BoO > Thorim and Freya

We started the raid really late last night, in large part because our hunter has this strange obsession with doing things OUTSIDE.  WTF, soccer?  We only have one hunter in our raiding core right now, and he’s our only replen, so…yeah. 

Needless to say that by the time he showed up, we were ready to go!

Thorim took a few tries.  We ended up going for a 4/6 split-DK tank, pally healer, shaman and kitty down the gauntlet, everyone else in the arena.  We threw the shaman and kitty down the hall to help control the Acolyte mods that gave us so much trouble before.   That second mini boss can be a real bitch.

Poor Ky had been dragged in on his priest…as holy, so we were a lovely pair of nubs that night.  It took a bit before we figured out positioning and stopped making Fail Angels.  In the end we stood on the edge of the inner circle, and healed through the hammer’s damage on everything.  For our final, successful attempt I sneakily went back disc, and all was right in my world.  Honestly, Thorim himself is a chump.  The trick is just getting to him!

And then…then it was time for Freya trash.

I…hate…Freya trash.  We spent a lot of time wiping on it the when we first tried her, weeks ago.  It was terrible, and spawned my saying “TRASH IS SRS BZNS”.  My camera bobs on the foliage, so without even thinking, I scroll in closer.  The problem with scrolling in closer is that it keeps me from seeing storm clouds…and what happens when I can’t see storm clouds?

I did a lot of cussing, mostly aimed at myself.  So we clear the trash, leaving blood smears along the way, and…then it’s technically time to end the raid.  Fuck that!  We decide to give Freya at least one attempt, and Mach makes some flippant remark about just having to one shot her.

…so we did.

Was it pretty?  Nooo.  We lost both Macharious (tank) and Shamina (…do I have to tell you?) but a battle rez and an ankh fixed that.  For once, I didn’t die.  I stayed disc for it, if you were wondering.  :D 

It was a good night, all considering, and Lyr now has another pair of pants (running joke: she gets more pants as gear than anything else, I swear).

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rilgon Arcsinh on July 14, 2009 - 12:05 pm

    That’s why I like mods like Mik’s Scrolling Battle Text. If you can’t see the cloud and you aren’t seeing your own health dip, the whole [YOU JUST TOOK EIGHT THOUSAND DAMAGE, MOVE DAMNIT] thing really helps to go “oh, whoops, movin'”

  2. #2 by Rhidach on July 14, 2009 - 12:12 pm

    Grats on the one-shot! It’s always awesome when the stars align and a kill like that happens. I find declaring last attempt is always a good motivator too (especially the thought of having to do Freya’s trash again the next day…).

  3. #3 by kyrilean on July 14, 2009 - 12:28 pm

    It’s from losing bowel control after all those fail angels. :)

  4. #4 by Kitts on July 14, 2009 - 12:31 pm

    Freya trash makes me angry all the time, 10 or 25. If it’s not the hurricane, it’s the poison. If it’s not the poison, it’s from pulling more adds. And if it’s not from any of that, it’s probably the mere thought of dying. :(

    I’m sad I don’t get to make fail angels on the one sandy “beach” in Freya’s room. Darn you Discipline spec!

  5. #5 by Light on July 14, 2009 - 12:34 pm

    I tried Thorim for the first time over the weekend. How do you deal with the constant spell interrupts and slow casting?

    I don’t have any threat reduction on my shaman and the mobs were also coming to me instead of the tank. I don’t know what to do. :(

  6. #6 by Valkure on July 14, 2009 - 12:48 pm

    Grats!! And I’m with ya hating the Freya trash.

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on July 14, 2009 - 1:21 pm

    @Light – that’s why we shifted where we stood. The tank took everything in the center circle. The melee were in there with him, and everyone else was standing around the edge of that circle. When we stood further out and got aggro we’d get gibbed whilst fleeing, but this put us a mere step away fron consecrate. Of course our shaman ended up going down the hallway, but initially, he was out there with us and didn’t seem to fare too bad.

    As to spell interrupts and slow casting? Uh…between bubbles and penance, or CoH, I honestly didn’t notice much.

    @Rilgon I’m so dead before I even see THAT, though. One time I ran out and died FEET AWAY FROM THE FUCKING STORM. sjdaskjdaklsd.

  8. #8 by Kestrel on July 14, 2009 - 1:39 pm

    We wiped for 2 nights on Freya last week; the trash was a bit of problem, but I think Hodir trash is worse. My stomach is knotting up just thinking of Freya again this week :(

  9. #9 by Wangari on July 14, 2009 - 1:47 pm

    For some reason, our guild has been having serious problems with Thorim lately. We used to get him pretty easily, but small changes on our raid comp just made it all hell in the past couple of weeks.

    We do go with a lot of ppl in the gauntlet (2 tanks, 2 healers and 7 dps usually) to try to make it quicker, but our arena finds some trouble over time. We still cant make it through the gauntlet fast enough to avoid being overwhelmed.

    We need to try some new things, because I need 2 of that damn mace that drops from him!

  10. #10 by Adgamorix on July 14, 2009 - 2:44 pm

    Grats on the one shot!

    @Light

    Postion your healers (as mentioned) just on the outside of the circle. Depending on your raid comp, this will let you quickly step into an AoE tank ability or FoK rogue. It also lets you avoid the majority of the hammer slows. Personally (as a Paladin) I prefer to be in the tunnel or further out, as even my FoL takes about 3 seconds to cast while under the effects of the hammer.

    My tips for positioning/role based upon our 10/25 kills.

    Paladin – down the hall. One Paladin can even do this on 25s as long as nobody eats the fire blasts.

    Holy Priest – instant casts and a lightwell in the arena.

    Trees – instants only in the arena. This prevents you from being locked out if you do get targeted for the hammer.

    Disc Priest – many bubbles! Great for hall or arena.

    Shaman – between HS totem and RT in the arena, you should be ok. CH is also great if you can stay outside the hammer hits. Our shaman puts down an earthbind totem to help slow the adds that come for him while he runs through the consecrate.

    Unfortunately this is one of the only fights we don’t have a video of. I need to get off my butt and compile one, but being split between the hall and the arena means two of us have to Fraps (tough, I know =D )

    Good luck with Mimiron if you take him on this week. Stay disc..trust me..though Holy for Freya +3 is pretty nice (sorry).

  11. #11 by Light on July 14, 2009 - 2:49 pm

    @Adgarmorix

    The RL had us stand in the tank’s consecrate in the center of the circle. I took most of the aggro during most of the fight, as I don’t have any points in the shaman threat reduction. 15% wasn’t worth the three points. He told me no tank is going to be able to pull threat off of me, but I don’t know if that is true or not. I haven’t had any problems in any other fight without it (Thorim is as far as I’ve ever gotten in Ulduar).

  12. #12 by kyrilean on July 14, 2009 - 2:49 pm

    @Light – the main thing I started doing to avoid aggro was stop casting. I know it’s rough sometimes, but it’s too tempting to heal during that split second pause between mobs. If you can avoid it, don’t cast until the mobs have a chance to get to the tank and he can pull. Doesn’t always work, but if nothing else it’ll decrease the number that go after you.

  13. #13 by Linedan on July 14, 2009 - 2:55 pm

    Congrats on the Freya one-shot! Our raid did that a few weeks ago on our first attempt…we were all pretty shocked. Then we ran into Hodir and reality intervened. And yeah, Freya trash is full of suck.

    We’ve been stuck on Thorim for weeks. That fight is just wrecking us.

  14. #14 by Ambrosyne on July 14, 2009 - 2:57 pm

    @Kyr – Cleeeearly we need to make a video. …lol.

  15. #15 by HP on July 14, 2009 - 5:25 pm

    Even though Ulduar trash is annoying and things can run amok, I still prefer it over Naxxramas. Grats on getting Freya! Once you get her, she is just easy mode because your raid will only get better at managing the waves. Thorim is so easy on 10s but for some reason in the gauntlet and arena on 25s, the fight is just much harder. Thorim himself is easy mode but getting to him is difficult. Grats again! You guys had a big night =)

  16. #16 by LolDrood on July 14, 2009 - 6:11 pm

    ‘out’side? I’ve heard tale of the Land of the Daystar, but dared not believe them!

    *Squees over first SS pic* Love space goats so much!

    ‘Shamina’? Ugh, I hate it when DK’s try to get clever with their names…

  17. #17 by Misaki on July 15, 2009 - 3:28 am

    Hehe, the “last try” of the night, my guild’s secret weapon.

    Seriously, I lose track of the amount of times we wipe for hours on a boss, then miraculously pull it off on our “last try”.

Leave a Reply

