Everyone in the snowpile!

A disc priest can raid heal a Hodir fight.

Is this at all sane or logical?  Nooooo, but you don’t come here for sane and logical, now do you?  Now, I wasn’t watching the healing meters on our attempts.  It wasn’t until Zuki whispered me asking what I was doing that I bothered to flip open recount and take a peek.


This is what I was doing: OH GOD FREEZING BLOWS BUBBLE BUBBLE BUBBLE POH POH OH GOD BUBBLE FLASH POH OH GOD WHERE THE FUCK DID MY MANA GO AND WHY DID I EVER GET RID OF THE POH GLYPH OMG.

Here’s the World of Logs report, on our best Hodir attempt, for just the two raid healers.  Can you guess when Frozen Blows was landing?!?!

It was one of those nights.  It didn’t start out spectacular-we wiped on Ignis (wtf?) and then wiped on XT, a boss who hasn’t gotten the better of us since…well, we first started downing him.  But then we smacked around the cat lady and it came to vote: Iron Council, or Hodir?

Atropus and I well-nigh demanded Hodir, so off we went to play in snow.

Where we promptly forgot all the tricks of the trash and wiped.  GG, scrubs.  After that we got to Hodir’s room and stared at a boss that some of us had seen oh, once before.  We wiped the first couple of times with him at around 75%.  Freezing blows were terrible, and I was starting to doubt our healing team-a holy pally with two broken wrists, myself with my disc…raid heals…and Zuki, our one and only cherished resto shaman.  Not that I doubt our skill-just our particular composition. IE, my presence in the raid.   I may have mad disc priest raid healing skills but let’s face it-on progression content it’s…ah, not ideal.

And then we tried again, and the sky opened up, beams of light shined on the raid, and angels sang…until we hit the enrage timer.

OW.

But going from in the 70s to 13%?  Fuck yeah!  There was excitement!

And then there was the 3% wipe.  But still!  Excitement!  Progress on a boss that dropped t8!  Holy shit!  But god damn it it was after raid end time!  Suck and fail! 

Hodir will die next week though!

But then, of course, came the downer.  My spec.  Do you know how many times I have run Ulduar since we’ve started as a tank healer?

Once.

I’ve raided Ulduar as shadowmore times than I have needed to be disc.  What we need, desperately-since we have two ace holy pallys-are raid heals.  Most of our raid healers are trees.  I love me some trees, but our one time running two trees was downright painful, and Zuki isn’t always available.  Having another holy priest to throw into the mix would be useful.

So this morning I sobbed, flailed, threw a tantrum, and then ditched my shadow spec for holy.  Soon I shall announce my failures to the world, much as Ron now does…

Despite the fact that I’ve been using my shadow spec more, for now I will run holy along disc, until such a time as I feel comfortable.  Then I’ll…figure out what the hell I’m doing.  The problem with not having a shadow spec is that for some fights, I’ve been told that some strats typically run two healers.  With shadow, I can swap, no big deal.  Sans that?  We’re looking at swapping people out for DPS and we don’t HAVE spare DPS right now.  We have more healers sign up than DPS.  Some of our other healers have Ulduar capable DPS gear, and that solves that problem, but not all of them do. 

Blah blah blah raid make up officer headache bullshit.

FAIL ANGEL.  DO NOT WANT.

As a side note, when I was buying my new glyphs I realize that I was inadvertently feeding Kyr‘s AH experiment.  Damn it, Kyky!

I’m still a disc priest, though.  >:|

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Prot on June 23, 2009 - 9:55 am

    I am so jealous that you have a problem with healers. Our 10 man Ulduar progression gets halted everytime 1 healer decides to not show up. We have DPS who are upset they can’t come every week but it is up to our healers whether we run a good night of Ulduar. And sadly some people are tied to a healer such that if he doesn’t show up we are down 2-3 more people.

    But, grats on the Hodir progress. 2 nights of attempts on him and we can’t get down below 70% so you got over that first hurdle.

  2. #2 by Tamarind on June 23, 2009 - 9:57 am

    Ah, yes, the big blue angel of shame …

    I think Blizzard implemented that as some kind of sadistic negative reinforcement strategy: “Let’s make them out of damp paper so they *die all the time* and then let’s give them an enormous neon sign reading I SUCK for when they do … what do you mean we can’t implement the sign? Oh all right, whatever you like then but make sure it’s big and obvious … bwahahaha.”

    This post made me chuckle but I’m sorry you’ve had to ditch shadow for holy if it’s not where your heart lies.

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on June 23, 2009 - 10:10 am

    @Tamarind – I am deeply terrified that once I go holy, I’ll never be able to go back disc. And I love, love disc. I’m sure I’ll enjoy holy too, as I deiscovered that I loved shadow, but…enh.

    This will make my Talbuk grind more annoying.

    @Prot – It was Frozen Blows that was getting us to begin with-but once the healers got the hang of it, it wasn’t bad at all.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on June 23, 2009 - 10:43 am

    You bought glyphs?! You know that I’d give them to you, right?

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on June 23, 2009 - 11:36 am

    I wasn’t paying attention, Ky, it was 6 something in the fucking mornin! XD

  6. #6 by Light on June 23, 2009 - 12:06 pm

    Good job on Hodir! I’ve only seen him once and he ROFLstomped us in about 2 seconds. :)

  7. #7 by Dorgol on June 23, 2009 - 1:05 pm

    I’ll take the angel of shame if it means I get to heal for a little longer. :)

    I got invited to a 10-man Ulduar run (just Mimiron, Vezax, and Yogg) over the weekend… and I died on Vezax twice in the same fight. Just imagine how much extra healing I could have done then… :)

  8. #8 by Adgamorix on June 23, 2009 - 2:04 pm

    Bah – don’t let them fool you, you’re doing it exactly right. Our disc priest only goes Holy for Freya +3 and maybe Mimiron hard mode. Of course we use a druid as our 3rd instead of a shaman, but I think you can still effectively raid heal as disc. I’ve left a couple of video links in the past shot from our disc priest’s view. Heck – I’m so jealous of pennance that I’m tempted to roll a priest – it’s just a cool looking heal.

  9. #9 by Prot on June 23, 2009 - 3:05 pm

    Our failure comes from people who can’t seem get out from Icecicle and then go back to the snow to save themselves from getting frozen.
    And sadly it seems we only get one night of raiding a week so we are only making 1-2 attempts a week with newbie dps every week.
    /cry
    My alt is a Spriest with Disc as his dual spec. I hate healing but thought it would be more fun than holy spec.

  10. #10 by Jessabelle on June 24, 2009 - 4:43 am

    I’ve actually been thinking about dual speccing holy/disc myself. Right now I’m holy/shadow, and I really do hate to give up shadow since I only recently really got to play around with it but… it would be nice to have more flexibility. I haven’t been able to justify picking up Disc yet because we always have way too many holy pallies. BUT I WANT TO BUBBLE

  11. #11 by Ambrosyne on June 24, 2009 - 8:33 am

    @Jessabelle-ware, bubbles are addictive! ;)

  12. #12 by ixobelle on June 24, 2009 - 9:23 am

    yeah, I’m PVE Holy/PVE Disc as my two specs, and love it.

    I fucking heal. it’s what i do. sometimes, I do it this way, other times it’s that other way.

    Shadow? lol? meh, I gotta warlock for DoTs and Deeps. <3

  13. #13 by Twonationarmy on June 24, 2009 - 10:28 am

    In one of my previous guilds there was a group of rogues who liked to pvp a lot. They always said that the Spirit of Redemption angel was the sexual image reward for killing the priest. I’m sure that’s been said elsewhere before but its still good!

    On a constructive note, if you have any death knights in your raid you could remind them that popping Anti-Magic Shell just before Hodir finishes casting Flash Freeze means they can ignore getting on a snow drift. The debuff won’t stick which is sometimes helpful if they’ve messed up and won’t get to the snowdrift in time.

  14. #14 by Ambrosyne on June 24, 2009 - 11:39 am

    @Twonationarmy-Ah! I’ll tell our resident Failknights that.

    (I love you, Rivyn, and no, I don’t think you fail)

  15. #15 by Augustine on June 28, 2009 - 8:55 am

    Stumbled on your blog from WoWInsider. If I can make a suggestion to help you survive Frozen Blows. A holy paladin specced into Aura Mastery + Frost Resistance Aura or a ret paladin with Divine Sacrifice + Bubble makes healing those much easier (since we’re working on hard mode now, we run 5 healers).

    Fail angel…There are actually times it’s useful. When we do hard mode XT, it’s a complete drain on your mana. Intense raid healing for 10 minutes leads to you burning all your mana CDs and still being OOM at about minute 9 or so. At that point, XT usually only has about 5-10% health left, so running off to stand in a void zone to angel for free healing is a nice way to be able to save the raid. Vezax is another place where angeling can really give you a boost up.

Leave a Reply

