Raid Heals With Bubbles: Thorim

It is no secret that I am disc/holy right now-I only bitch about it constantly (I WANT TO MELT FACES DAMN IT).  This means that I spend a lot of time making excuses to go disc, and now I present to you my thoughts…on why disc is awesome for the arena. 

The first thing I considered before ditching holy was: who else was healing?  In my case, I had a holy priest.  Score!  Best option for allowing me to be a bubble dispenser.   Consider carefully your own healing companions before you give up CoH-the slowed casting time you face in the arena hurts some healers more than others.  

With only 6 people in the arena with me, I had no trouble keeping the tank up and also sprinkling bubbles on everyone else.   When someone (the shaman, the other priest) invaribly got aggro, I could pop a quick bubble on them-not only healing them slightly and saving them from insta-death, but also helping to buy the time for other heals to get through.  As always, penance and pain suppression are great for those “o snap someones gonna die” moments.  Power infusion, if not tossed on DPS, can be tossed on you to help negate the casting times if push comes to shove.

Disc is also good for the hallway, especially if you bring a caster with you for the PI lovins.

…this slightly rambly post brought to you by a busy day where I couldn’t form a coherent thought for long!

, , ,

  1. #1 by euripidesoutdps on July 15, 2009 - 2:25 pm

    Don’t forget that if you mind control a warbringer, you give everyone in the raid 20% haste (stacks 3 times for 3 priests), and allows you do more DPS than any player can- those things hit like trucks.

  2. #2 by Dorgol on July 15, 2009 - 2:46 pm

    I usually go through the hallway on my Paladin. Then I was asked to heal the Arena.

    What. A. Waste. 3 sec Flash of Light! 5 sec Holy Light! And I don’t even have a bubble I can drop on multiple people…

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on July 15, 2009 - 4:44 pm

    @euripidesoutdps – a point, but not one I decided to mention for the 10 man content I’m currently running. Having me not heal was, generally, A Bad Thing.

  4. #4 by Hoho on July 15, 2009 - 5:03 pm

    Yeah, anything with a cast time is a big waste in arena. I’ve been there as shadow several times and few times as disc. 8s mind sears hurt my eyes. On the other hand as disc instant bubbles-pom and even renew are just great. Having a druid there with you is simply perfect as both of you will mostly be using instacasts anyway.

    Another fun fact: our 25-man raid hasn’t had a single holy priest for nearly a whole month now, all went disc to be more useful. Pairing discs with druids on raid healing is incredibly good.

  5. #5 by Ellyndia on July 15, 2009 - 8:13 pm

    I also like being disc in the area. Mostly for the facts you’ve stated, but for a speedy mass dispel on runic shields.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on July 16, 2009 - 8:45 am

    @Hoho – our only regularly attending resto druid went kitty.

    /sadpanda

Leave a Reply

