In Which I Rant About…Belts?

Yes, folks.  The latest cause of Amber rage is one particular aspect of gear design…belts. Specifically, cloth belts.

See, I spend a lot of time staring at my character.  Why do you think you get spammed with so many screen shots of her?  I admire her cute little tail, or her boobs (why do you think I refuse to wear a tabard?  Her current disc robes are hawt), or…I don’t know.  I just get bored and stare at her a lot, okay?  Anyway, it drives me nuts when her gear doesn’t match.  Naturally it’s a total mishmash of Naxx25 and Ulduar gear at the moment, so I get driven nuts pretty much all the time…but nothing drives me crazier than her belt.  Because, see…it’s not even really a belt.

In Naxx, my belt looked like an actual individual piece-you know, something actually put on over my robes.  You know what the hell Ulduar belts look like?  …slices of robe.  What the fuck, Blizz?

This is a close-up of Kyr’s priest, Maedchen, next to my paladin Ambrosyne.  See how Ambro’s belt…looks like a belt?  And how Maed’s (her name is GIRL, Ky, seriously?) just looks like someone sliced a bit of the same robe out but in different colors?  I mean it looks great if you have the matching robe!  It just seamlessly flows but…uh…how often do you have the matching robe?  The one that matches Lyr’s belt is…a DPS robe.  With hit on it.  Don’t tempt me to do silly things in order to match, Blizz!  Just don’t!

How HARD it is to like…add some definitive lines there and make it it’s own, distinct peice and not something I could do with a pair of scissors?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Dorgol on July 16, 2009 - 11:15 am

    On the one hand, they don’t make belts look like belts.

    On the OTHER hand, they make sure that every bracer has a graphic. DESPITE the fact that you can’t see bracers because of the gloves.

    On the THIRD hand, staring at your toon when bored – must be REALLY bored. :)

  2. #2 by Light on July 16, 2009 - 11:34 am

    Switch to resto druid. Problem solved. ;)

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on July 16, 2009 - 11:39 am

    @Dorogol – Sometimes I don’t have enough time to tab out, or I’m talking smack in /raid! Can’t miss a chance for a snappy comeback because I’m reading twitter…

  4. #4 by Ten'nen on July 16, 2009 - 2:32 pm

    See, the thing with a lot of Ulduar gear…it looks like crap. I wouldn’t mind it so much if Blizzard recycled some of the lowbie gear that looked good and just spiffed it up, but instead…they take parts of other pieces or gear…and call it something else…

    Yeah, I’m just as confused.

  5. #5 by Antigen on July 16, 2009 - 3:48 pm

    My, Dorgol, you sure have a lot of hands.

    I agree with your ‘stop being lazy, Blizzard’ attitude and would LOVE to see it taken to the next logical step:

    Make Eternal Belt Buckles have unique designs, i.e. [Eternal Belt Buckle of Texas] (longhorns anyone?), have them be 3D instead of this flat-on-your-character nonsense, and have it glisten like when you sharpen a weapon.

    Epic.

  6. #6 by LolDrood on July 16, 2009 - 4:25 pm

    Yup. I remember once or twice on my mage or priest or something, I looked at her and thought…what the fuck, where’d my belt go? The cloth belt graphic was an exact cut out of the robe she was wearing, and thus vanished.
    I dig that some of this comes down to trying to reduce latency by condensing the models in to a few as possible, but I think I’m willing to lose 1 fps for more and better gear.
    Feel free to fire who ever’s been in charge of designing pally tier for the past 2 years, btw.

    Also, space goats are hot. Hotness scale goes space goats > humans > nelfs > belfs > everyone else. True, provable fact.

  7. #7 by nimayne on July 17, 2009 - 1:16 am

    It can’t be thaaaaaat hard to design a belt, which actually looks like a belt…

    But Blizzard got lazy designing thinks individually…sets nearly look the same, gloves, heads…sad but true.

  8. #8 by Troutwort on July 17, 2009 - 10:08 am

    I wouldn’t care if the belts were more or less solid colors, but looked like belts. Belt buckle, black leather. Done. Because simple belts like that will match much better than crazy swath of fabric belt things.

    Belts always did make me angry too. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. This game is 50% drag show and 50% killing shit. Is it so hard to look good while killing crap?

  9. #9 by Light on July 17, 2009 - 10:12 am

    @Troutwort

    Someone in the art department is colour blind. How long did it take them to fix druid forms for instance?!

    They need to hire some new artists and modelers… I’m tired of my arms clipping my shoulders all the time.

  1. In which I share Amber’s pain. « Fel Fire

Leave a Reply

