  More good than bad-yeah it’s been a time sink, but sometimes I needed that time sunk.

…blah.  So many scrub tanks to polish, to try to take his place…

,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on June 17, 2009 - 11:08 am

    Yeah, unfortunately, we also lost two of our best tanks recently, leaving us with two just ok ones and a part time one who’s more used to DPS.

    I hope you and Josh find a game you two can play together again though. Maybe a little bit of Dawn of War II? I don’t know how you feel about RTS’s though.

  2. #2 by Psynister on June 17, 2009 - 11:12 am

    Q Q
    |^|

    Sorry to hear that. /hug

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on June 17, 2009 - 11:13 am

    @Holy Dueg – Oh I don’t mind them! One of my major issues, though, is the disparity of skill. I am not as adept at those kind of games as Josh is…and I get frustrated very easily when it seems that I “suck”. It’s enough to send me running back to Mario Kart!

  4. #4 by Brajana on June 17, 2009 - 12:03 pm

    Sounds rough :(

    I’m always wondering what will happen when one or both of my bf and I stop playing. I mean, when I think about how much time we spend talking about the game, it’s hard to imagine having enough stuff to fill that void! But I’m sure it will work out in the end… is he done for good, or maybe just taking a break/step back?

  5. #5 by Dorgol on June 17, 2009 - 12:23 pm

    I look at EvE the same way. A buddy of mine has been playing that game for 2+ years now – and he finally convinced me to sign up. Since it was 1/2 price this weekend, I figured what the heck.

    The game isn’t BAD, but it’s definately not the same as WoW. Caters to a different audience, I think.

    Re; Josh

    Maybe the two of you could try out some good ol’ fashion Diablo II? It’s similar enough to WoW without actually BEING WoW.

  6. #6 by mediumsizedrobb on June 17, 2009 - 12:32 pm

    I think you’ll be ok here.. every single person I know who’s decided they are done with WoW has come back. :)

  7. #7 by kyrilean on June 17, 2009 - 12:47 pm

    Seems to me that Josh isn’t necessarily done, just done for now, but you live with him, I don’t so… :P

    Diablo 2? Awesome game, but where the hell is 3?! I’m assuming several guildies will be playing that game. I never got into the multi-player part of 2, but I sure as hell don’t want to miss out on 3! If I ever quit WoW it’ll probably be then.

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on June 17, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    @Kyr – D2 was what I played all the damn time until WoW came along. I actually didn’t solo much-I badgered people into multi-player (but not over battlenet-I hate battlenet!). I’ll be ALL OVER D3 when it comes out, trust me!

    I had 2 paladins (yes, two), a sorceress, and a necromancer. :D

    Josh did quit once before and come back 2 months later, but I’m not holding my breath.

  9. #9 by Twonationarmy on June 17, 2009 - 1:57 pm

    I can relate to this in a minor way. My brother recently stopped playing after we’ve been playing together for two years. Its rough.

    Double awful that you’re left with just the perhaps less than uber tanks as a result.

  10. #10 by HP on June 17, 2009 - 9:06 pm

    I would hate it if my boyfriend stopped playing. I think that means I would quit too as the game would just not be fun for me anymore.

  11. #11 by BethE on June 17, 2009 - 10:22 pm

    My shaman husband has been slowly drifting away from WoW although he still likes to do Arena with his 3v3 team and occasionally do 2v2 with my priest. But he isn’t interested in raiding anymore and plus he’s starting law school this fall so I don’t really see us raiding together anymore or even playing together anymore once school starts. Which is a shame…He was always fun in raids, did great DPS and I had the well-trained wifehealer instincts to throw a bubble and heal if possible (a Pain Suppression if not) on him if I heard the slightest oath from him as damage took a turn for a worse. (In Kara days when training tanks, the motto was that it wasn’t a real raid unless my husband died…)

  12. #12 by Christopher on June 18, 2009 - 7:45 am

    Unfortunately I can relate, Amber. I met my girlfriend playing WoW and we’ve become closer thanks to the game. I get the feeling that when one of us does quit, it’ll be a sad day indeed. There are a lot of positive memories we will all associate with our time having played this game, but I think those of us that have the very unique ‘how I met your father/mother’ story of “We were wiping on C’thun and your mum told me to stop standing in the green shit and then you were born” will lose something very special when the game fades into our history.

    That said, I wish you the best of luck on your tank search, and I hope that you and Josh find something you can enjoy together in the interim- WoW or not. :)

  13. #13 by this4life on September 20, 2010 - 3:51 am

    lol, everyone comes back. My boyfriend has been playing literally since it came out and has quit twice. he is currently playing as we speak.
    sorry i laughed but you reminded me of when his buddy quit. he was pissed and throwing a tantrum, and now his buddy is back on.that lasted two months. dont worry he’ll miss it.

Leave a Reply

