More Letters from Ulduar

 We made another foray into Ulduar last night.  We started late because the GM was running late, and that naturally cut our progress down quite a bit.  Only two bosses down is rather disappointing-I wish that they’d more seriously considering skipping Ignis, because we seldom seem to get clean kills on him.  Ah, well.  I did actually enjoy myself, especially when they let me go shadow for Ignis (we lost our hunter to internetfail and brought in Ron to heal).  Kyrilean was also there on his shadow priest, so it felt like a friendly competition.  Alt and dual spec damage duels, go!  Alas our wipes provided no true measure.  Another time, Ky.  Another time!

That said, the whole “disc raid heals” thing we’ve been working might be holding us back.  This is an unfortunate side effect of having more reliable tank healers than we have raid healers.  I might have to go holy for awhile…we’ll see.  Ron spends most of his time holy now, so if I did so, then we wouldn’t have any disc priests and that would be a tragedy!  I haven’t sat out a raid in…uh…longer than I can remember, so if we have to shuffle in more actual raid healers I am more than happy to do so. 

Flowchart Friday might go up late tomorrow-rather than being at work like normal, I’ll be doing the first aid refresher course, so it will probably have to wait until I get home.

 

Dear Ignis,

[The words on the page are impossible to make out.  Whatever was there seems to have been scribbled over, with random blots of ink and holes through the parchment. What words can be made out seem to be along the lines of “fuck”, “hate”, and “waffle”.  What waffles have to do with anything, no one knows.]

 

Dear Blizzard,

WTB tri-spec, please! 

Woefully,
-the disc/shadow/should maybe go holy priest

 

Dear Holy Priests,

Where the fuck are you hiding?  WANT MOAR.  Ditto to you resto shamans-I can’t clone our Zuki yet.

Longingly,
-the bubble dispensor

 

Dear DKs in My Guild,

Why are you all so fucking WEIRD?   I mean I’m trying to raid, and next thing I know guild chat goes down the tubes and I’m looking for brain bleach and accidentally letting people die.    I mean we’re all a strange bunch, but some of our DKs are just…extra bizarre.  Really, really, totally out there bizarre.   What the HELL, guys? 

Yours in bafflement,
-the “innocent” priest

 

And last but not least, by request:
Dear DPS of Ultra Mundane,

FUCK!  GET OUT OF THE FUCKING SHIT!  WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU!
FIRE IS NOT FUCKING GOOD.  NO.  IT ISN’T FOR FUCKS SAKE.  WHY THE FUCKING HELL DID YOU STAND THERE?!?! 
I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN AND STAB YOU IF YOU DON’T!
FUCKERS!
/foams
There, is that better?

Love,
-she who is not B, but is none the less a sister in mindset

P.S.
No you can not have any fucking cookies. 

P.P.S.
Douchemuffins.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by B on June 18, 2009 - 11:13 am

    You are amazing, Bubbs! :D I owe you. And I’ll lay off sheep comments for a while. ;) /love!

  2. #2 by Adgamorix on June 18, 2009 - 11:26 am

    Our 10 man group runs Healadin/Disc/Tree for almost every encounter we’re run so far. The healadin (me) went ret for the quick Ignis kill – the Disc priest went to his shaman (ele) for Hodir 3 min kill – and he went Holy for Freya+++. I guess what I’m saying is – Disc/Paladin/Raidheals works awesome for about 85% of the encounters.

    Stay Disc – Pennance is the coolest looking heal spell in the game.

  3. #3 by Wikwocket on June 18, 2009 - 12:12 pm

    I find Disc to be great for Ignis overall. You can use the shields and penances to keep up a tank, shield people in the pot or people who get really low due to AOE/adds/etc, and when flame jets hit, you can shield yourself (or someone else) in midair and cast a hasted PoH on a group right after you land.

    In general a true raid healer may be better able to keep up absent-minded DPS and the rest, but I find that Disc’s mitigation on your tank means you often have extra time to save people with shields or top off other groups. So just one more vote for Disc. :)

  4. #4 by Iggee on June 18, 2009 - 12:15 pm

    >_< I didn't stand in the fire I swears. Well only for a little bit. I had a marshmallow dammit.

    Also give us your droods and resto shammies. We have like a million priests.

  5. #5 by kyrilean on June 18, 2009 - 1:04 pm

    Rusty. All I can say is rusty. Now where’s my Inner Fire button?

    /headdesk

    And I really need to buckle down and learn to heal on Maed. Also need to gear up Erd. All I’d need is a druid! :D

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on June 18, 2009 - 1:14 pm

    I think the problem is that we have a lot of silly DPS. And sans my pet prot warrior, we now don’t have interrupts on the back of IC OR a reliable way to move him out of the runes, and as a result we’re just getting whipping up one side and down the other in that encounter. In those situations, having a disc priest on raid healing doesn’t quiiiiite make it.

    Ignis is just a prick.

  7. #7 by Caotsetung on June 18, 2009 - 1:23 pm

    Neither blizzard nor rain of fire nor crotchpockets nor curse of the plaguebringer stays these dpsers from the swift completion of their appointed dpsing. Nor moving out of fires. :D

    After our raid last night I’m beginning to share your… dislike for Ignis. Douchewaffleycuntmuffin?

    -A devoted fan from

  8. #8 by Caotsetung on June 18, 2009 - 1:24 pm

    -A devoted fan from UM…. stupid brackets…. grumblegrumble

  9. #9 by Linedan on June 19, 2009 - 8:37 am

    This is one of the greatest rants ever. Sealed by the term “douchemuffin.” <3

  10. #10 by Troutwort on June 19, 2009 - 6:05 pm

    Awesome. Just, awesome.

  1. My Penpal … Yogg-Saron. « Fel Fire

Leave a Reply

