Endangered Species

This post is largely inspired by the lovely Pike.  What classes/specs do you hardly see these days?

-Hunters
I had a hunter main.  One of the reasons she got nudged back into alt status, aside from that Once A Healer Always A Healer Disease, was the fact that everyone and their gods be damned mother was a hunter.  I couldn’t get raiding slots to save my life.  Now, BoO has one hunter in its raiding core.  ONE.  What the fuck, man?

-Warlocks
The day we recruited our second one was the day the world officially ended, as far as I’m concerned.

-Shadow Priests
The only shadow priests we have, right now, are alts or dual specs of mains.  Only not even the latter anymore, since I’m disc/holy.  Where’d you go, guys?

-Ret Pally
…I haven’t seen ours in weeks.  WEEKS.  We only have the one.  Bwuh?  Of course we have some new recruits and one of them had a decidedly pink name, but in any case: one!

-Holy Pallys
…are all respeccing/rerolling, it seems. 

-Resto Shamans
All I’ve got is my Zuki!  Where are you guys HIDING?

We have no replen aside from the ONE hunter who for some reason likes to have a life outside of WoW, though.  D: D: D:  Of course part of this is the Attack of Summer, but still. 

Where’d all my hunters go?!

/eyes her hunter alt some more

,

  1. #1 by Light on July 17, 2009 - 10:16 am

    Last week I was in a OS pug with 6 shamans in it… Otherwise you never see us. WTF.

  2. #2 by Pike on July 17, 2009 - 10:27 am

    I’d totally join your guild if I could. You wouldn’t get Replenishment though, since I’d refuse to spec Survival. BM/MM for life! =P

  3. #3 by Antigen on July 17, 2009 - 10:30 am

    A guild without 17 ret paladins? Blasphemy.

  4. #4 by slytherati on July 17, 2009 - 10:30 am

    My holy paladin is still my main, no ret or full time prot for me!

    I tried to switch over completely to being a disc priest after I got mine to 80, but I just love spamming flash of light too much. I just wish I could have pretty sparklies like disc priests do though.

  5. #5 by Linedan on July 17, 2009 - 10:31 am

    Our 25 has no DPS warriors except when I go arms on Hodir. Our normal fury warrior is now on…ta da…his hunter, otherwise we wouldn’t have one after our other one quit. No rogues, either. Let’s see, we have one shadow priest and one warlock. We do carry our usual metric asston of feral and resto druids (it’s a tradition with us, I remember running 40-mans with NINE druids) and of course, squillions of death nuggets.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on July 17, 2009 - 10:45 am

    @Linedan – We had 3 rogues, then RL smacked the shit out of them and we have 1 that can raid. We only have two DKs that run with us regularly, 1 tank and 1 DPS. We have 3 druids, 1 of which is almost always around, 1 of which can attend half the raids, and 1 of which has totally random attendence due to RL. In essence, we don’t really have a glut of ANYTHING. It’s weird. O.o

    @slytherati – Yeah pallys really are lacking in the shiny department. So sad!

  7. #7 by D on July 17, 2009 - 10:59 am

    Yeah, I have a shadow priest main and a shaman second main. Both used to be hard to find – now both are everywhere on my server. :-( Similar to what Light said, you used to find yourself lucky if you had a shaman in your 25-man pug OS and/or VoA. Now? Four in one raid, both VoA and OS .. for the past few weeks my shaman has been in pugs. :-(

    I’d totally come to your server with my shadow priest if I could stand to leave all my friends behind – we have THREE shadow priests in my own guild, and it’s driving me up the wall!

  8. #8 by Twonationarmy on July 17, 2009 - 11:05 am

    Your list looks a lot like my guild’s. We haven’t seen our Ret paladin in a while either due to his work schedule and shockingly we have no other paladins in the guild that aren’t alts.

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on July 17, 2009 - 11:20 am

    @D – of course in pugs, all the alts are coming out, so you’re seeing a somewhat different mix, I imagine. I wish I knew where your shadow priests were coming from though. O.o

  10. #10 by kyrilean on July 17, 2009 - 12:03 pm

    Holy / Ret (PvP)
    Holy (new main spec) / Shadow
    Resto / Enhancement

    and I did get my baby druid to 17 while I was sick yesterday. :)

  11. #11 by Grimmtooth on July 17, 2009 - 12:10 pm

    Privately, I think it’s because Survival is the New Hawtness, but, since BM is more fun to play, a lot of hunters are stepping aside and biding time until BM and Survival are back on par. I know that’s the case for mine.

  12. #12 by Dorgol on July 17, 2009 - 12:15 pm

    Our 25 man raids usually only have 1 mage, 1 hunter, and 1 (holy) Paladin (we have at least 2 Ret Paladins each run). The rest of the classes are fairly well balanced, though Warlocks usually sit at 2 people.

  13. #13 by Ambrosyne on July 17, 2009 - 12:36 pm

    @Grimmtooth – BM forever baby! I’ll take my reduced DPS and comfort myself by hugging my Devilsaur.

  14. #14 by Kestrel on July 17, 2009 - 12:42 pm

    LOL. We feel blessed if we have 2 hunters in the raid; we generally have one. We do have a resto shammy–officer/heal lead. We have a SPriest…sometimes. ‘Lock? Maybe one. If all the stars and planets align just right, two.

    Ret Pallies? We haz ’em: At least 2, sometimes 3. Holy Pally? Only if one of our mages flips to his alt. Resto druid? Generally one (hubby of the resto shammy).

    Holy/Disc Priests? One per group. This week, we’ve had O N E mage in the raid (spaced so you know it’s not a typo). Two, sometimes three Boomkins. We’ve had as many as 5 Pallies and 4 DKs in the raid. Now there’s a “WTF?” moment.

  15. #15 by Kestrel on July 17, 2009 - 12:43 pm

    Oh…and we also regularly have an elemental AND enhance shammy (they are a couple)–routinely in top 5 or 6 DPS.

  16. #16 by Grimmtooth on July 17, 2009 - 12:44 pm

    @Ambrosyne

    … or my spirit beastie, if I ever get one. But yeah, my Stompasaurus is my instance pet of choice until then.

  17. #17 by Elleiras on July 17, 2009 - 12:57 pm

    I went on a recruiting spree this week, so the only thing we’re missing is an enhancement shaman. Our very first Golden Saronite Dragon went to off-spec rolls (and there was only one of those!).

    … and yet, at one point, we were running three resto shamans and three elemental shamans in every raid … ;.;

    We’ve also always had really poor luck with Holy paladins, too. We have one, an officer, who has been with us forever. But we’ve never been able to successfully recruit and retain a second Healadin. Every single one we come across turns out to be … well, insane. Our most recent Holy paladin trial transferred off-server in the dead of the night, taking a handful of random blues from our free-for-all bank tab with him. (This was after I put him on probation for unsubstantiated accusations of ninja-looting in a Naxx25 PuG, but, still…)

  18. #18 by Elleiras on July 17, 2009 - 12:59 pm

    “We’ve also always … too.”

    Boyfriend flying in + messy house + OCD = OMG MUST CLEAN!!! = 3 AM run to Walmart for Swiffer WetJet = stupid redundant comments like this!

    /fail

  19. #19 by Adgamorix on July 17, 2009 - 1:37 pm

    Let’s see…our guild has..

    2 DKs (one tank one DPS)
    4 Retadins
    2 Healadins
    1 Protadin
    4 Shamans (one of each, 2 resto – I thine the world ended when all 3 were in a raid together).
    3 Priests (1 Heal, 2 Shadow)
    3 Hunters
    1 Warrior (DPS)
    2 Locks
    2 Mages
    9 druids (3 trees, 3 booms, 3 feral)

    Our 10 man looks like Hybrid heaven – DK, Feral, Boom, Tree, 2x Shadow, Heal Priest, Ret, Healadin

    I think every shaman on our server is in our guild..

  20. #20 by Ashimbo on July 17, 2009 - 1:50 pm

    I never see death knights or paladins anymore… oh wait…

    Actually, I haven’t seen any warlocks in a while, and the two in our guild that used to raid with us have stopped showing up, which means that when my 70 warlock hits 80, I’ll probably have a raid spot.

  21. #21 by Elleiras on July 17, 2009 - 1:54 pm

    Sometimes we end up with a Noah’s Ark comp in our 10-mans: two each of five different classes! :D It’s even more fun when we end up with four pairs and two oddballs, because then we can play matchmaker …

    “Well, druid, I couldn’t find another druid for you … how about a warlock? You can make rawrlocks!”

    The weird things we do to amuse ourselves in raids. >.>

  22. #22 by Duht on July 17, 2009 - 2:09 pm

    We got all those guys in healthy representation, we only have one mage most of the time though, no rogues, occasionally a dps warrior, and 1 DK.

    One night we had 6 warlocks, 5 pallies and 2 priests.

    I have no clue where they all came from, but it makes rolling on tokens a bit rough, especially since ulduar has only dropped 4 pally/priest/warlock tokens.

  23. #23 by Ambrosyne on July 17, 2009 - 3:34 pm

    @Elleiras – Rawrlocks? OMG. /dies

    One time I was in a Naxx25 with 6 priests. I don’t think any of us knew quite what to do. The Naxx10 with 4 of us (3 shadow, 1 disc) was good times. MOAR MIND SEAR.

  24. #24 by Ten'nen on July 17, 2009 - 3:42 pm

    Who needs hunters for replen when you’ve got frost mages?

    Oh this is PvE. Nevermind.

  25. #25 by Hoho on July 17, 2009 - 4:01 pm

    Our guild seems to have pretty much everything except hunters. They don’t exist for the past few months. I used to be the only shadow for several months until we got a few more healers and one dualspec could be shadow more often. Now we have 3 mainspec shadows and two dualspec ones. Also, our guild has zero holy priests, only discs for healing, including dualspec ones.

    In pugs I rarely see another shadow. Several times when I’ve been doing 25-man Naxx on my alts I’ve been logging on my priest just for MC’ing on one boss.

  26. #26 by Aedus on July 17, 2009 - 5:25 pm

    I ran in a Naxx25 with 5 Priests one night. We had the RL put us all in the same raid group so we could talk smack about the rest of the raid in /party chat.

    It was quite amusing…

  27. #27 by Kisli on July 18, 2009 - 2:23 am

    Amber it makes me so sad you’re on another server. Our guild is dying for a disc/shadow priest…funny how that works. Our only hunter just gquit on us today in a fit of ‘homg I must do 25s or I will DIE’ so now we also are without replenishment. *sadface*

  28. #28 by Pugnacious Priest on July 19, 2009 - 7:37 am

    In early days wrath we were all made to go healing due to lack of healers, I guess some never made it back from the lightside.. :P

  29. #29 by Tsiar on July 23, 2009 - 1:02 pm

    I stopped playing my hunter back in February, it just wasn’t fun anymore when I’d play to the best of my ability, and get beaten by other players who weren’t even trying -_-

    Now, Druid ftw!

Leave a Reply

