Eat snow!

I’m not going to talk too much about the patch just yet.  Some things please me (universal tokens), and some things don’t (penance nerf), and all of these things are liable to change.  Now if only that faction change was going through sooner so that I could steal Tart and Holy Dueg over to the proper faction…

Anyway, BoO wrested for itself a messy victory over Hodir last night.  By messy I mean “after several wipes we took him down with 4 people alive, none of which were a tank”.   We had mostly the same people this week so I’m not sure why we were struggling a bit more-really, the only difference I can think of was my spec.  Is holy logically better for Hodir?  Sure.  But what’s better, a more seasoned disc priest or a holy priest who is still flailing around with CoH?  My bubbles were amazing last minute saves and bought time for a proper heal.  I’m going to have to continue to make adjustments in my healing style to cope. 

I will also continue to make calf eyes at Blizzard for tri-specs.  I miss shadow.

We decided to go play with Iron Council for the rest of our raid because we were silly and didn’t read up on the other watchers (we have tried Freya before but it was awhile ago).  Iron Council proceeded to kick the shit out of us.  Congrats, you have dethroned Ignis for my Most Hated Fight of Ulduar, guys.  They just obliterate our tank…over, and over….it’s that Rune+Punch combo every.  Fucking.  Time.   

Tonight I think I am going to RP, and play Sims.  :P

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Holy Dueg! on June 30, 2009 - 11:44 am

    I dunno… all Alliancey? At least I could finally have a proper ‘stache!

  2. #2 by Isisxotic on June 30, 2009 - 11:55 am

    I would love to hear your tips on healing Hodir as Disc. ‘Cause I suck at it!

  3. #3 by tart on June 30, 2009 - 12:16 pm

    hmmm… alliance? I don’t know if I could do it…. (Though dual space goat bubble priests would be crazy fun)

    And I just bought Sims 3. That game is like CRACK.

  4. #4 by Elleiras on June 30, 2009 - 12:18 pm

    The proper faction? Please!

    All bloggers should play Horde. I giggle with a madwoman everytime I can use a phrase like “geared to the tusks.” Who needs teeth, anyway? (Or kneecaps, fingertips or eye sockets, for that matter.)

  5. #5 by Light on June 30, 2009 - 12:24 pm

    @Ellerias It’s “geared to the fangs”. Tusks are for elephants. :)

  6. #6 by HP on June 30, 2009 - 2:14 pm

    Grats on downing Hodir!

  7. #7 by Adgamorix on June 30, 2009 - 2:26 pm

    Have your tank put a /focus on Runemaster and make sure he has it set to show his focus’s target. Runemaster will target either of his buddies as he’s casting the rune – so it gives you a heads up on when you need to start moving. The spell is placed where the mob is at the end of the cast though – so if you move too soon it’ll just follow you.

    We also cheese the fight by having a paladin tank it in 25s – since he can cleanse himself. If you have a non-paladin tank, but a paladin healer on him you can do a couple things.

    1) Stopcasting when the Falcon Punch is incoming – cleanse, Holy Shock, FoL (if instant) him back up. If another healer has HoTs on him (or pennance incoming) that helps.

    2) Start casting HL about .5sec into the cast – it should land right after the punch, healing the tank up, then cleanse and keep rolling.

    Good luck!

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on June 30, 2009 - 3:38 pm

    Tank healing on Hodir? Or raid healing as disc on Hodir? XD I’ve only ever “raid” healed it. But it was surprisingly effective…in fact I almost prefer it to holy, but I think that’s a comfort thing.

Leave a Reply

