Ulduar Musings

Last night, our Ulduar run was…glorious.  I was, in fact, mildly baffled and wanted to know who replaced some of my guildies with people who paid attention ON A NIGHT THE GM WASN’T THERE.  Let me tell you, raids where the GM isn’t there tend to go down the tubes.  That’s not to say that it was flawless-both the back tank and I ate an overload on IC and wiped the raid, oops!-but we made amazing progress.

Of course in absence of our GM, raid leadership consisted of…myself, Atropus, and Huntres.  Andy and I aren’t really prime leader types-we’re more suited to the goofy, second in command role.  And Hunt, for all that he isn’t a bad kid, is still a 16 year old kid when it comes down to it. I know that some of us chafe under the leadership of someone who is sometimes scattered brained, running late to raids because he forgot to buy bullets or…goodness knows what. 

Despite that, we well nigh steamrolled the instance.  We got all the way through the Crazy Cat Lady, one shot Hodir with no deaths (not even NPCs!), and then turned our attention to Iron Council, the bane of our existence.  Seriously, we downed this encounter ONCE and then proceeded to fail ever after.  Last night we two shot it, despite private bets going on between some of the healers about the mage dying. 

O.o

o.O

Fuck yeah!

Of course this means that the entirety of Monday will be spent throwing ourselves at Thorim, without even a nice little warm up, but such is the price of progress.

I picked up a hit robe for the shadow set that, I swear by all that is holy!, I will don again.  It’s hard to juggle my shadow gear without my spec to test things with, so for now it will wait. Tonight, though, I’m going to tweak the t8 pants I won last time for holy, and leave my 7.5 the way they are for disc.

I’m a wee bit better with holy than I was before. Of course peeking at recount and spell usage, I’m quite different from Ron, but that could just be a side effect of running with two holy priests.  He’s quicker on the CoH than I am, so I look around and don’t see anything “worth” CoH in my eyes and then proceed to sprinkle Flash Heals and Renews on the raid. 

Considering how much I use PoH, I’m thinking about switching up my holy glyphs for the PoH glyph, but I don’t know what to sacrifice.  Meep! 

My heart still lies with disc, however.  I’m really gunning to get back to 25s!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Rhidach on July 9, 2009 - 10:35 am

    Nice, grats! If you’re having trouble with Thorim you might find that Freya’s a little easier. The big deal with that fight is making sure your dps can pay attention (har har har), and isn’t as makeup dependent as Thorim is.

  2. #2 by Adgamorix on July 9, 2009 - 11:39 am

    Nice run! Honestly though, Disc is the way to go if you’re healing the tunnel on Thorim, and is pretty spectacular in phase 2 as well. Your tanks will be taking rediculous ammounts of damage as the fight goes on, and being able to shield up the raid on the move is huge. Also the tunnel is tighs, so PoM and Pennance are amazing in there.

    Your paladin healer will hate you if he has to heal the arena though – at least until he masters ducking out of the hammer blows.

    Good Luck!

  3. #3 by euripidesoutdps on July 9, 2009 - 12:14 pm

    I just wrote a guide on Thorim you might like- especially the part about mind controlling the warbringers in the arena for a 3 stack of 20% haste for the raid. http://outdps.com/2009/07/09/hunting-thorim/

  4. #4 by Kitts on July 9, 2009 - 12:30 pm

    Your heart will always be with Discipline. :D

    On Thorim, I generally stick out in the arena instead of the hallway (let those paladin deal with it). I drop a PW:S on the tanks, and will let Penance bounce…

    But the nicest thing is going to be having Mass Dispel on a very fast cooldown. The mobs in the arena do use some buffs (one that heals over time, one that is a stupid bubble).

    Oh. And use Holy Nova. It’s _awesome_.

  5. #5 by Wikwocket on July 9, 2009 - 1:24 pm

    I agree with others that Disc is great for the hallway, wheras Holy is great for the arena. Holy could also work in the hallway though: it’s nice to have an AOE haller in there, to heal the debuff explosions on the 2nd miniboss. Best of luck on Thorim, he’s chaotic, but fun once mastered!

    As for glyphs, the glyph of PoH is rather nice, better than I originally thought. It’s especially nice for Mimiron later on!

  6. #6 by Misaki on July 10, 2009 - 3:19 am

    To be honest, I find 10 man Thorim beyond easy. Maybe it’s just that I was subject to the utter nightmare that is Thorim 25 man first, but by contrast the 10 man version is cake. We normally split our group to have 4 in the Gauntlet (tank, healer, 2 dps) and the rest stay in the arena and aoe stuff down for the most part.

    You can steam through the Gauntlet extremely fast, the mobs have piss all health. Just remember to take the accolytes down first as they heal themselves, others. Try and spread a little on the 2nd boss for the runic detonation.

    P2 is just a spank where you don’t all stand too close together and avoid the lightning when he charges that area of the room. Cake.

    We’ve done the Hard mode for him too, tbh that wasn’t much harder.

  7. #7 by HoHo on July 10, 2009 - 3:31 am

    Disc is just OP in raid-healing. During past couple of weeks we have had exactly zero holy priests but 1-2 discs, 1-2 paladins and 2-3 druids. Discs spamming shields and druids healing them up is extremely effective combination.

    I’ve been disc in our last couple of 25-man ulduar runs, compared to our second disc I’m throwing out around 2-3x more shields than him. Pretty much every time I have nothing special to cast I’ll shield someone. By the end of the night worldoflogs put us at roughly same position, just with ~70-08% of my “healing” coming from shields :)

Leave a Reply

