An Ode to Penance

The number 1 reason why I miss disc isn’t the bubbles.  It’s penance.  Penance is good for hiding the fact that I’m a complete scatter brained spaz.

How so, you ask?

Let’s take a trash pull last night.  I was sending lolwhispers to someone or other (Ron?  Kyr?  Ashley?  Who the hell knows) so I was trailing along behind slightly.  Apparently, so were the other healers, because I ran up into range and…the tanks died.

Well, fuck.

When I’m disc, I run up to a dying tank going NOOOOOOOOO and then cast PENANCE!  Then BOOM, saved tank, and we pretend that I was paying attention the whole damn time.   That…doesn’t work so well when I’m holy.  Pain Suppression was used similarly, but I’ve started sliding in Guardian Spirit for that.  I think I need to move Guardian Spirit, however, because I keep smacking it by accident and putting it on myself, or the other priest, or (insert random person here).  Though that’s…not much different than putting Power Infusion on the DK tank.  I did that less, though!  I should reaaaally maybe  move that, then.

Anyway, we had a decent Ulduar run-not great, but decent.  We made it further on Day 1 than we did last week, so we should get back to Hodir with plenty of time to kill him and get some done on another Watcher.  Hopefully by then I’ll be a bit better about randomly flailing and pushing buttons.  ;)

Tonight, if the Naxx goes as planned, is Amber Tanks With Her Face Night.  Or, I stand around as the third tank bitch and be bored, one or the other…

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kisli on June 25, 2009 - 12:15 pm

    Sounds like your tanks need to adjust to the fact you don’t have the uber Penance all the time now! I’ve been rebuked more than once for running out of our Holy Paladin’s range, so I always inch forward and pause to wait for him to catch up. Getting smacked twice in a row without hits makes me spam all my OMG buttons at once, which doesn’t bode well with the rest of the fight XD.

    Especially remind your tanks that you are primarily a raid healer with your lolfailangel spec, so if your paladin isn’t in range of them, all the ass-savin -hes- gonna do is in the form of holy shock (yay for the mostly inability to heal on the run as a holy paladin -_-) which will not save them in a ‘keep frolicking away from the healers fest’.

    Good luck with Hodir this week! Fires are your BFF as a healer =)

  2. #2 by Tamarind on June 25, 2009 - 4:11 pm

    I like the fact it’s called penance as well. It’s like a special apology power – “Oh God, I’m so sorry I nearly let the tank die, so so so sorry” – and then the tank is okay again.

  3. #3 by Prot on June 25, 2009 - 6:21 pm

    I’m curious, how far/which bosses do you down your first night? Your guild and mine seem to be at a similar place and curious as to how long your first raid night goes?

  4. #4 by Therye on June 25, 2009 - 8:45 pm

    well, you could always do: “NOOOOOOO” /cast circle of healing, followed by a quick empowered renew and it’s all good

  5. #5 by BethE on June 25, 2009 - 11:12 pm

    And here I thought it was going to be Disc haiku night…

    Green bars drop like rain
    Soul weakened by existence
    For you: pew pew pew

  6. #6 by Copernicus on June 26, 2009 - 8:58 am

    As a player of a tank and a healer, I blame the tank (usually warrior).

    As a bear tank, I get close enough to Faerie Fire, then start walking backwards, hammering swipe. By the time the melee gets to them, I’ve got off a swipe or two and we’re good to go.

    Our warrior tank, however, runs up into range then charges headlong into the fray. By the time the healers get into range, he’s nearly dead. He says, “I’m just making sure the healers are paying attention.” I say, “You’re a dumbass.”

  7. #7 by Christopher on June 26, 2009 - 9:03 am

    CoH followed by an ‘ohshit’ Flash Heal should do it nicely. I don’t put my holy priests (myself included) on tank duty anyway though, so I’d probably reassign myself if I were you. I do holy pally/disc priest (amazing synergy) on my MT, holy paladins/resto druids on my off-tanks (usually 2 or 3 of them, and one healer per) and then the resto shamans and I will sit back and spam our ‘Iwin’ buttons. :)

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on June 26, 2009 - 9:47 am

    I’m not on tank duty-I’m definitely on raid. But if the tank wanders off and tries to die, I’m still going to try to heal him. ;) It’s left over instinct from when my boyfriend was a tank and I didn’t want to listen to him bitch about dying.

    @Prot – We cleared Loot Mobile, Razor, Ignis, and would have gotten Kologorn if not for last minuite sillyness. We started late, though-I’d say on a normal, not failtastic night, we’re done through Kologarn.

  9. #9 by Prot on June 27, 2009 - 12:11 am

    Nice progression. We’re pretty much have the same on farm except for Ignis (haven’t even tried him yet as guild) as well as Auriya and Iron Council is on notice if we can keep people connected. Auriya is one of those fights thoug that the start is painful for healers, or at least it used to be.

Leave a Reply

